Totals
- Total revenue
- $143,233,716
- Total expenses
- $131,954,975
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $98,948
- Program service revenue
- $85,701,034
- Investment income
- $9,303,383
- Other revenue
- $48,229,299
- Total assets, end of year
- $1,953,300,236
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,831,595,042
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $121,705,194
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: LOAN INTEREST INCOME
total $85,701,034 · related or exempt $85,701,034
-
3 · Investment income
total $9,302,173 · excluded $9,302,173
-
5 · Royalties
total $716,559 · excluded $716,559
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $63,300
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $62,090
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets $1,210
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $1,210 · excluded $1,210
-
11a · Other revenue: INDIRECT LENDING INCOME
total $25,101,311 · related or exempt $23,661,875 · unrelated business $1,439,436
-
11b · Other revenue: INTERCHANGE ACCOUNT CHARGES
total $8,436,362 · related or exempt $8,436,362
-
11c · Other revenue: NSF ACCOUNT CHARGES
total $7,198,654 · related or exempt $7,198,654
-
11d · All other revenue
total $6,776,413 · related or exempt $6,278,641 · unrelated business $497,772
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$47,512,740
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $98,948
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $3,809,117
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $19,648,072
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $1,964,311
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $2,243,435
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $1,702,192
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $281,827
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $180,000
-
11g · Fees: other
total $1,578,845
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $2,343,997
-
13 · Office expenses
total $9,219,940
-
14 · Information technology
total $2,208,460
-
16 · Occupancy
total $2,014,058
-
17 · Travel
total $504,248
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $324,541
-
20 · Interest
total $48,351,044
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $3,172,672
-
23 · Insurance
total $88,240
-
24a · Other expenses: PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS
total $15,270,215
-
24b · Other expenses: CHECK & LOAN SERVICING
total $15,020,186
-
24c · Other expenses: OTHER OPERATING EXPENSE
total $1,156,119
-
24d · Other expenses: CASH OVER (SHORT)
total $463,244
-
24e · All other expenses
total $311,264
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $28,202,056 · end of year $39,921,064
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $98,212,972 · end of year $101,224,607
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $232,430 · end of year $62,536
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
beginning of year $20,306,787 · end of year $20,211,787
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $1,465,593,503 · end of year $1,516,228,156
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $12,661,462 · end of year $9,746,965
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$86,866,460
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$26,127,442
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $55,535,732 · end of year $60,739,018
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $8,529,384 · end of year $6,281,786
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $195,057,280 · end of year $165,072,329
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $3,047,788 · end of year $446,707
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $2,549,723 · end of year $2,858,480
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $32,365,170 · end of year $30,506,801
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $15,417,751 · end of year $11,355,277
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $245,000,000 · end of year $75,000,000
-
24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable
beginning of year $48,500,000 · end of year $48,544,651
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $1,502,657,660 · end of year $1,696,695,114
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $110,718,876 · end of year $121,705,194
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
TO PROVIDE THRIFT OPPORTUNITIES AND LOW COST LOANS TO MEMBERS
-
146,856 MEMBERS SERVED TO PROMOTE THRIFT OPPORTUNITIES AND LOW COST LOANS
As filed on the 2024 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
REBA ESSARY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CASEY TAYLOR
SECRETARY/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
CHARLOTTE HARRIS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LYNNE APRIL
BOARD VICE CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MARK NELSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MARCUS JONES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
THOMAS WEST
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROBERT RILEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RON DULEK
BOARD CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LISA EVANS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
TONY JOHNSON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MICHAEL GOODMAN
CIO
- Total calculated
- $409,063
- From this org
- $353,808
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $55,255
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $259,516
- Bonus
- $32,244
- Other
- $62,048
- Deferred
- $47,095
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,160
- Filer's total
- $409,063
-
JUNE LANDRUM
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $390,038
- From this org
- $356,144
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $33,894
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $249,476
- Bonus
- $37,847
- Other
- $68,821
- Deferred
- $26,655
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,239
- Filer's total
- $390,038
-
JIM PENNINGTON
VP, COLLECTIONS
- Total calculated
- $361,638
- From this org
- $286,987
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $74,651
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $173,326
- Bonus
- $25,446
- Other
- $88,215
- Deferred
- $67,519
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,132
- Filer's total
- $361,638
-
STEPHEN K SWOFFORD
CEO
- Total calculated
- $620,371
- From this org
- $566,046
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $54,325
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $508,462
- Bonus
- $27,700
- Other
- $29,884
- Deferred
- $45,279
- Nontaxable benefits
- $9,046
- Filer's total
- $620,371
-
ELEANOR BROWN
CFO
- Total calculated
- $341,729
- From this org
- $314,064
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $27,665
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $203,506
- Bonus
- $37,135
- Other
- $73,423
- Deferred
- $19,392
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,273
- Filer's total
- $341,729
-
MICHAEL R SHULTS
VP OF INFORMATION SYSTEMS
- Total calculated
- $326,805
- From this org
- $298,340
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $28,465
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $181,192
- Bonus
- $38,033
- Other
- $79,115
- Deferred
- $20,866
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,599
- Filer's total
- $326,805
-
BENSON P BOLLING
CHIEF LENDING OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $359,142
- From this org
- $329,082
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $30,060
- Hours/week
- 55
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $214,287
- Bonus
- $39,845
- Other
- $74,950
- Deferred
- $22,840
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,220
- Filer's total
- $359,142
-
BRANDI MCKINNEY
CHIEF RISK OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $245,198
- From this org
- $220,330
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,868
- Hours/week
- 55
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $161,817
- Bonus
- $23,988
- Other
- $34,525
- Deferred
- $17,069
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,799
- Filer's total
- $245,198
-
TOMMY COBB
PRESIDENT OF ACUS HOLDINGS
- Total calculated
- $524,841
- From this org
- $498,990
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $25,851
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $194,262
- Bonus
- $88,130
- Other
- $216,598
- Deferred
- $19,476
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,375
- Filer's total
- $524,841
-
KELLEY PORTER
CHIEF MEMBER EXPERIENCE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $230,292
- From this org
- $211,681
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $18,611
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $149,788
- Bonus
- $23,368
- Other
- $38,525
- Deferred
- $15,802
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,809
- Filer's total
- $230,292
-
JOSEPH HARDY
PRESIDENT OF ACUSI
- Total calculated
- $586,267
- From this org
- $535,797
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $50,470
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $135,583
- Bonus
- $394,458
- Other
- $5,756
- Deferred
- $44,313
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,157
- Filer's total
- $586,267
-
ELIZABETH COLE
VP OF BRANCH OPERATIONS
- Total calculated
- $282,971
- From this org
- $258,579
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,392
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $160,775
- Bonus
- $31,436
- Other
- $66,368
- Deferred
- $17,569
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,823
- Filer's total
- $282,971
-
JENNIFER BROWNING
ACUIS PROGRAM MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $234,174
- From this org
- $209,330
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,844
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $63,443
- Bonus
- $136,608
- Other
- $9,279
- Deferred
- $19,101
- Nontaxable benefits
- $5,743
- Filer's total
- $234,174
-
JOHN EDINGTON
COMMERCIAL LENDING DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $174,544
- From this org
- $152,465
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,079
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $145,730
- Bonus
- $3,042
- Other
- $3,693
- Deferred
- $15,814
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,265
- Filer's total
- $174,544
-
AJAYKUMAR GUPTA
AVP OF NETWORK ADMINISTRATION
- Total calculated
- $194,540
- From this org
- $170,113
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,427
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $150,752
- Bonus
- $8,324
- Other
- $11,037
- Deferred
- $18,143
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,284
- Filer's total
- $194,540
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 4B
- THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS PARTICIPATED IN THE NONQUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN: STEPHEN SWOFFORD BENSON BOLLING ELEANOR BROWN ELIZABETH COLE MICHAEL GOODMAN JUNE LANDRUM JAMES PENNINGTON MICHAEL SHULTS TOM COBB BRANDI MCKINNEY KELLEY PORTER
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
PROMOTING ECONOMIC WELLNESS
-
PLEDGE FOR 5 YEAR PLAN TO ALLEVIATE HUNGER
-
LISTERHILL FOUNDATION SHOE DONATION SPONSORSHIP AT ALICEVILLE ELEMENTARY
-
SPONSORSHIP FOR ENTREPRENEURIAL PROFESSORSHIP
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Disregarded entities
Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.
-
CUSO HOLDING COMPANY · AL · income -$341,522 · assets $1,255,384
Directly controlled by ALABAMA CREDIT UNION
-
CUSO · AL · income $15,239,364 · assets $16,133,227
Directly controlled by ACUS HOLDINGS LLC
-
CUSO · AL · income $278,096 · assets $382,577
Directly controlled by ACUS HOLDINGS LLC
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
C · FINANCIAL SERVICES · AL · 100% owned · share of income -$709 · share of assets $2,081,866 · controlled entity
Directly controlled by ALABAMA CREDIT UNION
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- Filed
- 6 November 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.2
- Source object
- 202533149349305128
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.