Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← VIETNAM VETERANS OF AMERICA INC

Form 990 for tax year 2025

Filed by VIETNAM VETERANS OF AMERICA INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,396,930
Total expenses
$12,510,623
Contributions and grants received
$3,523,563
Grants paid
$1,606,515
Program service revenue
$316,565
Investment income
$4,473,305
Other revenue
$83,497
Total assets, end of year
$15,598,740
Total liabilities, end of year
$2,686,360
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$12,912,380
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$7,030,688
Management and general expenses
$4,018,792
Fundraising expenses
$1,461,143
Program service expenses (Part III)
$7,030,688

Program services were 56.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $120,054

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $3,403,509

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ADVERTISING

    total $155,365 · unrelated business $155,365

  • 2b · Program service revenue: CONVETION/CONFERENCE

    total $161,200 · related or exempt $161,200

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $304,888 · excluded $304,888

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $65,570 · excluded $65,570

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $16,558,787

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    other assets $12,390,370

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets $4,168,417

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $4,168,417 · related or exempt $4,168,417

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER

    total $17,927 · related or exempt $17,927

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $17,927

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $1,606,515 · program services $1,606,515

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $450,088 · program services $232,375 · management and general $211,439 · fundraising $6,274

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,716,447 · program services $1,391,478 · management and general $1,284,650 · fundraising $40,319

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $32,849 · program services $18,464 · management and general $14,262 · fundraising $123

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $761,876 · program services $428,250 · management and general $330,783 · fundraising $2,843

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $53,864 · program services $30,277 · management and general $23,386 · fundraising $201

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $342,903 · program services $193,097 · management and general $149,806

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $283,451 · program services $159,618 · management and general $123,833

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $131,072 · fundraising $131,072

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $1,235,917 · program services $442,592 · management and general $703,091 · fundraising $90,234

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $315,236 · program services $15,521 · management and general $25,952 · fundraising $273,763

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $1,904,386 · program services $856,261 · management and general $145,283 · fundraising $902,842

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $691,593 · program services $411,560 · management and general $267,344 · fundraising $12,689

  • 17 · Travel

    total $837,055 · program services $710,648 · management and general $126,407

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $126,554 · program services $114,034 · management and general $12,520

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $3,718 · program services $1,859 · management and general $1,859

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $215,577 · program services $141,930 · management and general $73,647

  • 24a · Other expenses: BAD DEBT

    total $359,736 · management and general $359,736

  • 24b · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $32,420 · program services $13,057 · management and general $18,590 · fundraising $773

  • 24c · Other expenses: TEMPORARY HELP

    total $5,200 · program services $5,200

  • 24d · Other expenses: OTHER EXPENSES

    total $394,295 · program services $248,461 · management and general $145,824 · fundraising $10

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $9,871 · program services $9,491 · management and general $380

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $2,811,854 · end of year $2,970,127

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,989,485 · end of year $799,958

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $841,684 · end of year $881,970

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $44,097 · end of year $50,826

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $457,458

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $445,756

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $15,420 · end of year $11,702

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $10,338,108 · end of year $9,300,891

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $2,125,616 · end of year $1,583,266

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $743,423 · end of year $844,160

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $1,116

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $2,398,324 · end of year $1,842,200

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $16,023,401 · end of year $12,912,380

Mission and programs · 2025

Mission

TO SUPPORT A FULL RANGE OF ISSUES AFFECTING VIETNAM VETERANS, AS WELL AS, ALL VETERANS. VVA IS THE ONLY CONGRESSIONALY CHARTERED ORGANIZATION EXCLUSIVELY DEDICATED TO VIETNAM-ERA VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO SUPPORT A FULL RANGE OF ISSUES AFFECTING VIETNAM VETERANS, AS WELL AS, ALL VETERANS. VVA IS THE ONLY CONGRESSIONALLY CHARTERED ORGANIZATION EXCLUSIVELY DEDICATED TO VIETNAM-ERA VETERANS AND THEIR FAMILIES.

  • FOUNDED IN 1978, VIETNAM VETERANS OF AMERICA VVA IS ONE OF OUR NATIONS MOST RESPECTED AND SUCCESSFUL VETERANS SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS ON THE NATIONAL, STATE, AND LOCAL LEVELS. OUR MEMBERSHIP GREW OVER 1 PERCENT, TO 93,547 MEMBERS, AND SIX NEW CHAPTER WAS CHARTERED. OUR MEMBERS REMAIN ACTIVE IN THEIR COMMUNITIES, MEETING REGULARLY AND ENGAGING IN PROJECTS. VVAS 46 STATE COUNCILS AND 544 CHAPTERS ARE LOCATED IN ALL 50 STATES, AS WELL AS GUAM, PUERTO RICO, THE PHILIPPINES, AND THE VIRGIN ISLANDS. VVAS NATIONAL ACTIVITIES ARE CLOSELY COORDINATED WITH THE WORK OF THE CHAPTERS AND STATE COUNCILS VICTORIES GAINED AT THE NATIONAL LEVEL ARE IMPLEMENTED LOCALLY. OUR AFFILIATED, SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION, THE ASSOCIATES OF VIETNAM VETERANS OF AMERICA, HAS OVER 11,783 MEMBERS. CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O

    Expenses $7,030,688 · Grants $1,606,515 · Revenue $316,565

As filed on the 2025 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Margaret Porter

    DIRECTOR COMMUNICATION

    Total calculated
    $174,623
    From this org
    $125,608
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $49,015
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $125,608
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,200
    Nontaxable benefits
    $43,815
    Filer's total
    $174,623
  • Anthony Powell

    DIRECTOR OF ACCOUNTING

    Total calculated
    $174,015
    From this org
    $137,504
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $36,511
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $137,504
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $36,511
    Filer's total
    $174,015
  • James McCormick

    EXECUTIVE DIR GOV AFFAIRS

    Total calculated
    $133,164
    From this org
    $131,556
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $1,608
    Hours/week
    40
  • Sean Venables

    EDITOR VVA VETERAN

    Total calculated
    $132,677
    From this org
    $101,475
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $31,202
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jacy Smith

    DIRECTOR/ADMIN HR

    Total calculated
    $122,275
    From this org
    $100,842
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,433
    Hours/week
    40
  • Nicole Kennedy

    DIRECTOR OF MEMBERSHIP

    Total calculated
    $112,063
    From this org
    $100,959
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,104
    Hours/week
    40
  • Thomas Burke

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $70,454
    From this org
    $70,454
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Bill Meeks Jr

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $50,662
    From this org
    $50,662
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • John Riling III

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $21,291
    From this org
    $21,291
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Dottie Barickman

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $20,929
    From this org
    $20,929
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Elizabeth Liz Cannon

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Charlie Montgomery Jr

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Charlie Hobbs

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Terry Courville

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Ken Holybee

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Justin Latini

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Gary Estermyer

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    28
  • Steven Williams

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Gumersindo Gomez

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    20
  • Frederick Gasior

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    17
  • Dennis Howland

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    11
  • John Margowski

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Marc Goodell

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    18
  • Chuck Odom

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Chuck Renevier

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Charles Stapleton

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    12
  • Ted Wilkinson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    6
  • Richard Dick Southern

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Dan Stenvold

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Sandie Wilson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    10

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2025
Filed
27 August 2026
IRS schema version
2025v4.1
Source object
202622399349300227

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.