- Revenue 2024
- $2,143,553,763
- Expenses 2024
- $1,269,380,379
Program services were 97.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- T310
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 33 S STATE STREET 750
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Bryan Traubert
Director & Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
Anne Ladky
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Brett Hart
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Connie Lindsey
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Ethan Meers
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Gretchen Crosby Sims
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Heather Steans
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
James Reynolds
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jesse Ruiz
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lou Nieto
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Margaret Stineman
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
Martin Cabrera Jr
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Omar Duque
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Renetta McCann
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sandra Cordova Micek
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Steven Koch
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Terry Peterson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Andrea Saenz
President & CEO
- Total calculated
- $685,048
- From this org
- $623,862
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $61,186
- Hours/week
- 38 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $594,280
- Bonus
- $28,340
- Other
- $1,242
- Deferred
- $52,325
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,861
- Filer's total
- $685,048
-
Jessica Strausbaugh
Chief Financial Officer (until 3/25)
- Total calculated
- $383,487
- From this org
- $326,218
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $57,269
- Hours/week
- 38 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $325,768
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $450
- Deferred
- $26,882
- Nontaxable benefits
- $30,387
- Filer's total
- $383,487
-
Amy Pena
Gen. Counsel & Secy. (until 6/25)
- Total calculated
- $277,931
- From this org
- $243,747
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $34,184
- Hours/week
- 38 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $243,057
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $690
- Deferred
- $20,909
- Nontaxable benefits
- $13,275
- Filer's total
- $277,931
-
Gretchen Wolf
Gen. Counsel & Secy. (as of 9/25)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 38 + 2 related
-
Sylvia Garcia
Chief Operating Officer
- Total calculated
- $351,122
- From this org
- $325,903
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $25,219
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $325,603
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $300
- Deferred
- $2,860
- Nontaxable benefits
- $22,359
- Filer's total
- $351,122
-
Laura Kernaghan
Sr. Director of Investments
- Total calculated
- $175,876
- From this org
- $162,260
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $13,616
- Hours/week
- 39 + 1 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $161,960
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $300
- Deferred
- $13,616
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $175,876
-
Clothilde A Ewing
VP Strategic Communications
- Total calculated
- $324,351
- From this org
- $269,293
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $55,058
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $268,843
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $450
- Deferred
- $23,671
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,387
- Filer's total
- $324,351
-
Lisa Jericho
VP Innovation & Technology
- Total calculated
- $318,012
- From this org
- $263,265
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $54,747
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $262,575
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $690
- Deferred
- $23,582
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,165
- Filer's total
- $318,012
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $2,143,553,763
- Expenses
- $1,269,380,379
- Contributions
- $1,702,887,587
- Grants paid
- $1,225,337,518
-
2023
- Revenue
- $2,455,691,801
- Expenses
- $1,521,532,173
- Contributions
- $2,122,879,010
- Grants paid
- $1,480,832,942
-
2022
- Revenue
- $1,536,635,743
- Expenses
- $1,611,696,826
- Contributions
- $1,385,908,253
- Grants paid
- $1,569,992,728
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
Save The Children Federation Inc
$50,837,225
2023 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$47,000,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$45,000,000
2023 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$40,000,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$30,822,989
2022 Goldstein Family Fund, support for Charles A Micale Foundation, "Our Own Thing" Fund, illiquid shares to be transferred to FP: Goldstein Family Fund, Ruhl Donor Advised Fund
-
Breakthrough Energy Catalyst Foundation
$30,000,000
2022 support to accelerate the deployment of clean technologies
-
National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
$30,000,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
Breakthrough Energy Catalyst Foundation
$30,000,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$30,000,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
Breakthrough Energy Catalyst Foundation
$30,000,000
2023 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Grants received
-
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND
$7,954,037
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
THE CHICAGO FUND FOR HEALTHIER COMMUNITIES
$6,000,000
2025 SUPPORT ORGANIZATION
-
BURRIDGE D BUTLER MEMORIAL TR OF CHICAGO
$2,191,174
2022 CHARITABLE & EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES.
-
BURRIDGE D BUTLER MEMORIAL TR OF CHICAGO
$2,176,349
2023 CHARITABLE & EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES.
-
BURRIDGE D BUTLER MEMORIAL TR OF CHICAGO
$2,121,472
2024 CHARITABLE & EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES.
-
$2,084,075
2023 EDUCATION
-
$1,860,000
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND
$1,212,800
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC
$1,142,783
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$1,122,500
2024 PUBLIC, SOCIETAL BENEFIT
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
The Burridge D Butler Memorial Trust
501(C)(3) · Grant Making · IL
-
501(c)(3) · Justice Programs · IL · controlled entity
-
501(c)(3) · Grant Making · IL · controlled entity
-
The Chicago Community Foundation
501(c)(3) · Grant Making · IL · controlled entity
Declared as related by
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.