- Revenue 2024
- $15,465,008
- Expenses 2024
- $9,054,322
Program services were 87.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B42I
- Classification
- 1200
- Street
- 1000 RIM DR
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
ENRICHING EDUCATIONAL AND CULTURAL OPPORTUNITIES AT FORT LEWIS COLLEGE BY ENCOURAGING AND STEWARDING GIFTS FOR SCHOLARSHIPS, PROGRAMS, AND FACILITIES-WISE INVESTMENTS IN THE LEADERS OF TOMORROW.
Activities or mission (Part I)
ENRICHING EDUCATIONAL AND CULTURAL OPPORTUNITIES AT FORT LEWIS COLLEGE THROUGH PHILANTHROPY.
-
FUNDS ARE RAISED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND ADMINISTRATION OF FORT LEWIS COLLEGE. THE FOUNDATION RAISES RESOURCES THAT DIRECTLY FUEL OPPORTUNITIES FOR FORT LEWIS COLLEGE STUDENTS AND OUR COMMUNITY. THIS INCLUDES SUPPORT FOR STUDENTS THROUGH INCREASED SCHOLARSHIPS AND EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING FUNDING FOR INTERNSHIPS, FIELDWORK, TRAVEL, AND PROGRAMS LIKE FORT LEWIS ON THE WATER. THE FOUNDATION ALSO RAISES FUNDING AIMED AT SUPPORTING STUDENT SUCCESS THROUGH INNOVATIVE SUMMER BRIDGE PROGRAMS OFFERING ADDITIONAL ACADEMIC AND SOCIAL SUPPORT FOR STUDENTS. THE SPRINGBOARD FELLOWSHIPS MENTOR PROGRAM CONTINUED IN FISCAL YEAR 2025, TO HELP STUDENTS BUILD THE SOCIAL CAPITAL AND (CON'T ON SCH O) CONFIDENTLY LAUNCH THEIR POST COLLEGE CAREERS. ADDITIONALLY, NEW FUNDS WERE RAISED TO SUPPORT CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS TO SKYHAWK HALL AND LAUNCH THE NEW NURSING PROGRAM AT FORT LEWIS COLLEGE.
Expenses $7,901,478 · Grants $7,682,556 · Revenue $55,299
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Steve ShortSTEVE SHORT
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Jason Portz- Director ThruJASON PORTZ- DIRECTOR THRU
10/24) / VICE CHAIR (FROM 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Dan KormanDAN KORMAN
SECRETARY (THRU 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Ashley FrenchASHLEY FRENCH
SECRETARY (FROM 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Joann HardsJOANN HARDS
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Al Harper- Vice ChairAL HARPER- VICE CHAIR
(THRU 10/24)/ DIRECTOR (FROM 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Keith NewboldKEITH NEWBOLD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Marchall FletcherMARCHALL FLETCHER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Gene BradleyGENE BRADLEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Terry BaconTERRY BACON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Richard BallantineRICHARD BALLANTINE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ray BoucherRAY BOUCHER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Chuck CarsonCHUCK CARSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mitch DyeMITCH DYE
DIRECTOR (THRU 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Janet MosherJANET MOSHER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Brad TafoyaBRAD TAFOYA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Dave WestDAVE WEST
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Liz PerryLIZ PERRY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Don MapelDON MAPEL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Deb Jackson-BlissDEB JACKSON-BLISS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Nate LeeNATE LEE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Kathy SintonKATHY SINTON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
John WellsJOHN WELLS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Roger PtolemyROGER PTOLEMY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Eric JonesERIC JONES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $15,465,008
- Expenses
- $9,054,322
- Contributions
- $8,235,288
- Grants paid
- $7,682,556
-
2023
- Revenue
- $27,435,388
- Expenses
- $9,359,757
- Contributions
- $18,491,866
- Grants paid
- $8,342,639
-
2022
- Revenue
- $12,777,566
- Expenses
- $7,341,656
- Contributions
- $11,706,089
- Grants paid
- $6,610,212
-
2022
- Revenue
- $12,777,566
- Expenses
- $7,341,656
- Contributions
- $11,706,089
- Grants paid
- $6,610,212
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $11,431,239
- Expenses
- $6,951,366
- Assets (EOY)
- $38,090,331
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,791,701
- Expenses
- $3,066,505
- Assets (EOY)
- $37,654,064
-
2020 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $6,598,907
- Expenses
- $3,143,972
- Assets (EOY)
- $32,726,437
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $5,285,426
- Expenses
- $3,070,377
- Assets (EOY)
- $28,335,144
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,979,564
- Expenses
- $2,582,908
- Assets (EOY)
- $27,395,022
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
-
FORT LEWIS COLLEGE
$8,157,139
2023 FUNDING FOR STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND GENERAL SUPPORT.
-
FORT LEWIS COLLEGE
$7,682,556
2024 FUNDING FOR STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND GENERAL SUPPORT.
-
FORT LEWIS COLLEGE
$6,610,212
2022 FUNDING FOR STUDENT SCHOLARSHIPS AND GENERAL SUPPORT.
-
COLORADO MESA UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION
$185,500
2023 SPRINGBOARD FELLOWSHIP GRANT
Grants received
-
2024 To provide for educational and cultural opportunities at Fort Lewis College through scholarships, programs, and facilities.
-
$602,050
2024 SINGLE ORGANIZATION SUPPORT
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
$215,000
2023 Scholarships
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2025 WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
-
2024 WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT
-
$131,500
2024 EDUCATION
-
2024 EDUCATION
-
$100,000
2023 GENERAL PURPOSE
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.