Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by PRESBYTERIAN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $153,189,486
- Total expenses
- $168,186,348
- Contributions and grants received
- $5,101,281
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $147,784,349
- Investment income
- $303,856
- Other revenue
- $0
- Total assets, end of year
- $555,198,268
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $442,716,241
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $112,482,027
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $138,995,048
- Management and general expenses
- $28,564,461
- Fundraising expenses
- $626,839
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $138,995,048
Program services were 82.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$1,743,562
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$3,357,719
-
1g · Noncash contributions included above
$4,810
-
2a · Program service revenue: MONTHLY FEES
total $90,724,189 · related or exempt $90,724,189
-
2b · Program service revenue: MEDICARE/MEDICAID PAYMENT
total $32,630,352 · related or exempt $32,630,352
-
2c · Program service revenue: EARNED ENTRANCE FEES
total $22,628,366 · related or exempt $22,628,366
-
2d · Program service revenue: OTHER
total $1,209,828 · related or exempt $1,209,828
-
2e · Program service revenue: RENTS
total $591,614 · related or exempt $591,614
-
3 · Investment income
total $535,582 · excluded $535,582
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
securities $13,820,273
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
securities $13,318,532 · other assets $733,467
-
7c · Gain or loss
securities $501,741 · other assets -$733,467
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$231,726 · related or exempt -$733,467 · excluded $501,741
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $62,431,602 · program services $55,277,111 · management and general $7,154,491
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $1,075,955 · program services $931,101 · management and general $144,854
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $5,420,631 · program services $4,930,029 · management and general $490,602
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $4,326,501 · program services $3,815,232 · management and general $511,269
-
11a · Fees: management
total $7,835,484 · program services $1,880,516 · management and general $5,328,129 · fundraising $626,839
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $250,838 · management and general $250,838
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $741,590 · management and general $741,590
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $1,905,159 · management and general $1,905,159
-
13 · Office expenses
total $623,494 · management and general $623,494
-
16 · Occupancy
total $6,222,666 · program services $6,222,666
-
17 · Travel
total $45,185 · management and general $45,185
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $100,072 · program services $22,184 · management and general $77,888
-
20 · Interest
total $10,473,092 · program services $10,473,092
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $21,928,809 · program services $21,928,809
-
23 · Insurance
total $4,437,152 · management and general $4,437,152
-
24a · Other expenses: MEDICAL SUPPLIES
total $7,751,991 · program services $7,751,991
-
24b · Other expenses: FOOD
total $6,247,924 · program services $6,247,924
-
24c · Other expenses: OUTSIDE SERVICE CONTRACTS
total $6,029,945 · program services $5,940,906 · management and general $89,039
-
24d · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL & MAINT
total $4,848,555 · program services $4,585,155 · management and general $263,400
-
24e · All other expenses
total $15,489,703 · program services $8,988,332 · management and general $6,501,371
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $3,900 · end of year $3,900
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $7,809,201 · end of year $11,981,845
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $7,724,849 · end of year $8,745,232
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $12,127,047 · end of year $16,440,589
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $336,549 · end of year $390,040
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $658,139 · end of year $692,945
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$645,533,831
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$319,751,875
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $302,665,341 · end of year $325,781,956
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $17,294,622 · end of year $5,637,179
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $205,402,762 · end of year $185,524,582
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $13,343,509 · end of year $15,111,571
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $1,743,562
-
20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities
beginning of year $210,876,610 · end of year $207,448,105
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $200,149,627 · end of year $220,156,565
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $71,891,794 · end of year $60,298,828
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $56,017,308 · end of year $52,183,199
Listed in Part VII
-
JOHN HILLENMEYER
CHAIRMAN
- Total calculated
- $0
-
TERENCE ROGERS
CEO/PRESIDEN
- Total calculated
- $700,873
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $664,385
- Other
- $36,488
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- not reported + $568,283 related
- Bonus
- not reported + $76,309 related
- Other
- not reported + $19,793 related
- Deferred
- not reported + $24,156 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported + $12,332 related
- Filer's total
- not reported + $700,873 related
-
HENRY T KEITH
CFO/TREASUR/
- Total calculated
- $555,037
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $530,394
- Other
- $24,643
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- not reported + $454,118 related
- Bonus
- not reported + $50,447 related
- Other
- not reported + $25,829 related
- Deferred
- not reported + $13,663 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported + $10,980 related
- Filer's total
- not reported + $555,037 related
-
GARRY HENNIS
COO/EXECUTIV
- Total calculated
- $485,460
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $464,464
- Other
- $20,996
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- not reported + $399,639 related
- Bonus
- not reported + $42,266 related
- Other
- not reported + $22,559 related
- Deferred
- not reported + $10,016 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported + $10,980 related
- Filer's total
- not reported + $485,460 related
-
MEGAN FAUBEL
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
-
STEPHEN DYE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
GREG BUSTLE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
WILLIAM BELL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
DONALD DODDRIDGE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
JEFFREY S MOCK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
LINDA SHELLEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
CARLEN MADDUX
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
JOHN MARK RAMSEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
JOHN DEBEVOISE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MARK WEAVER
DIRECTOR OF
- Total calculated
- $177,820
- From this org
- $161,752
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $16,068
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $95,834
- Bonus
- $18,200
- Other
- $47,718
- Deferred
- $6,051
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,017
- Filer's total
- $177,820
-
NANCY MAGNUSON
DIRECTOR OF
- Total calculated
- $141,358
- From this org
- $132,117
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,241
- Hours/week
- 40
-
CHERYL WHIGHAM
DIRECTOR OF
- Total calculated
- $197,046
- From this org
- $186,950
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $10,096
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $103,292
- Bonus
- $39,200
- Other
- $44,458
- Deferred
- $3,493
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,603
- Filer's total
- $197,046
-
TRISHA GLACCUM
SALES COUNSE
- Total calculated
- $173,878
- From this org
- $161,600
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,278
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $54,915
- Bonus
- $43,400
- Other
- $63,285
- Deferred
- $5,962
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,316
- Filer's total
- $173,878
-
PAMELA ROBY
DIRECTOR OF
- Total calculated
- $154,920
- From this org
- $143,309
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $11,611
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $87,687
- Bonus
- $17,500
- Other
- $38,122
- Deferred
- $3,076
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,535
- Filer's total
- $154,920
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
None.
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3
- THE ORGANIZATION RELIED ON A RELATED ORGANIZATION (WESTMINSTER SERVICES, INC. 59-3614812) FOR THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE, COMPENSATION SURVEY OR STUDY, AND APPROVAL BY THE BOARD OR COMPENSATION COMMITTEE.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
PALM SHORES RETIREMENT COMM INC
501C3 · HOME AGED · FL · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
PENSACOLA RETIREMENT VILLAGE III
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
PENSACOLA RETIREMENT VILLAGE IV
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
PENSACOLA RETIREMENT VILLAGE V
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
RIVERSIDE PRESBYTERIAN APARTMENTS
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
RIVERSIDE PRESBYTERIAN HOUSE INC
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
SUNCOAST MANOR RETIREMENT COMM INC
501C3 · HOME AGED · FL · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HOME AGED · FL · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
WESTMINSTER FOUNDATION III INC
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by NA
-
501C3 · HOME AGED · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
WESTMINSTER RETIRE COMM FOUNDATION
501C3 · PUBFOUNDAT · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
WESTMINSTER RETIREMENT COMM INC
501C3 · PARENT CO. · FL
Directly controlled by NA
-
WESTMINSTER SENIOR SERVICES INC
501C3 · SENIOR SVC · FL
Directly controlled by NA
-
501C3 · MANAGEMENT · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HOME AGED · FL · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
501C3 · HUD COMM · FL
Directly controlled by WESTMINSTE R RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Disregarded entities
Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.
-
HOME AGED · FL · income $13,373,836 · assets $19,516,741
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
HOME AGED · FL · income $29,330,539 · assets $45,279,731
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
HOME AGED · FL · income $45,854,867 · assets $186,599,512
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
HOME AGED · FL · income $22,556,553 · assets $58,644,271
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
-
HOME AGED · FL · income $40,263,264 · assets $143,061,974
Directly controlled by PRESBYTERI AN RETIREMENT COMMUNITIES INC
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 6 February 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202430449349300203
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.