Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

MATHER FOUNDATION

EIN 20-1030638 EVANSTON, IL

Largest nonprofits in Illinois

Revenue 2024
$66,562,780
Expenses 2024
$23,384,787

Program services were 70.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E19
Classification
1000
Street
1560 SHERMAN AVE STE 1010

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

5 other organizations in the IRS Business Master File list the same street address. matched by us

This address is a suite or unit (STE 1010). Organizations that share one are often clients of the same office-services firm, accountant or registered agent rather than related to each other.

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

MATHER FOUNDATION SERVES AS THE PARENT ENTITY FOR THE MATHERORGANIZATIONS TO HOLD, INVEST AND PRESERVE FUNDS, WHICH ALLOWS THEORGANIZATIONS TO PROVIDE HOUSING, HEALTH CARE, COMMUNITY PROGRAMS,RESEARCH AND EDUCATION AND OTHER SERVICES (CONTINUED IN SCHEDULE O)THAT ENHANCE THE LIVES OF OLDER ADULTS BY CREATING WAYS TO AGE WELL.

Activities or mission (Part I)

MATHER FOUNDATION SERVES AS THE PARENT ENTITY FOR MATHER ORGANIZATIONS (CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O) TO HOLD, INVEST AND PRESERVE FUNDS, AND APPLY THEM FOR THE CHARITABLEMISSION OF CREATING WAYS TO AGE WELL.

  • MATHER FOUNDATION SERVES AS THE PARENT ENTITY FOR THE MATHERORGANIZATIONS TO HOLD, INVEST AND PRESERVE FUNDS, WHICH ALLOWS THEORGANIZATIONS TO PROVIDE HOUSING, HEALTH CARE, COMMUNITY PROGRAMS,RESEARCH AND EDUCATION AND OTHER SERVICES THAT ENHANCE THE LIVES OFOLDER ADULTS BY CREATING WAYS TO AGE WELL.

    Expenses $16,432,284 · Grants $16,432,284

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Mary G Leary

    PRESIDENT & CEO

    Total calculated
    $2,061,920
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,875,195
    Other
    $186,725
    Hours/week
    10 + 50.4 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $808,633 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $682,539 related
    Other
    $0 + $384,023 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $150,150 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $36,575 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $2,061,920 related
  • John R Phillips

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 0.5 related
  • Graham W Atkinson

    DIRECTOR - THRU 03/2024

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Timothy L Burke

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Todd Burns

    DIRECTOR - AS OF 08/2024

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Gloria Castillo

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jenny Chan

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 0.2 related
  • Jack Chandler

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Michelle L Collins

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Paulette R Dodson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Michael G McGee

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Sumati Murli

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Scott C Smith

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 0.1 related
  • Terence J Toth

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Christopher Manella

    SVP FINANCE & TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $569,035
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $511,159
    Other
    $57,876
    Hours/week
    2 + 48.4 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $269,407 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $147,000 related
    Other
    $0 + $94,752 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $24,150 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $33,726 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $569,035 related
  • Julie Riggs

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $260,048
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $211,471
    Other
    $48,577
    Hours/week
    5 + 45 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $174,054 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $27,086 related
    Other
    $0 + $10,331 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $15,417 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $33,160 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $260,048 related
  • Mary Schoeggl

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $461,731
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $409,108
    Other
    $52,623
    Hours/week
    15 + 35.4 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $403,357 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $5,751 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $24,150 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $28,473 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $461,731 related
  • Carol L Sussenbach

    FORMER CFO

    Total calculated
    $195,895
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $195,895
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0
    Bonus
    $0 + $72,134 related
    Other
    $0 + $123,761 related
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $0 + $195,895 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $66,562,780
    Expenses
    $23,384,787
    Contributions
    $30,504,740
    Grants paid
    $16,432,284
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $44,153,743
    Expenses
    $24,274,710
    Contributions
    $18,859,464
    Grants paid
    $17,292,429
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $45,714,129
    Expenses
    $25,172,288
    Contributions
    $21,946,383
    Grants paid
    $17,766,960

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $59,866,357
    Expenses
    $64,731,163
    Assets (EOY)
    $740,767,702
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $29,645,522
    Expenses
    $26,914,395
    Assets (EOY)
    $590,942,551
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $48,757,996
    Expenses
    $29,075,095
    Assets (EOY)
    $550,650,423
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $27,377,521
    Expenses
    $22,286,129
    Assets (EOY)
    $502,227,292
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $44,952,969
    Expenses
    $29,652,782
    Assets (EOY)
    $523,448,738

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

  • MATHER

    $17,766,960

    2022 MISSION DRIVEN PROGRAMS

  • MATHER

    $17,292,429

    2023 MISSION DRIVEN PROGRAMS

  • MATHER

    $16,432,284

    2024 MISSION DRIVEN PROGRAMS

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related partnerships on its 2024 return

  • TUCSON MATHER PLAZA LLC

    SENIOR LIVING · AZ

  • TYSONS HOLDINGS LPC LLC

    HOLDING CO · IL

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility SOUNK.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.