CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY REAL ESTATE FOUNDATION INC
EIN 54-1863192 NEWPORT NEWS, VA
- Revenue 2024
- $4,121,211
- Expenses 2024
- $3,510,794
Program services were 83.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B99
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 1 UNIVERSITY PL
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
WILLIAM KELLY
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $586,198
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $561,141
- Other
- $25,057
- Hours/week
- 10 + 30 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $451,141 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $110,000 related
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0 + $460 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $24,597 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $586,198 related
-
RICHARD LONG
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $122,494
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $91,442
- Other
- $31,052
- Hours/week
- 1 + 39 related
-
JENNIFER LATOUR
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $319,556
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $285,249
- Other
- $34,307
- Hours/week
- 10 + 30 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $275,249 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $10,000 related
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0 + $480 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $33,827 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $319,556 related
-
ALAN WITT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $278,788
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $254,813
- Other
- $23,975
- Hours/week
- 1 + 39 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $254,813 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0 + $240 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $23,735 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $278,788 related
-
C BRAD HUNTER
BOARD
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 30 related
-
ANN HUNNICUT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RANDOLPH P BRYANT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MICHAEL C MARTIN
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
WILLIAM P HEATH JR
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
WILLIAM L BRAUER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LINDSEY CARNEY SMITH
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
W BRUCE JENNINGS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
M CLARK BALDWIN
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BRENTLEY K ARCHER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CHARLES WORNOM
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
C LARRY POPE
BOARD OF VISITORS APPOINTE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
K SPENCER MCDONALD
CFO & TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $177,737
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $163,452
- Other
- $14,285
- Hours/week
- 20 + 20 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $163,452 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0 + $480 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $13,805 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $177,737 related
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $4,121,211
- Expenses
- $3,510,794
- Contributions
- $0
- Grants paid
- $2,937,412
-
2023
- Revenue
- $3,844,351
- Expenses
- $4,063,459
- Contributions
- $0
- Grants paid
- $3,297,751
-
2022
- Revenue
- $4,121,962
- Expenses
- $3,847,537
- Contributions
- $0
- Grants paid
- $2,914,294
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY
$3,297,751
2023 EDUCATIONAL
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY
$2,937,412
2024 EDUCATIONAL
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY
$2,914,292
2022 EDUCATIONAL
Grants received
No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY
170(B)(1)(A)(IV) · EDUCATION · VA
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY EDUCATION FOUNDATION
501(C)(3) · SUPPORT OF UNIVERSITY · VA
Declared as related by
-
CHRISTOPHER NEWPORT UNIVERSITY EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION INC
On its 2024 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility SOUNK.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.