Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

HMO MINNESOTA

EIN 41-6173747 SAINT PAUL, MN

Largest nonprofits in Minnesota

Revenue 2023
$3,285,084,122
Expenses 2023
$3,169,965,960

Program services were 96.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
04
Classification
3000
Street
PO BOX 64560

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

1 other organization in the IRS Business Master File lists the same street address. matched by us

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

None formally approved by governing body, but see Part I Line 1, which is based on Articles of Incorporation.

Activities or mission (Part I)

To provide comprehensive health maintenance services for the people of Minnesota and to advance public health and the art and science of hospital, medical and health care services.

  • Blue Plus has contracted with the Minnesota Department of Human Services DHS to provide health care coverage to Prepaid Medical Assistance Program PMAP, prepaid MinnesotaCare, and Minnesota SeniorCare Plus MSC recipients via a managed care model. In total these programs provide comprehensive medical, dental and pharmacy services to approximately 367,000 individuals who qualify under the respective state program.

    Expenses $2,293,606,998 · Revenue $2,533,356,871

  • Blue Plus contracts with the Centers for Medicare Medicaid Services CMS and the Minnesota Department of Human Services DHS to offer a program that combines Medicare Advantage Special Needs Plans and state Medical Assistance coverage. Minnesota Senior Health Options MSHO provides coverage to beneficiaries age 65 and older who are eligible for DHS Medical Assistance and Medicare Parts A and B. This program serves 10,400 members. Our MSHO product, SecureBlue, has broad geographic reach, covering members in 62 counties. A hallmark of MSHO is the care coordination provided to members regardless of whether they reside in the community or in an institution. Special attention is paid to helping members remain in the community with appropriate services and support.

    Expenses $365,528,723 · Revenue $418,558,131

  • Blue Plus provides benefit payments for healthcare coverage based on contractual agreements with groups and individual subscribers, including Medicare Advantage. There were approximately 51,000 members at December 31, 2023.

    Expenses $393,323,920 · Revenue $333,169,121

As filed on the 2023 return.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Monica Engel

    President CEO

    Total calculated
    $1,382,402
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,000,374
    Other
    $382,028
    Hours/week
    17 + 23 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $443,176
    Bonus
    $539,100
    Other
    $18,098
    Deferred
    $321,656
    Nontaxable benefits
    $60,372
    Filer's total
    $1,382,402
  • John Uribe

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $1,292,117
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,223,183
    Other
    $68,934
    Hours/week
    9 + 31 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $644,231
    Bonus
    $545,891
    Other
    $33,061
    Deferred
    $19,696
    Nontaxable benefits
    $49,238
    Filer's total
    $1,292,117
  • Mark Steffen

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $1,146,930
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,084,190
    Other
    $62,740
    Hours/week
    3 + 37 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $538,462
    Bonus
    $523,206
    Other
    $22,523
    Deferred
    $16,598
    Nontaxable benefits
    $46,142
    Filer's total
    $1,146,931
  • Kelly Bengston

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $774,315
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $702,660
    Other
    $71,655
    Hours/week
    7 + 33 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $380,086
    Bonus
    $314,012
    Other
    $8,563
    Deferred
    $19,530
    Nontaxable benefits
    $52,125
    Filer's total
    $774,316
  • May Vang

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $712,899
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $641,035
    Other
    $71,864
    Hours/week
    8 + 32 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $371,804
    Bonus
    $228,600
    Other
    $40,631
    Deferred
    $15,455
    Nontaxable benefits
    $56,409
    Filer's total
    $712,899
  • Eric Hoag

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $653,225
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $586,793
    Other
    $66,432
    Hours/week
    11 + 29 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $319,756
    Bonus
    $265,474
    Other
    $1,563
    Deferred
    $18,848
    Nontaxable benefits
    $47,584
    Filer's total
    $653,225
  • Christine Reiten

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $628,470
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $572,969
    Other
    $55,501
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $306,579
    Bonus
    $260,244
    Other
    $6,145
    Deferred
    $14,891
    Nontaxable benefits
    $40,610
    Filer's total
    $628,469
  • Marc Baer

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $588,161
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $667,684
    Other
    -$79,523
    Hours/week
    8 + 32 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $137,095
    Bonus
    $303,070
    Other
    $227,519
    Deferred
    -$87,542
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,019
    Filer's total
    $588,161
  • Jeff Snegosky

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $546,377
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $472,836
    Other
    $73,541
    Hours/week
    10 + 30 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $274,388
    Bonus
    $202,707
    Other
    -$4,258
    Deferred
    $22,192
    Nontaxable benefits
    $51,349
    Filer's total
    $546,378
  • Victoria Losinski

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $515,925
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $416,464
    Other
    $99,461
    Hours/week
    14 + 26 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $250,667
    Bonus
    $166,269
    Other
    -$472
    Deferred
    $78,080
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,382
    Filer's total
    $515,926
  • Sara Hreha

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $445,128
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $415,270
    Other
    $29,858
    Hours/week
    11 + 29 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $291,461
    Bonus
    $65,675
    Other
    $58,134
    Deferred
    $14,479
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,379
    Filer's total
    $445,128
  • Allison Colton

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $333,201
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $305,699
    Other
    $27,502
    Hours/week
    1

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $152,050
    Bonus
    $63,952
    Other
    $89,697
    Deferred
    $60
    Nontaxable benefits
    $27,442
    Filer's total
    $333,201
  • Paul Sand

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $258,810
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $228,066
    Other
    $30,744
    Hours/week
    1

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $175,772
    Bonus
    $41,950
    Other
    $10,344
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $30,744
    Filer's total
    $258,810
  • David Nollette

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $208,780
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $208,289
    Other
    $491

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported
    Bonus
    $94,143
    Other
    $114,146
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $491
    Filer's total
    $208,780
  • Lisa Asper

    Director

    Total calculated
    $12,000
    From this org
    $12,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gretchen Lohrbach

    Director

    Total calculated
    $11,000
    From this org
    $11,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Aaron Hurd

    Director

    Total calculated
    $11,000
    From this org
    $11,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Jones

    Director

    Total calculated
    $11,000
    From this org
    $11,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $3,285,084,122
    Expenses
    $3,169,965,960
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $3,006,142,678
    Expenses
    $2,835,052,905
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,017,513,062
    Expenses
    $2,905,896,289
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,323,127,272
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,553,100,078
    Expenses
    $2,519,879,146
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,339,028,107
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,343,368,054
    Expenses
    $2,335,544,134
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,137,767,342
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,468,965,890
    Expenses
    $2,327,821,185
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,103,210,172
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,434,343,438
    Expenses
    $2,401,610,978
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,011,347,098
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,839,796,599
    Expenses
    $1,996,128,912
    Assets (EOY)
    $858,294,768
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $918,852,421
    Expenses
    $866,792,617
    Assets (EOY)
    $825,092,736
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $850,950,122
    Expenses
    $765,219,395
    Assets (EOY)
    $725,374,564
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,041,962,872
    Expenses
    $970,384,142
    Assets (EOY)
    $629,788,655
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,002,910,677
    Assets (EOY)
    $572,797,371

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related corporations and trusts on its 2023 return

  • Aware Integrated Inc

    C Corp · Health Care Benefits · MN

  • BCBSM Inc

    C Corp · Direct Insurance Carrier · MN

  • Aware Asset Management Inc

    C Corp · Other Financial Investment Activities · MN

  • Comprehensive Care Services Inc

    C Corp · Other Insurance Related Activities · MN

  • ClearStone Solutions Inc

    C Corp · Offices of Admin Support · MN

  • Employer Provided Network Inc

    C Corp · Other Insurance Related Activities · MN

  • MII Life Insurance Incorporated

    C Corp · Other Insurance Related Activities · MN

  • MII Services Inc

    C Corp · Offices of Other Holding Companies · MN

  • MII Inc

    C Corp · Offices of Other Holding Companies · MN

  • Pharmacy Gold Inc

    C Corp · Offices of Other Holding Companies · MN

  • Stella Diversified Inc

    C Corp · Offices of Other Holding Companies · DE

  • Stella Resources Company Inc

    C Corp · Other Administrative Services · DE

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.