Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

LITERACY COUNCIL OF CARROLL COUNTY INC

EIN 31-1656872 WESTMINSTER, MD

Revenue 2024
$82,886
Expenses 2024
$122,273

Program services were 42.2% of total expenses calculated — Part III's total program service expenses over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B92
Classification
1200
Street
255 CLIFTON BLVD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

1 other organization in the IRS Business Master File lists the same street address. matched by us

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2024

Primary exempt purpose

TO PROVIDE ADULT LEARNERS WITH FREE, CONFIDENTIAL, ONE-ON-ONE TUTORING TO DEVELOP OR IMPROVE SKILLS IN LANGUAGE, READING, WRITING, MATH, AND BASIC COMPUTER OPERATION ENABLING THEM TO REACH THEIR GOALS.

  • APPROXIMATELY 100 VOLUNTEER TUTORS TEACHING 300 STUDENTS LANGUAGE, READING, WRITING, MATH, AND BASIC COMPUTER OPERATIONS. EACH STUDENT RECEIVES APPROXIMATELY 2-3 HOURS PER WEEK OF ASSISTANCE.

    Expenses $51,548 · Grants $2,944

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Samuel Greenholtz

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $25,300
    Compensation
    $25,300
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    40
  • Bernie Jones

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    4
  • Lisa Picker

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gene Pryor

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    4
  • Alissa Harrington

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Shaun M Blakeslee

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Josh Kohn

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • James D Ball

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • Amy Wallace Yingling

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mark Krider

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Suzette L Covalt

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Matt Luzuriaga Esq

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mel Brennan

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Pam Velnoskey

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • Daniel Dehollander

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Glenn S Bair

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • Dr Faye Pappalardo

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $82,886
    Expenses
    $122,273
    Contributions
    $77,626
    Grants paid
    $2,944
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $114,243
    Expenses
    $122,282
    Contributions
    $110,234
    Grants paid
    $3,305
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $83,275
    Expenses
    $130,574
    Contributions
    $82,688
    Grants paid
    $1,105

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $92,170
    Expenses
    $93,047
    Assets (EOY)
    $111,127
  • 2019 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $56,919
    Expenses
    $61,026
    Assets (EOY)
    $67,218
  • 2018 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $47,738
    Expenses
    $48,035
    Assets (EOY)
    $71,325
  • 2017 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $47,917
    Expenses
    $35,073
    Assets (EOY)
    $51,873
  • 2017 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $67,917
    Expenses
    $35,073
    Assets (EOY)
    $71,622

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Form 990-N e-Postcard, tax year 2014

Tax period
1 June 2014 to 31 May 2015
Principal officer
Brenda Lewis
Mailing address
255 Clifton Blvd Suite 314Westminster MD 21157
Website
www.literacy.carr.org

As filed, from the IRS e-Postcard file of 26 October 2026. The IRS publishes only each organization's most recent postcard, so earlier years are not shown. A 990-N carries no financial detail. The postcard also gives the principal officer's address, which is not shown here.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.