- Revenue 2024
- $4,528,971
- Expenses 2024
- $4,908,142
Program services were 74.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B99
- Classification
- 2000
- Street
- 333 N MICHIGAN AVE 1000
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
BLOCK CLUB CHICAGO IS A NONPROFIT NEWS ORGANIZATION DEDICATED TO DELIVERING RELIABLE, NONPARTISAN AND ESSENTIAL COVERAGE OF CHICAGO'S DIVERSE NEIGHBORHOODS.
-
BLOCK CLUB IS THE MOST PROLIFIC HYPERLOCAL NEWS OPERATION IN THE CHICAGO AREA. WE'VE PUBLISHED MORE THAN 25,000 STORIES ON CHICAGO'S NEIGHBORHOODS, COVERED HUNDREDS OF COMMUNITY MEETINGS AND SEND OUR NEWSLETTER OUT TO MORE THAN 112,000 PEOPLE DAILY.BLOCK CLUB BELIEVES ALL NEIGHBORHOODS DESERVE TO BE COVERED IN A MEANINGFUL WAY. WE AMPLIFY POSITIVE STORIES, SHOW UP TO DEVELOPMENT AND LOCAL SCHOOL COUNCIL MEETINGS AND SERVE AS WATCHDOG IN NEIGHBORHOODS THAT ARE OFTEN OSTRACIZED BY TRADITIONAL NEWS MEDIA.OUR REPORTERS DON'T PARACHUTE IN ONCE TO COVER A STORY. THEY ARE IN THE NEIGHBORHOODS THEY COVER EVERY DAY BUILDING RELATIONSHIPS OVER TIME WITH NEIGHBORS. WE BELIEVE THIS GROUND-LEVEL APPROACH NOT ONLY BUILDS COMMUNITY BUT LEADS TO A MORE ACCURATE PORTRAYAL OF A NEIGHBORHOODS.
Expenses $3,652,721 · Revenue $1,269,561
As filed on the 2024 return.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Laura WashingtonLAURA WASHINGTON
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Brant HoustonBRANT HOUSTON
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Dan IsraeliteDAN ISRAELITE
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Charles F WhitakerCHARLES F WHITAKER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Sue CrossSUE CROSS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Shamus ToomeySHAMUS TOOMEY
EDITOR-IN-CHIEF
- Total calculated
- $163,391
- From this org
- $163,391
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $163,391
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $163,391
-
Jennifer SabellaJENNIFER SABELLA
DIRECTOR OF STRATEGY
- Total calculated
- $163,631
- From this org
- $163,631
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $163,631
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $163,631
-
Stephanie Norine LulaySTEPHANIE NORINE LULAY
MANAGING EDITOR
- Total calculated
- $152,504
- From this org
- $152,504
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $152,504
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $0
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $152,504
-
Michael DumkeMICHAEL DUMKE
INVESTIGATIVE EDITOR
- Total calculated
- $103,739
- From this org
- $103,739
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Elizabeth TufanoELIZABETH TUFANO
EMPLOYEE
- Total calculated
- $131,176
- From this org
- $131,176
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Kelly BauerKELLY BAUER
SENIOR EDITOR
- Total calculated
- $100,042
- From this org
- $100,042
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Janet FullerJANET FULLER
MANAGING EDITOR
- Total calculated
- $133,255
- From this org
- $133,255
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Zack HeydornZACK HEYDORN
DIRECTOR OF SALES
- Total calculated
- $131,054
- From this org
- $131,054
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $4,528,971
- Expenses
- $4,908,142
- Contributions
- $2,875,917
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $3,194,646
- Expenses
- $3,865,946
- Contributions
- $1,739,480
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $4,658,944
- Expenses
- $2,440,100
- Contributions
- $3,384,174
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $2,107,050
- Expenses
- $1,814,815
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,630,325
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,799,866
- Expenses
- $1,373,330
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,224,016
-
2020 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,098,067
- Expenses
- $1,010,148
- Assets (EOY)
- $671,942
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $921,675
- Expenses
- $636,239
- Assets (EOY)
- $405,401
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
$1,600,000
2022 FOR BLOCK CLUB CHICAGO'S INVESTIGATIVE COVERAGE OF AND FOR CHICAGO'S SOUTH AND WEST SIDES
-
AMERICAN JOURNALISM PROJECT INC
$537,400
2023 TO GROW AND DIVERSIFY REVENUE AND TO ADVANCE TOWARD A SUSTAINABLE MODEL FOR LOCAL NEWS.
-
$531,000
2022 General Operating Support, in support of the production of news stories and community partnerships that result in the publication of stories South and West side residents identify as important to increasing connections and facilitating collective dialogues on issues that disproportionately impact their communities, from the Searle Funds at The Chicago Community Trust., in support of Block Club Chicago NFP's increased news reporting and amplified coverage of issues related to housing and homeownership on the South and West sides of Chicago, In support of increased news coverage and reporting of issues related to community safety and well-being
-
AMERICAN JOURNALISM PROJECT INC
$396,800
2022 TO GROW AND DIVERSIFY REVENUE AND TO ADVANCE TOWARD A SUSTAINABLE MODEL FOR LOCAL NEWS.
-
AMERICAN JOURNALISM PROJECT INC
$369,963
2024 TO GROW AND DIVERSIFY REVENUE AND TO ADVANCE TOWARD A SUSTAINABLE MODEL FOR LOCAL NEWS.
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
$101,000
2024 General support for programs, operations and other charitable purposes
-
$50,000
2022 READER REVENUE INITIATIVE
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$46,970
2024 PUBLIC, SOCIETAL BENEFIT
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.