Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

AUDUBON NATURE INSTITUTE INC

EIN 51-0157624 NEW ORLEANS, LA

Largest nonprofits in Louisiana

Revenue 2024
$61,293,521
Expenses 2024
$54,152,232

Program services were 67.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
D120
Classification
1000
Street
6500 MAGAZINE ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

See Schedule O

Activities or mission (Part I)

Operation of museums and parks dedicated to nature on behalf of the City of New Orleans.

  • See Schedule O

    Expenses $36,789,670 · Grants $2,549,210 · Revenue $32,222,003

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Willard L Dumas

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Dennis P Lauscha

    First Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Leslie P Gottsegen

    Second Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Peter E Moss

    Corresponding Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Chris Bardell

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Linda G Baum

    Parliamentarian

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Lynes R Sloss

    Immediate Past Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bernard Van der Linden

    Part Year Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anne E Long

    Part Year Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kenneth B Farris

    Part Year Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Davies

    Part Year Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Joseph A Jaeger

    Part Year Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Leah Brown

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kay Kerrigan

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Timothy J Cutt

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Margaret Eustis

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Thomas D Westfeldt

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Vincent J Palumbo

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Walt Leger

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Douglas B Wood

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ileana Feoli

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • James P Favrot

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Krystle Duplessis

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Richard Buchsbaum

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Samir Mowad

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $61,293,521
    Expenses
    $54,152,232
    Contributions
    $24,344,968
    Grants paid
    $2,549,210
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $44,856,452
    Expenses
    $51,911,191
    Contributions
    $15,484,596
    Grants paid
    $1,424,125
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $42,103,273
    Expenses
    $43,117,928
    Contributions
    $12,748,494
    Grants paid
    $499,236

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $32,674,283
    Expenses
    $23,318,821
    Assets (EOY)
    $16,945,824
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $23,699,306
    Expenses
    $24,583,815
    Assets (EOY)
    $21,443,424
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $36,791,742
    Expenses
    $35,583,384
    Assets (EOY)
    $17,757,715
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $35,109,719
    Expenses
    $39,604,675
    Assets (EOY)
    $16,197,515
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $34,452,997
    Expenses
    $36,709,659
    Assets (EOY)
    $19,574,561
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $40,030,814
    Expenses
    $35,617,671
    Assets (EOY)
    $22,590,534
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $30,887,681
    Expenses
    $31,270,733
    Assets (EOY)
    $18,033,919
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $29,283,488
    Expenses
    $30,366,808
    Assets (EOY)
    $17,954,152

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

  • Audubon Commission-Aquarium of the Americas

    $1,303,117

    2024 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Audubon ZooPark

    $1,221,193

    2024 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Audubon ZooPark

    $682,320

    2023 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Audubon ZooPark

    $332,794

    2022 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Audubon Center for Research of Endangered Species

    $309,940

    2023 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • 2023 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Aquarium of the Americas

    $209,365

    2023 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Audubon Center for Research of Endangered Species

    $165,371

    2022 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Louisiana Nature Center

    $24,900

    2024 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

  • Audubon Commission-Louisiana Nature Center

    $1,071

    2022 Supports Programs, Capital Projects, and Operations of Facilities.

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

  • Audubon Nature Institute Foundation

    501(c)(3) · Provide funding for the facilities managed by Audubon Nature Institute. · LA · controlled entity

  • Audubon Commission

    Governmental Unit-Owner of Parks and Museums · LA

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.