- Revenue 2024
- $686,409,464
- Expenses 2024
- $629,905,160
Program services were 80.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E220
- Classification
- 1700
- Street
- 225 E WASHINGTON AVE
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Group exemption
A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us
The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
TO PROVIDE CHRIST-LIKE HEALING TO THE COMMUNITY THROUGH EDUCATION, TREATMENT, AND HEALTH SERVICES.
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO PROVIDE CHRIST-LIKE HEALING TO THE COMMUNITY THROUGH EDUCATION, TREATMENT AND HEALTH SERVICES.
-
SINCE 1900, ST BERNARDS HAS SERVED AS OUR COMMUNITY'S TRUSTED PROVIDER OF COMPREHENSIVE, COMPASSIONATE HEALTHCARE. WITH OUR DEDICATED AND EXPERIENCED EMPLOYEES, ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY, AND THE LARGEST MEDICAL STAFF IN THE REGION, ST BERNARDS IS THE MEDICAL CENTER OF CHOICE. TODAY, AS WELL AS IN THE FUTURE, ST BERNARDS WILL CONTINUE TO PUT PATIENTS AND COMMUNITY NEEDS FIRST BY FOCUSING ON QUALITY, SAFETY, COST CONTROL, SERVICE, AND DIVERSITY.
Expenses $505,784,197 · Grants $1,521,404 · Revenue $672,720,574
As filed on the 2024 return.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
GUY PATTESON
PRESIDENT ADVISORY BOARD
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 2 related
-
MOTHER MARY CLARE BEZNER
CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 3 related
-
SISTER MARY BETH HACKLEY
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
BRIAN HYNEMANN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DR ISAM ABEL-KARIM
CHIEF OF STAFF
- Total calculated
- $1,066,643
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $1,046,931
- Other
- $19,712
- Hours/week
- 1 + 40 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $1,040,043 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $6,888 related
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $19,712 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $1,066,643 related
-
DR SCOTT DICKSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JOHN FREEMAN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
LINDA WOFFORD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
RANDY MCNEIL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SISTER CECILA NGUYEN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
SISTER GLOREA KNAGGS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
SISTER JOHANNA MARIE MELYNK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SISTER MARIA CHRISTI CAVANAUGH
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 2 related
-
STEVE COX
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
BENJAMIN BARYLSKE
CFO
- Total calculated
- $533,393
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $509,721
- Other
- $23,672
- Hours/week
- 1 + 47 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $500,877 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $8,844 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $13,791 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $9,881 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $533,393 related
-
CHRIS BARBER
PRESIDENT & CEO
- Total calculated
- $1,001,859
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $955,960
- Other
- $45,899
- Hours/week
- 1 + 48 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $908,787 related
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0 + $47,173 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $30,500 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $15,399 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $1,001,859 related
-
EMILY MCGEE
VP-CHIEF NURSING OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $255,907
- From this org
- $238,008
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,899
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $231,671
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $6,337
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $17,899
- Filer's total
- $255,907
-
MICHAEL GIVENS
ADMINISTRATOR
- Total calculated
- $439,512
- From this org
- $420,913
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $18,599
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $412,771
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $8,142
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $18,599
- Filer's total
- $439,512
-
AMIRTHARAJ DHANARAJA
HOSPITALIST
- Total calculated
- $598,836
- From this org
- $574,552
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,284
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $548,233
- Bonus
- $23,333
- Other
- $2,986
- Deferred
- $14,850
- Nontaxable benefits
- $9,434
- Filer's total
- $598,836
-
CHITHARANJAN DUVOOR
HOSPITALIST
- Total calculated
- $1,068,407
- From this org
- $1,052,545
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $15,862
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $1,047,127
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $5,418
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,862
- Filer's total
- $1,068,407
-
DAMIAN ALLEN
HOSPITALIST
- Total calculated
- $585,017
- From this org
- $565,958
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,059
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $540,771
- Bonus
- $24,167
- Other
- $1,020
- Deferred
- $12,748
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,311
- Filer's total
- $585,017
-
EMMANUEL MACDONALD
HOSPITALIST
- Total calculated
- $595,833
- From this org
- $582,722
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $13,111
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $558,475
- Bonus
- $24,247
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $13,111
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $595,833
-
XIAOLONG LIU
HOSPITALIST
- Total calculated
- $833,212
- From this org
- $812,051
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,161
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $761,630
- Bonus
- $31,167
- Other
- $19,254
- Deferred
- $14,850
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,311
- Filer's total
- $833,212
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $686,409,464
- Expenses
- $629,905,160
- Contributions
- $1,899,643
- Grants paid
- $1,521,404
-
2023
- Revenue
- $644,877,266
- Expenses
- $600,120,265
- Contributions
- $719,232
- Grants paid
- $1,642,347
-
2022
- Revenue
- $562,278,934
- Expenses
- $538,779,531
- Contributions
- $3,479,525
- Grants paid
- $1,609,871
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $528,693,577
- Expenses
- $502,606,689
- Assets (EOY)
- $312,640,213
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $505,772,828
- Expenses
- $458,285,015
- Assets (EOY)
- $376,576,923
-
2020 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $475,891,792
- Expenses
- $430,358,246
- Assets (EOY)
- $378,551,172
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $435,571,158
- Expenses
- $396,641,083
- Assets (EOY)
- $293,884,656
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $411,162,435
- Expenses
- $368,403,652
- Assets (EOY)
- $241,875,300
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
-
$1,495,710
2024 RESIDENCY PROGRAM
-
$1,485,000
2023 RESIDENCY PROGRAM
-
$1,471,000
2022 RESIDENCY PROGRAM
-
ARKANSAS METHODIST MEDICAL CENTER
$152,136
2023 RURAL SERVICES
-
ARKANSAS METHODIST MEDICAL CENTER
$137,109
2022 RURAL SERVICES
-
2024 RURAL SERVICES
Grants received
-
ST BERNARDS HOSPITAL DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION
$1,723,174
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
ST BERNARDS HOSPITAL DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION
$1,694,190
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2023 General Support
-
2023 General Support
-
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$17,500
2023 Patient Support
-
$7,500
2022 Patient Support
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
OLIVETAN BENEDICTINE SISTERS INC
501(C)(3) · CONVENT · AR
-
STBERNARDS HEALTHCARE INC (SBHC)
501(C)(3) · SUPPORT · AR
-
501(C)(3) · HOUSING · AR · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOUSING · AR · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HOUSING · AR · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
JONESBORO REAL ESTATE HOLDINGS INC
501(C)(2) · REAL ESTATE · AR · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · ADVERTISING · AR · controlled entity
-
AUX TO STBERNARDS MEDICAL CENTER
501(C)(3) · FUNDRAISING · AR · controlled entity
-
FIVE RIVERS MEDICAL CENTER INC
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
ST BERNARDS DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION
501(C)(3) · SUPPORT · AR
Declared as related by
-
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
JONESBORO REAL ESTATE HOLDINGS INC
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
FIVE RIVERS MEDICAL CENTER INC
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
ST BERNARD COMMUNITY HOSPITAL CORPORATION
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
ST BERNARDS HOSPITAL DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
AUXILIARY TO ST BERNARDS REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
Taxable family
From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.
Disregarded entities on its 2024 return
-
HEALTHCARE · AR · income $3,216,044 · assets $6,027,799
Related partnerships on its 2024 return
-
RELATED · P.E.T. SCANS · AR · 51% owned · share of income $643,810 · share of assets $1,177,988 · general or managing partner
-
HEALTHCARE · AR
-
PAIN MANAGEMENT · AR
Related corporations and trusts on its 2024 return
-
REGIONAL HEALTHCARE HOLDINGS INC
C CORPORATION · HOLDING COMPANY · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · ANESTHESIOLOGY · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · NEUROSURGERY · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
SURGICAL ASSOCIATES OF JONESBORO
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · PLASTIC SURGERY · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · OB-GYN · AR · controlled entity
-
CARDIOLOGY ASSOCIATES OF JONESBORO
C CORPORATION · CARDIOLOGY · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
ST BERNARDS ORTHOPEDIC ASSOCIATES INC
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
ST BERNARDS UROLOGY ASSOCIATES INC
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
-
ST BERNARDS PHYSICIAN CLINICS INC
C CORPORATION · HEALTHCARE · AR · controlled entity
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Not present in the most recent drop.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.