Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← NORTHERN COCHISE COMMUNITY HOSPITAL INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by NORTHERN COCHISE COMMUNITY HOSPITAL INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$24,778,233
Total expenses
$20,326,021
Contributions and grants received
$2,282,540
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$22,313,337
Investment income
$5,007
Other revenue
$177,349
Total assets, end of year
$22,803,061
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,972,464
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$20,830,597
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$15,866,805
Management and general expenses
$4,449,515
Fundraising expenses
$9,701
Program service expenses (Part III)
$15,866,805

Program services were 78.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $2,263,185

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $19,355

  • 2a · Program service revenue: NET PATIENT SERVICE REVENUE

    total $22,256,106 · related or exempt $22,256,106

  • 2b · Program service revenue: OTHER PROGRAM REVENUE

    total $57,231 · related or exempt $57,231

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $5,007 · excluded $5,007

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $44,042

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $44,042

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $44,042 · excluded $44,042

  • 11a · Other revenue: REBATES

    total $53,067 · excluded $53,067

  • 11b · Other revenue: OTHER REVENUE

    total $42,444 · excluded $42,444

  • 11c · Other revenue: CAFETERIA REVENUE

    total $37,796 · excluded $37,796

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $133,307

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $622,818 · management and general $622,818

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $6,919,841 · program services $5,680,521 · management and general $1,235,542 · fundraising $3,778

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $59,005 · program services $44,659 · management and general $14,316 · fundraising $30

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $294,324 · program services $247,500 · management and general $46,659 · fundraising $165

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $585,579 · program services $444,991 · management and general $140,293 · fundraising $295

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $48,000 · management and general $48,000

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $6,175,065 · program services $5,548,694 · management and general $624,934 · fundraising $1,437

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $53,578 · program services $627 · management and general $52,951

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $647,386 · program services $357,937 · management and general $289,087 · fundraising $362

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $469,613 · management and general $469,613

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $232,291 · program services $179,498 · management and general $50,989 · fundraising $1,804

  • 17 · Travel

    total $36,833 · program services $26,611 · management and general $10,188 · fundraising $34

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $484,100 · program services $417,468 · management and general $65,576 · fundraising $1,056

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $106,063 · program services $77,388 · management and general $28,675

  • 24a · Other expenses: MEDICAL SUPPLIES & DRUGS

    total $1,940,012 · program services $1,940,012

  • 24b · Other expenses: REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE

    total $402,225 · program services $376,372 · management and general $25,173 · fundraising $680

  • 24c · Other expenses: ASSESSMENT FEES

    total $399,600 · program services $399,600

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $849,688 · program services $124,927 · management and general $724,701 · fundraising $60

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $3,810,349 · end of year $8,459,903

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $3,828,492 · end of year $3,832,323

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $3,950,891 · end of year $4,360,042

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $222,899 · end of year $265,647

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $167,864 · end of year $218,505

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $5,312,070

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,846,086

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $3,617,312 · end of year $3,465,984

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $722,046 · end of year $776,493

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $1,963,455 · end of year $1,424,164

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $1,933,051 · end of year $1,970,902

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $26,319 · end of year $1,562

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $16,323,938 · end of year $20,830,597

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

TO PROVIDE FOR THE HEALTHCARE NEEDS OF THE GREATER WILLCOX COMMUNITY AND SOUTHEAST ARIZONA.

  • THE CRITCAL ACCESS HOSPITAL PROVIDES HEALTHCARE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC REGARDLESS OF AGE, RACE, OR ABILITY TO PAY. SERVICES INCLUDE, BUT ARE NOT LIMITED TO, EMERGENCY ROOM, PHYSICAL THERAPY, SPEECH THERAPY, RESP THERAPY, CT SCAN, MRI, RURAL HEALTH CLINIC, LABORATORY SERVICE, AND OTHER HEALTHCARE SERVICES. THE HOSPITAL PROVIDED 584 DAYS OF ACUTE PATIENT SERVICES, 5,885 EMERGENCY ROOM VISITS, AND 11,896 RURAL HEALTH CLINIC VISITS FOR THE YEAR. THE HOSPITAL PROVIDES CARE TO PERSONS COVERED BY GOVERNMENTAL PROGRAMS AT BELOW COST AND TO INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE UNABLE TO PAY. THE UNREIMBURSED VALUE OF PROVIDING CARE TO THESE PATIENTS WAS 155,497 FOR CHARITY CARE, 5,513,357 FOR MEDICARE, 2,981,385 FOR MEDICAID, AND 9,365,636 FOR OTHER THIRD PARTY PAYORS FOR THE YEAR.

    Expenses $15,866,805 · Revenue $22,313,337

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • MONICA SHELDON

    CEO (ENDED 1

    Total calculated
    $228,386
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $228,386
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $228,386 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    not reported + $228,386 related
  • GARY KARTCHNER

    CEO (BEG. 11

    Total calculated
    $237,687
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $221,259
    Other
    $16,428
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $221,259 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $16,428 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $237,687 related
  • LAUREL KIBLER

    NURSE PRACTI

    Total calculated
    $221,079
    From this org
    $206,475
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,604
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $142,154
    Bonus
    $64,321
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $323
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,281
    Filer's total
    $221,079
  • KIMBERLY AGUIRRE

    DIR. OF SUPP

    Total calculated
    $174,141
    From this org
    $165,561
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,580
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $151,948
    Bonus
    $13,613
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $1,154
    Nontaxable benefits
    $7,426
    Filer's total
    $174,141
  • TREVOR JONES

    NURSE PRACTI

    Total calculated
    $165,527
    From this org
    $158,985
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,542
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $130,665
    Bonus
    $18,320
    Other
    $10,000
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $6,542
    Filer's total
    $165,527
  • MICHAEL PAYNE

    PHYSICAL THE

    Total calculated
    $169,622
    From this org
    $146,489
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $23,133
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $146,489
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $1,110
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,023
    Filer's total
    $169,622
  • JAMES KRAYKOVICH

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $164,155
    From this org
    $143,148
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,007
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $131,350
    Bonus
    $11,798
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,007
    Filer's total
    $164,155
  • KRISTIAN ABARCA

    NURSE PRACTI

    Total calculated
    $150,749
    From this org
    $129,244
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,505
    Hours/week
    30

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $95,001
    Bonus
    $34,243
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,505
    Filer's total
    $150,749
  • DANIEL WILSON

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • BOB GLEASON-MOORE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • CAROL DUNAGAN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • DAWN WALKER

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • JAY KATZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • JULIA STRANGE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • MICHELLE MINTA

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 7
PURSUANT TO THE HOSPITAL'S EMPLOYEE AGREEMENT WITH THE CEO, AN ANNUAL INCENTIVE BONUS MAY BE PAID. THIS BONUS IS DEPENDENT ON THE ORGANIZATION'S OVERALL FINANCIAL CONDITION AND THE CEO'S ACHIEVEMENT OF A VARIETY OF PREVIOUSLY ESTABLISHED GOALS RELATED TO COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT, EMPLOYEE DEVELOPMENT, OPERATIONAL COMPLIANCE, INDUSTRY KNOWLEDGE, AND THE IMPLEMENTATION OF NEW PROGRAMS. NO BONUS PAYMENT WAS MADE THIS TAX YEAR.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Related corporations and trusts

Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
11 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202503179349304970

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.