Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← COPPER STATE CREDIT UNION

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by COPPER STATE CREDIT UNION.

Totals

Total revenue
$38,066,785
Total expenses
$37,232,387
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$35,227,556
Investment income
$2,839,229
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$592,078,886
Total liabilities, end of year
$555,993,442
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$36,085,444
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: INCOME ON LOANS

    total $26,263,788 · related or exempt $26,263,788

  • 2b · Program service revenue: FEES, CHARGES, & OTHER

    total $8,733,105 · related or exempt $8,733,105

  • 2c · Program service revenue: FINANCE & INSURANCE

    total $230,663 · unrelated business $230,663

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $2,846,502 · excluded $2,846,502

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    other assets $22,771

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    other assets $30,044

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    other assets -$7,273

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$7,273 · related or exempt -$7,273

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $674,341

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $9,455,065

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $360,654

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $992,043

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $683,996

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total -$33,573

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $212,600

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $1,465,945

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $3,784,504

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $1,263,862

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $901,150

  • 17 · Travel

    total $13,418

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $184,751

  • 20 · Interest

    total $7,622,779

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $259,773

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,159,607

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $70,929

  • 24a · Other expenses: PLL

    total $2,660,733

  • 24b · Other expenses: DECONVERSION COSTS

    total $2,060,742

  • 24c · Other expenses: DEBIT/CREDIT CARD EXPEN

    total $1,834,951

  • 24d · Other expenses: COLLECTIONS

    total $651,383

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $952,734

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $3,001,561 · end of year $2,146,065

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $8,213,476 · end of year $32,973,204

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,676,147 · end of year $788,675

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $7,603,657 · end of year $7,699,578

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $447,994,895 · end of year $427,182,536

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $581,260 · end of year $845,439

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $27,440,747

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $5,521,781

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $20,552,938 · end of year $21,918,966

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $90,152,134 · end of year $79,688,334

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $3,278,993 · end of year $2,909,490

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $14,435,442 · end of year $15,926,599

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $11,962,485 · end of year $13,211,201

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $33,000,000 · end of year $18,000,000

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $517,933,504 · end of year $524,782,241

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $34,594,514 · end of year $36,085,444

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

OUR VISION IS TO ELEVATE THE FINANCIAL STRENGTH OF ARIZONA FAMILIES THROUGH EVERY SEASON OF LIFE. OUR MISSION IS TO ENABLE OUR MEMBERS' FAMILIES TO ACHIEVE FINANCIAL PROSPERITY AND STRENGTHENING ARIZONA FAMILIES THROUGH FINANCIAL EMPOWERMENT.

Activities or mission (Part I)

OUR MISSION IS TO ENABLE OUR MEMBER FAMILIES TO ACHIEVE FINANCIAL PROSPERITY.

  • PROVIDED CREDIT IN 2024 TO 3,249 MEMBERS FOR $120,805,039. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2024, 15,579 MEMBERS HAD $432,492,491 IN OUTSTANDING LOANS.

  • PROMOTE THRIFT TO 43,441 MEMBERS WITH TOTAL DEPOSITS OF $524,782,241 AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2024.

  • PROVIDE FINANCIAL SERVICES, INCLUDING CHECKING ACCOUNTS, ATM/DEBIT CARDS, CREDIT CARDS, SAVINGS ACCOUNTS, CERTIFICATES OF DEPOSIT AND MONEY MARKET ACCOUNTS.

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Lorenzo Sierra

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $4,431
    From this org
    $4,431
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Paul Waterman

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $4,100
    From this org
    $4,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Andrew Roberts

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $2,150
    From this org
    $2,150
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Erica Gibbons

    VICE CHAIRPERSON

    Total calculated
    $3,450
    From this org
    $3,450
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Andrea Northup

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $900
    From this org
    $900
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Stadnik

    COMMITTEE MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,250
    From this org
    $2,250
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Melanie Merrill

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $1,150
    From this org
    $1,150
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dennis McDonald

    CHAIRPERSON

    Total calculated
    $5,200
    From this org
    $5,200
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tillie Jones

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $1,450
    From this org
    $1,450
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Janet Burgett Martin

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $3,500
    From this org
    $3,500
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Albert Dubowa

    COMMITTEE MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,250
    From this org
    $2,250
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • David Matson

    COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON

    Total calculated
    $2,350
    From this org
    $2,350
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Harshad Desai

    COMMITTEE MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,200
    From this org
    $2,200
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lupe Harriger

    COMMITTEE MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,050
    From this org
    $2,050
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Frank Martinson

    COMMITTEE MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,250
    From this org
    $2,250
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Wing-Ho Choi

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $3,900
    From this org
    $3,900
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Joseph

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $3,250
    From this org
    $3,250
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Colleen Curtis Miller

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $2,300
    From this org
    $2,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Scott

    PRESIDENT/CEO

    Total calculated
    $441,477
    From this org
    $406,765
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $34,712
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $383,937
    Bonus
    $19,205
    Other
    $3,623
    Deferred
    $17,250
    Nontaxable benefits
    $17,462
    Filer's total
    $441,477
  • Monica Solo

    CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $183,733
    From this org
    $163,106
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,627
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $161,653
    Bonus
    $950
    Other
    $503
    Deferred
    $8,299
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,328
    Filer's total
    $183,733
  • Teresa Trostel

    CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $189,458
    From this org
    $167,247
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $22,211
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $148,956
    Bonus
    $17,794
    Other
    $497
    Deferred
    $8,548
    Nontaxable benefits
    $13,663
    Filer's total
    $189,458
  • Anthony D'Astice

    WEALTH MANAGEMENT

    Total calculated
    $209,244
    From this org
    $183,697
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $25,547
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $36,944
    Bonus
    $146,400
    Other
    $353
    Deferred
    $9,662
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,885
    Filer's total
    $209,244
  • Gregory Albano

    SVP CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $438,002
    From this org
    $198,686
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $239,316
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $174,543
    Bonus
    $21,621
    Other
    $2,522
    Deferred
    $221,554
    Nontaxable benefits
    $17,762
    Filer's total
    $438,002
  • Richard Reiley

    SVP CHIEF LENDING OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $221,761
    From this org
    $203,556
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $18,205
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $179,058
    Bonus
    $20,739
    Other
    $3,759
    Deferred
    $10,248
    Nontaxable benefits
    $7,957
    Filer's total
    $221,761
  • Amy Singpradith

    SVP CHIEF HR OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $198,203
    From this org
    $172,849
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $25,354
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $153,011
    Bonus
    $19,094
    Other
    $744
    Deferred
    $6,389
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,965
    Filer's total
    $198,203

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Travel for companions
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

PART I, LINE 4B
THE CEO, ROBERT SCOTT, PARTICIPATES IN A SPLIT DOLLAR COLLATERAL INSURANCE SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT PLAN. THE CREDIT UNION ISSUED A LOAN TO ROBERT SCOTT FOR THE PURPOSE OF PURCHASING AN INSURANCE POLICY THAT WILL BE USED TO FUND HIS DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN. THE LOANS RELATED TO THIS ARRANGEMENT ARE REPORTED ON SCHEDULE L. GREGORY ALBANO PARTICIPATES IN A NON-QUALIFIED 457(F) DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN. DURING 2024, THE CREDIT UNION ACCRUED $211,256 TOWARD THE FUTURE BENEFIT OBLIGATION.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
13 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202533189349316103

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.