Totals
- Total revenue
- $7,063,253
- Total expenses
- $6,560,339
- Contributions and grants received
- $4,151,638
- Grants paid
- $702,733
- Program service revenue
- $2,932,065
- Investment income
- -$21,627
- Other revenue
- $1,177
- Total assets, end of year
- $9,108,280
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $605,745
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $8,502,535
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $5,637,687
- Management and general expenses
- $392,744
- Fundraising expenses
- $529,908
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $5,637,687
Program services were 85.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$4,151,638
-
2a · Program service revenue: Newsletter & Brochures
total $306 · related or exempt $306
-
2b · Program service revenue: Patient Forums
total $653,991 · related or exempt $653,991
-
2c · Program service revenue: Publications
total $555,806 · unrelated business $555,806
-
2d · Program service revenue: Seal of Acceptance
total $1,721,962 · related or exempt $1,721,962
-
3 · Investment income
total $146,022 · excluded $146,022
-
4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds
total $0
-
5 · Royalties
total $0
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $0
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $743,684
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $911,333
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities -$167,649
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$167,649 · related or exempt -$167,649
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$1,177
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $1,177
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total $0
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $0
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$0
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $407,335 · program services $407,335
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $36,916 · program services $36,916
-
3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals
total $258,482 · program services $258,482
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $0
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $526,868 · program services $419,362 · management and general $34,117 · fundraising $73,389
-
6 · Compensation of disqualified persons
total $0
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $2,107,498 · program services $1,688,131 · management and general $123,945 · fundraising $295,422
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $0
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $518,018 · program services $413,216 · management and general $32,489 · fundraising $72,313
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $187,506 · program services $150,005 · management and general $11,250 · fundraising $26,251
-
11a · Fees: management
total $0
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $18,279 · program services $13,311 · management and general $4,890 · fundraising $78
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $72,650 · program services $52,907 · management and general $19,433 · fundraising $310
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $0
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $0
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $0
-
11g · Fees: other
total $251,321 · program services $183,024 · management and general $67,228 · fundraising $1,069
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $0
-
13 · Office expenses
total $50,557 · program services $40,445 · management and general $3,034 · fundraising $7,078
-
14 · Information technology
total $196,887 · program services $177,198 · management and general $9,845 · fundraising $9,844
-
15 · Royalties
total $0
-
16 · Occupancy
total $163,453 · program services $111,561 · management and general $32,369 · fundraising $19,523
-
17 · Travel
total $79,777 · program services $76,586 · management and general $1,595 · fundraising $1,596
-
18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials
total $0
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $0
-
20 · Interest
total $0
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $0
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $276,193 · program services $276,193
-
23 · Insurance
total $24,021 · program services $19,217 · management and general $1,441 · fundraising $3,363
-
24a · Other expenses: Program & Awareness Events
total $1,081,440 · program services $1,080,744 · management and general $696
-
24b · Other expenses: Research Expenses
total $74,577 · program services $74,577
-
24c · Other expenses: Taxes, Licenses & Fees
total $54,160 · program services $42,570 · management and general $4,414 · fundraising $7,176
-
24d · Other expenses: Printing and Publications
total $43,583 · program services $39,226 · management and general $1,306 · fundraising $3,051
-
24e · All other expenses
total $130,818 · program services $76,681 · management and general $44,692 · fundraising $9,445
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $2,470,560 · end of year $1,877,922
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
end of year $0
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
end of year $0
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $311,060 · end of year $810,776
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
end of year $0
-
6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons
end of year $0
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
end of year $0
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
end of year $0
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $159 · end of year $124
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$366,020
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $461,514 · end of year $366,020
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $5,519,680 · end of year $4,662,254
-
12 · Investments: other securities
end of year $0
-
13 · Investments: program-related
end of year $0
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $1,057,315 · end of year $1,379,584
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $11,600 · end of year $11,600
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $196,076 · end of year $15,722
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $385,000 · end of year $200,000
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $461,514 · end of year $390,023
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $8,453,414 · end of year $8,322,667
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $335,884 · end of year $179,868
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
NEA is the driving force for an eczema community fueled by knowledge, strengthened through collective action and propelled by the promise of a better future.
-
Provided emotional support and medical updates for persons suffering from eczema. Services provided include newsletters, brochures, and social media support. Promoted and developed several new initiatives that provide resources for patients to obtain information relating to the causes and treatment of eczema including patient empowerment programs such as the seal of acceptance program.Promoted awareness relating to the causes and treatment of eczema. And to the experiences of persons suffering from eczema.
Expenses $4,934,954 · Revenue $2,932,065
-
Funded 68 novel studies at dozens of U.S and international research institutions and supported the growth and continued research careers of 54 eczema scientists since 2004. Over $3 million have been committed to date toward advancing the understanding and care of all forms of eczema. Funding continues to grow yearly and is supported by a growing portfolio of research funding opportunities for innovative eczema researchers at all levels.
Expenses $702,733 · Grants $702,733
As filed on the 2022 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Julie Block
CEO
- Total calculated
- $301,635
- From this org
- $250,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $51,635
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $250,000
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $51,635
- Filer's total
- $301,635
-
Scott Sanford
COO
- Total calculated
- $225,233
- From this org
- $198,080
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,153
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $198,080
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,153
- Filer's total
- $225,233
-
Lisa Butler
Sr VP Strat Prg
- Total calculated
- $225,233
- From this org
- $198,080
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,153
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $198,080
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,153
- Filer's total
- $225,233
-
Wendy Smith Begolka
VP Scientific Affr
- Total calculated
- $225,233
- From this org
- $198,080
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,153
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $198,080
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,153
- Filer's total
- $225,233
-
Amber Whiteside
Dir Mkting & Com
- Total calculated
- $189,049
- From this org
- $166,150
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,899
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $166,150
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $22,899
- Filer's total
- $189,049
-
Jose Torres
Ass. Dir Tech
- Total calculated
- $158,773
- From this org
- $131,072
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,701
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $131,072
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,701
- Filer's total
- $158,773
-
Isabelle Thibau
Assoc. Dir, Data
- Total calculated
- $156,314
- From this org
- $129,175
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,139
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $129,175
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $27,139
- Filer's total
- $156,314
-
Lisa Choy
Director
- Total calculated
- $16,200
- From this org
- $16,200
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Justine Scott
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Christina Crowley
Chairwoman
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Amy Chrnelich
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Nathan Jetter
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Lynell Doyle
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mike Bristol
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Peter Lio
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Sarah Young O'Donnell
CFO
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$174,977
Research
-
$66,665
Research
-
$50,000
Research
-
$41,667
Research
-
John Hopkins Wilmer Eye Inst
$33,332
Research
-
$12,367
Research
-
$10,000
Research
-
University of Texas
$8,327
Research
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 30 August 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202302429349301425
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.