Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← CALIFORNIA OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by CALIFORNIA OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$4,432,915
Total expenses
$2,821,149
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,387,119
Investment income
$1,662,245
Other revenue
$383,551
Total assets, end of year
$11,132,325
Total liabilities, end of year
$396,513
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$10,735,812
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$0
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $1,477,036 · related or exempt $1,477,036

  • 2b · Program service revenue: CONFERENCES

    total $682,583 · excluded $682,583

  • 2c · Program service revenue: SPONSORSHIPS

    total $227,500 · excluded $227,500

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $341,147 · excluded $341,147

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $145,412 · excluded $145,412

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $1,881,529 · other assets $1,740,000

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $1,694,084 · other assets $606,347

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $187,445 · other assets $1,133,653

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $1,321,098 · excluded $1,321,098

  • 11a · Other revenue: VARIOUS SERVICES

    total $98,854 · related or exempt $98,854

  • 11b · Other revenue: CA OPTOMETRIC MAGAZINE

    total $85,580 · related or exempt $27,367 · unrelated business $58,213

  • 11c · Other revenue: ADMIN REIMBURSEMENT

    total $31,500 · related or exempt $31,500

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $22,205 · excluded $22,205

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $238,139

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $518,609

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $495,917

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $62,264

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $53,809

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $68,888

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $4,138

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $21,500

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $341,315

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $43,139

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $52,587

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $23,112

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $115,301

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $58,391

  • 17 · Travel

    total $102,387

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $186,702

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $84,478

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $64,448

  • 24a · Other expenses: FOOD AND BEVERAGE

    total $159,403

  • 24b · Other expenses: BANK CHARGES

    total $97,822

  • 24c · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL & MAINT

    total $78,403

  • 24d · Other expenses: COGS

    total $56,192

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $132,344

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $376,180 · end of year $363,010

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,319,504 · end of year $1,156,953

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $72,730 · end of year $153,066

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $38,761 · end of year $30,441

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $746,640

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $692,575

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $138,367 · end of year $54,065

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $8,542,892 · end of year $9,372,717

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $490,417 · end of year $2,073

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $339,833 · end of year $314,347

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $85,701 · end of year $82,166

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $10,553,317 · end of year $10,735,812

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

THE MISSION OF THE CALIFORNIA OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION IS TO SUPPORT AND ADVANCE THE PROFESSION OF OPTOMETRY TO ASSURE QUALITY HEALTH CARE FOR ALL CALIFORNIANS.

  • THE CALIFORNIA OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION HELD MULTIPLE EXTENSIVE CONTINUING EDUCATION OPPORTUNITIES AND TRADE SHOWS FOR OPTOMETRISTS FOR RE-LICENSURE AND PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT. OPTOWEST HELD THREE ONE DAY EVENTS: AN ONLNE VIRTUAL EVENT IN MARCH 2022 AND TWO IN PERSON EVENTS IN APRIL & MAY 2022. MONTEREY SYMPOSIUM WAS HELD IN PERSON IN NOVEMBER 2022. THERE WERE SIX ONLINE TWO HOUR CONTINUING EDUCATION EVENTS HELD IN JANUARY, MARCH, MAY, JULY, SEPTEMBER, AND OCTOBER 2022.

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Kristine Shultz

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $269,828
    From this org
    $244,778
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $25,050
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $244,778
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $16,028
    Nontaxable benefits
    $9,022
    Filer's total
    $269,828
  • Sarah Harbin

    ASSOCIATE EX

    Total calculated
    $248,781
    From this org
    $225,993
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $22,788
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $225,993
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $14,688
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,100
    Filer's total
    $248,781
  • Jodi Haas

    DEVELOPMENT

    Total calculated
    $205,954
    From this org
    $185,779
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,175
    Hours/week
    40 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $185,779
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $12,902
    Nontaxable benefits
    $7,273
    Filer's total
    $205,954
  • Amanda Dexter Od Faao

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ida Chung Od Mshe Fcovd Faao

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Richard Hom Od Mpa Faao

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Chris Fisher

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Candi Kimura

    PRESIDENT EL

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rachelle Lin

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Mendoza

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mika Moy

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Christopher Gee Od

    SECRETARY TR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brian Park

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • PUBLIC VISION LEAGUE

    501C6 · LEGAL SVCS · CA · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by COA

  • CALIFORNIA VISION FOUNDATION

    501C3 · CHARITABLE · CA · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by COA

  • CALIFORNIA OPTOMETRIC PAC AKA CAL-O

    527 · POLITICAL · CA

    Directly controlled by NA

  • LOCAL SOCIETIES OF THE COA PAC

    527 · POLITICAL · CA

    Directly controlled by NA

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
13 September 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202322719349302052

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.