Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

THE AMAAD INSTITUTE

EIN 77-0672440 LOS ANGELES, CA

Revenue 2024
$5,129,024
Expenses 2024
$5,011,141

Program services were 70.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
F21
Classification
1000
Street
10221 COMPTON AVE STE 105

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • CARL HIGHSHAW

    President

    Total calculated
    $168,127
    From this org
    $160,127
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,000
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $160,127
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $8,000
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $168,127
  • GERALD GARTH

    Executive Dir.

    Total calculated
    $140,903
    From this org
    $140,903
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • CURTIS GREGORY

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ARLETHA MILLER

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • BRE ONNA MATHIS

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • VICENT HOLMES

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $5,129,024
    Expenses
    $5,011,141
    Contributions
    $5,080,250
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $4,126,210
    Expenses
    $4,150,594
    Contributions
    $4,126,210
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $4,660,515
    Expenses
    $3,666,443
    Contributions
    $4,660,515
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

  • Exemption revoked 15 May 2010, reinstated 15 May 2010.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.