- Revenue 2024
- $400,833,680
- Expenses 2024
- $382,968,872
Program services were 48.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E112
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 502 E 2ND ST
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
DAVID HERMAN MD
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $3,993,228
- From this org
- $3,582,443
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $410,785
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $1,892,379
- Bonus
- $1,343,320
- Other
- $346,744
- Deferred
- $407,599
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,186
- Filer's total
- $3,993,228
-
JODI MANSFIELD
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT, COO
- Total calculated
- $1,886,181
- From this org
- $1,682,569
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $203,612
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $1,064,984
- Bonus
- $391,240
- Other
- $226,345
- Deferred
- $202,044
- Nontaxable benefits
- $1,568
- Filer's total
- $1,886,181
-
TRACI MORRIS
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $1,199,416
- From this org
- $1,054,730
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $144,686
- Hours/week
- 40 + 20 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $702,675
- Bonus
- $269,075
- Other
- $82,980
- Deferred
- $142,406
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,280
- Filer's total
- $1,199,416
-
LLOYD KETCHUM MD
BD DIRECTOR/REL ORG PHYS & DIV CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $1,189,608
- From this org
- $20,000
- From related orgs
- $1,098,019
- Other
- $71,589
- Hours/week
- 2 + 58 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $20,000 + $1,093,117 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $4,902 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $27,600 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $43,989 related
- Filer's total
- $20,000 + $1,169,608 related
-
BRADLEY BEARD
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER - EAST
- Total calculated
- $1,179,194
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $1,000,148
- Other
- $179,046
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $644,035 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $243,376 related
- Other
- $0 + $112,737 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $134,559 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $44,487 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $1,179,194 related
-
WILLIAM HEEGAARD MD
PRES-EAST THRU 4/24/FRMR PRES-WEST
- Total calculated
- $1,098,293
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $975,947
- Other
- $122,346
- Hours/week
- 1 + 22 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $330,418 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $136,878 related
- Other
- $0 + $508,651 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $80,633 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $41,713 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $1,098,293 related
-
CHARLES WATSON
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $1,004,687
- From this org
- $859,620
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $145,067
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $542,704
- Bonus
- $219,580
- Other
- $97,336
- Deferred
- $117,386
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,681
- Filer's total
- $1,004,687
-
DIANE DAVIDSON
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCES OFF THRU 4/24
- Total calculated
- $984,980
- From this org
- $839,519
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $145,461
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $538,135
- Bonus
- $203,807
- Other
- $97,577
- Deferred
- $115,436
- Nontaxable benefits
- $30,025
- Filer's total
- $984,980
-
KRISTA SKORUPA MD
PRESIDENT - EAST
- Total calculated
- $952,538
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $806,396
- Other
- $146,142
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $593,854 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $210,216 related
- Other
- $0 + $2,326 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $129,886 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $16,256 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $952,538 related
-
KARYN BAUM MD
CHIEF TRANSFORMATION OFF THRU 1/24
- Total calculated
- $943,719
- From this org
- $911,354
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $32,365
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $64,064
- Bonus
- $133,812
- Other
- $713,478
- Deferred
- $5,701
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,664
- Filer's total
- $943,719
-
JASON SCHULTZ MD
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER - EAST
- Total calculated
- $942,581
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $771,443
- Other
- $171,138
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $769,400 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $2,043 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $127,523 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $43,615 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $942,581 related
-
ROBERT GREEN
SNR VICE PRES, FINANCIAL OPERATIONS
- Total calculated
- $933,836
- From this org
- $782,582
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $151,254
- Hours/week
- 59 + 1 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $548,932
- Bonus
- $222,166
- Other
- $11,484
- Deferred
- $118,444
- Nontaxable benefits
- $32,810
- Filer's total
- $933,836
-
RICHARD VETTER MD
CMO - WEST THRU 12/24
- Total calculated
- $926,040
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $775,719
- Other
- $150,321
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $514,300 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $195,353 related
- Other
- $0 + $66,066 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $107,093 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $43,228 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $926,040 related
-
MICHAEL WATTERS
CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER/SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $924,527
- From this org
- $773,128
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $151,399
- Hours/week
- 40 + 20 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $506,819
- Bonus
- $192,028
- Other
- $74,281
- Deferred
- $109,834
- Nontaxable benefits
- $41,565
- Filer's total
- $924,527
-
GRATIA PITCHER MD
CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $904,340
- From this org
- $752,537
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $151,803
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $609,084
- Bonus
- $141,754
- Other
- $1,699
- Deferred
- $124,680
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,123
- Filer's total
- $904,340
-
SARAH MANNEY KURTH MD
CHIEF MEDICAL INFORMATION OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $866,437
- From this org
- $712,811
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $153,626
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $491,248
- Bonus
- $185,092
- Other
- $36,471
- Deferred
- $110,404
- Nontaxable benefits
- $43,222
- Filer's total
- $866,437
-
AL HURLEY
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER - WEST
- Total calculated
- $835,977
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $706,163
- Other
- $129,814
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $453,221 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $183,113 related
- Other
- $0 + $69,829 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $102,252 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $27,562 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $835,977 related
-
RHONDA KAZIK
CHIEF NURSE EXECUTIVE
- Total calculated
- $818,976
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $685,390
- Other
- $133,586
- Hours/week
- 54 + 6 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $468,896 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $189,548 related
- Other
- $0 + $26,946 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $105,482 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $28,104 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $818,976 related
-
KEVIN CASEY MD
FORMER CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $817,015
- From this org
- $817,015
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 0
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $817,015
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $817,015
-
MELANIE WILSON
SNR VICE PRES, REVENUE SERVICES
- Total calculated
- $782,004
- From this org
- $639,866
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $142,138
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $453,005
- Bonus
- $184,443
- Other
- $2,418
- Deferred
- $103,019
- Nontaxable benefits
- $39,119
- Filer's total
- $782,004
-
MARK THOMPSON MD
PRESIDENT - WEST THRU 7/24
- Total calculated
- $742,423
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $702,130
- Other
- $40,293
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $417,961 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $284,169 related
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $40,293 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $742,423 related
-
STEFANIE GEFROH ELLISON MD
BD DIRECTOR THRU 2/25/PRESIDENT-WEST
- Total calculated
- $629,098
- From this org
- $30,000
- From related orgs
- $532,220
- Other
- $66,878
- Hours/week
- 2 + 58 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $30,000 + $530,965 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $1,255 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $27,600 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $39,278 related
- Filer's total
- $30,000 + $599,098 related
-
JOSHUA HONEYMAN MD
BD DIRECTOR/REL ORG PHYS & DIV CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $593,517
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $530,437
- Other
- $63,080
- Hours/week
- 2 + 58 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $529,909 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $528 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $25,519 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $37,561 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $593,517 related
-
ANNE STEPHEN MD
CMO - EAST THRU 5/24
- Total calculated
- $569,897
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $499,103
- Other
- $70,794
- Hours/week
- 1 + 59 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $222,571 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $200,424 related
- Other
- $0 + $76,108 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $55,596 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $15,198 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $569,897 related
-
JANE RUDD MD
BD DIRECTOR/REL ORG PHYS & DIV CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $398,494
- From this org
- $20,000
- From related orgs
- $313,756
- Other
- $64,738
- Hours/week
- 2 + 58 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $20,000 + $311,209 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $2,547 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $25,051 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $39,687 related
- Filer's total
- $20,000 + $378,494 related
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $400,833,680
- Expenses
- $382,968,872
- Contributions
- $606,875
- Grants paid
- $622
-
2023
- Revenue
- $369,876,260
- Expenses
- $350,377,026
- Contributions
- $379,975
- Grants paid
- $5,000
-
2022
- Revenue
- $348,209,105
- Expenses
- $340,166,174
- Contributions
- $557,769
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
$1,013,687
2022 DIALYSIS EQUIPMENT ($863,902); DESIGN AND FURNISHINGS FOR SOLVAY HOUSE AND AMBERWING ($119,540); DONOR WALL ($30,245)
-
$749,886
2023 MEDICAL EQUIPMENT, PATIENT PROGRAMS, AMBERWING SALARY
-
$449,290
2024 MEDICAL EQUIPMENT, PATIENT PROGRAMS, AMBERWING SALARY
-
$69,950
2023 Patient Support
-
$50,000
2022 Patient Support
-
$8,901
2022 PROGRAM SUPPORT
-
$6,818
2024 PROGRAM SUPPORT
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
501(C)(3) · CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
DEER RIVER HEALTHCARE CENTER INC
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC/SKILLED NURSING FACILITY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · SUPPORTING ORG · DE · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · FOUNDATION · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
ESSENTIA HEALTH SURGERY CENTERS
501(C)(3) · SURGERY CENTER · MN · controlled entity
-
ESSENTIA INSTITUTE OF RURAL HEALTH
501(C)(3) · RESEARCH · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC/SKILLED NURSING FACILITY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC/SKILLED NURSING FACILITY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · DE · controlled entity
-
MIDWEST MEDICAL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES INC
501(C)(3) · MEDICAL EQUIPMENT · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC/SKILLED NURSING FACILITY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL · MN · controlled entity
-
POLINSKY MEDICAL REHABILITATION CENTER
501(C)(3) · REHABILITATION SERVICES · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
ST MARY'S DULUTH CLINIC HEALTH SYSTEM
501(C)(3) · SUPPORTING ORG · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · EMERGENCY SERVICES · MN · controlled entity
-
ST MARY'S HOSPITAL OF SUPERIOR
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · PHARMACY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL · MN · controlled entity
-
ST MARY'S REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER
501(C)(3) · HOSPITAL/CLINIC/SKILLED NURSING FACILITY · MN · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · CLINIC · DE · controlled entity
Declared as related by
-
On its 2024 return
-
DEER RIVER HEALTH CARE CENTER INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
ESSENTIA HEALTH SURGERY CENTERS
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
ST MARYS REGIONAL HEALTH CENTER
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
MIDWEST MEDICAL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES INC
On its 2024 return
-
ST MARYS DULUTH CLINIC HEALTH SYSTEM
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
ST FRANCIS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
ESSENTIA INSTITUTE OF RURAL HEALTH
On its 2023 return
-
BRAINERD LAKES INTEGRATED HEALTH SYSTEM
On its 2023 return
-
On its 2023 return
-
POLINSKY MEDICAL REHABILITATION CENTER
On its 2023 return
-
On its 2023 return
The most recent declarers. The API serves every row.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility SOUNK.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.