Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

CITIZEN ADVOCACY CENTER

EIN 36-3920270 ELMHURST, IL

Revenue 2025
$129,757
Expenses 2025
$208,100

Program services were 80.0% of total expenses calculated — Part III's total program service expenses over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
I80Z
Classification
1000
Street
188 W INDUSTRIAL DR STE 106

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2025

Primary exempt purpose

TO BUILD DEMOCRACY THROUGH CITIZEN EDUCATION AND CHARITABLE ACTIVITIES ON BEHALF OF COMMUNITY REGARDING ISSUES OF PUBLIC CONCERN.

  • THE CITIZEN ADVOCACY CENTER PURSUED ITS MISSION OF BUILDING DEMOCRACY FOR THE 21ST CENTURY BY STRENGTHENING CITIZEN CAPACITIES, RESOURCES, AND INSTITUTIONS FOR SELF-GOVERNANCE VIA CONVENING PUBLIC FORUMS, HOSTING STUDENT INTERNS, ANSWERING PUBLIC INQUIRIES ON MATTERS OF PUBLIC CONCERN, MONITORING GOVERNMENT AND ADDRESSING GOVERNMENT ABOUT BARRIERS TO PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT IN THE DEMOCRATIC PROCESS.

    Expenses $166,480

As filed on the 2025 return.

Officers and directors · 2025

As listed in Part VII of the 2025 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JOSH SILVERSTEIN

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    5
  • BRIAN CONLON

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • GORDON GOODMAN

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    15
  • THERESA AMATO

    Director

    Total calculated
    $8,000
    Compensation
    $8,000
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    12
  • MYRRHA GUZMAN

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • NAVREET HENEGHAN

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • SARAH KLAPER

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • CONSTANCE MIXON

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • CLAIRE NADER

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • JOHN WASIK

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • MARYLYNN ZAJDEL

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • STAN ZOLLER

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    2
  • JACK BENTLEY

    Executive Dir.

    Total calculated
    $66,810
    Compensation
    $66,810
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2025
    Revenue
    $129,757
    Expenses
    $208,100
    Contributions
    $121,646
    Grants paid
    not reported
  • 2024
    Revenue
    $203,295
    Expenses
    $260,460
    Contributions
    $195,193
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $124,625
    Expenses
    $238,655
    Contributions
    $121,634
    Grants paid
    not reported
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $473,316
    Expenses
    $110,591
    Contributions
    $472,883
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $201,876
    Expenses
    $122,663
    Assets (EOY)
    $130,655
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $166,223
    Expenses
    $151,081
    Assets (EOY)
    $73,285
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $187,967
    Expenses
    $204,040
    Assets (EOY)
    $35,143
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $178,006
    Expenses
    $264,545
    Assets (EOY)
    $51,216

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2025, the newest we have parsed for this organization.