Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

VETERANS AIRLIFT COMMAND

EIN 20-4567769 MINNEAPOLIS, MN

Browse the largest nonprofits in Minnesota

Revenue 2024
$3,843,238
Expenses 2024
$2,755,518

Program services were 92.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
P60
Classification
1200
Street
7825 WASHINGTON AVE S STE 500

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

ORGANIZATION PROVIDES COST FREE TRANSPORTATION FOR WOUNDED VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES FROM THEIR HOMES TO THE VARIOUS MEDICAL FACILITIES AROUND THE COUNTRY, PRIMARILY USING AIRCRAFT.

Activities or mission (Part I)

PROVIDES COST FREE TRANSPORTATION FOR WOUNDED VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES.

  • THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES FREE AIR TRANSPORTATION FOR MEDICAL AND OTHER COMPASSIONATE PURPOSES TO WOUNDED WARRIORS, VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES THROUGH A NATIONAL NETWORK OF VOLUNTEER AIRCRAFT OWNERS AND PILOTS. SUCH AIR TRANSPORTATION WILL BE PROVIDED TO THESE INDIVIDUALS WHEN OTHER PRACTICAL MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION ARE INADEQUATE OR UNAVAILABLE.DURING 2024, THE VOLUNTEERS OF VETERANS AIRLIFT COMMAND FLEW 886 PASSENGERS 550,188 MILES.AIRCRAFT OWNERS AND PILOTS CONTRIBUTE THEIR TIME AND AIRCRAFT TO ACCOMPLISH EACH MISSION. THE VALUE OF THIS DONATION, BASED ON NATIONALLY PUBLISHED HOURLY RATES BASED ON THE AIRCRAFT USED, WAS $1,829,802 IN 2024. THE RATES USED ARE FOR THE COST OF THE AIRCRAFT OPERATION AND NOT THE CREW.

    Expenses $2,548,269

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Walt Fricke

    CHARIMAN & CFO

    Total calculated
    $140,729
    From this org
    $112,583
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $28,146
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related
  • Tim Fyda

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Peter Bunce

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jen Salvati

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $191,026
    From this org
    $152,821
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $38,205
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $136,588
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $16,233
    Deferred
    $38,205
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $191,026

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $3,843,238
    Expenses
    $2,755,518
    Contributions
    $3,214,343
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $4,279,465
    Expenses
    $3,296,677
    Contributions
    $3,939,770
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $4,023,751
    Expenses
    $3,222,190
    Contributions
    $4,112,681
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $4,833,504
    Expenses
    $3,589,875
    Assets (EOY)
    $11,466,766
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,286,311
    Expenses
    $2,545,078
    Assets (EOY)
    $9,996,395
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,381,076
    Expenses
    $4,272,942
    Assets (EOY)
    $9,653,413
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,477,341
    Expenses
    $4,195,084
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,751,263
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,071,782
    Expenses
    $4,106,920
    Assets (EOY)
    $6,867,698
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $4,985,082
    Expenses
    $4,187,032
    Assets (EOY)
    $5,963,222
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,416,083
    Expenses
    $4,765,563
    Assets (EOY)
    $5,120,029
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $6,051,376
    Expenses
    $5,043,015
    Assets (EOY)
    $3,529,463
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $5,357,865
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,586,202
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $3,623,549
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,231,864

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.