Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

BIG SUR LAND TRUST

EIN 94-2473415 MONTEREY, CA

Revenue 2023
$23,197,040
Expenses 2023
$4,911,831

Program services were 69.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
C340
Classification
2000
Street
509 HARTNELL ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Jeannette Tuitele-Lewis

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $266,735
    From this org
    $214,276
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $52,459
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $214,276
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $10,750
    Nontaxable benefits
    $41,709
    Filer's total
    $266,735
  • Rachel Saunders

    Dir. Conservation

    Total calculated
    $148,742
    From this org
    $135,014
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $13,728
    Hours/week
    40
  • Peter Eigen

    CFO/COO

    Total calculated
    $141,922
    From this org
    $131,708
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,214
    Hours/week
    40
  • Patrick Riparetti

    Stewardship Dir.

    Total calculated
    $140,922
    From this org
    $123,573
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,349
    Hours/week
    40
  • Katharine L Mitchell-Mehle

    Development Dir

    Total calculated
    $137,056
    From this org
    $130,410
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,646
    Hours/week
    40
  • Barbara Utter

    Financial Control

    Total calculated
    $115,150
    From this org
    $111,650
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $3,500
    Hours/week
    40
  • Hans Buder

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jim Andrasick

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Krista Hanni PhD

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Carmen Gil

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Adrienne Laurent

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Monica Tovar

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Yuri Anderson

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Mark Boitano

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Joel Hernandez Laguna

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • John Gamble

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Will Lewallen PhD

    Vice-Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Larry Oda

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Dan Lee

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Alfred Munoz

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Pinney Allen

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Andrea Manzo

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $23,197,040
    Expenses
    $4,911,831
    Contributions
    $20,128,662
    Grants paid
    $313,562
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $10,380,116
    Expenses
    $5,726,230
    Contributions
    $7,605,597
    Grants paid
    $302,289

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.