Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

MERCY HOSPITAL

EIN 45-0226553 PHOENIX, AZ

Revenue 2023
$15,365,225
Expenses 2023
$13,978,322

Program services were 93.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E220
Classification
1700
Street
3033 N 3RD AVE

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Group exemption

A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us

The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

AS AN AFFILIATE OF COMMONSPIRIT HEALTH, WE MAKE THE HEALING PRESENCE OF GOD KNOWN IN OUR WORLD BY IMPROVING THE HEALTH OF THE PEOPLE WE SERVE, ESPECIALLY THOSE WHO ARE VULNERABLE, WHILE WE ADVANCE SOCIAL JUSTICE FOR ALL. TO FULFILL THIS MISSION, THE CORPORATION, AS A VALUES-BASED ORGANIZATION, WILL ASSURE THE INTEGRITY OF THE MINISTRY IN BOTH CURRENT AND DEVELOPING ORGANIZATIONS AND ACTIVITIES; RESEARCH AND DEVELOP NEW MINISTRIES THAT INTEGRATE HEALTH, EDUCATION, PASTORAL, AND SOCIAL SERVICES; PROMOTE LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT AND FORMATION FOR MINISTRY THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE ORGANIZATION; ADVOCATE FOR SYSTEMIC CHANGES WITH SPECIFIC CONCERN FOR PERSONS WHO ARE POOR, ALIENATED, AND UNDERSERVED; AND STEWARD RESOURCES BY GENERAL OVERSIGHT OF THE ENTIRE ORGANIZATION.

Activities or mission (Part I)

MERCY HOSPITAL OF VALLEY CITY IS A CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITAL SERVING A LARGE GEOGRAPHICAL AREA. COMMUNITY BENEFITS INCLUDE: UNCOMPENSATED CARE, MEDICAL EDUCATION AND AWARENESS, SUPPORT SERVICES, AND COMMUNITY OUTREACH.

  • SEE SCHEDULE H

    Expenses $13,023,365 · Grants $71,245 · Revenue $13,169,013

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JULIE GOEBEL

    BOARD MEMBER/DIVISION SVP COO (PARTIAL YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $1,020,400
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $964,934
    Other
    $55,466
    Hours/week
    1 + 49 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $515,562 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $448,209 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,163 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $19,175 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $36,291 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $1,020,400 related
  • DAVID JONES

    BOARD MEMBER/MARKET PRESIDENT, CENTRAL REGION

    Total calculated
    $514,309
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $460,692
    Other
    $53,617
    Hours/week
    1 + 49 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $303,052 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $156,175 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,465 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $19,175 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $34,442 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $514,309 related
  • TIM SCHNACK

    MARKET CFO

    Total calculated
    $417,768
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $369,715
    Other
    $48,053
    Hours/week
    1 + 49 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $290,959 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $74,901 related
    Other
    $0 + $3,855 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $19,529 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $28,524 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $417,768 related
  • NICK O'TOOL

    MARKET CFO (PARTIAL YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $399,969
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $349,020
    Other
    $50,949
    Hours/week
    4 + 46 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $252,554 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $96,047 related
    Other
    $0 + $419 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $16,660 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $34,289 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $399,969 related
  • REBECCA THOMPSON

    FORMER INTERIM PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $367,805
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $343,425
    Other
    $24,380
    Hours/week
    0 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $214,193 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $117,547 related
    Other
    $0 + $11,685 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $13,784 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $10,596 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $367,805 related
  • D RYAN FOWLER

    BOARD MEMBER/PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $316,919
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $272,205
    Other
    $44,714
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $180,296 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $91,368 related
    Other
    $0 + $541 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $12,159 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $32,555 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $316,919 related
  • CLARK KRUTA

    CRNA

    Total calculated
    $288,234
    From this org
    $234,019
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $54,215
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $229,311
    Bonus
    $800
    Other
    $3,908
    Deferred
    $14,795
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,420
    Filer's total
    $288,234
  • AMBER STOMAN

    TREASURER/VP FINANCE

    Total calculated
    $265,888
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $221,301
    Other
    $44,587
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $195,050 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $25,800 related
    Other
    $0 + $451 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $14,252 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $30,335 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $265,888 related
  • BETH SMITH

    TREASURER (PARTIAL YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $199,476
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $158,338
    Other
    $41,138
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $126,334 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $31,251 related
    Other
    $0 + $753 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $9,253 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $31,885 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $199,476 related
  • ALANA MCCLELLAN

    MANAGER, EMERGENCY SERVICES

    Total calculated
    $176,103
    From this org
    $147,582
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $28,521
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $131,530
    Bonus
    $15,259
    Other
    $793
    Deferred
    $8,188
    Nontaxable benefits
    $20,333
    Filer's total
    $176,103
  • COLLEEN JONES

    VP, PATIENT CARE SERVICES

    Total calculated
    $174,416
    From this org
    $153,772
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,644
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $121,798
    Bonus
    $30,585
    Other
    $1,389
    Deferred
    $8,305
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,339
    Filer's total
    $174,416
  • AMY NOESKE

    PHARMACY MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $170,793
    From this org
    $135,203
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $35,590
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $119,088
    Bonus
    $15,375
    Other
    $740
    Deferred
    $6,656
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,934
    Filer's total
    $170,793
  • CAMILLE SETTELMEYER

    FORMER OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $167,183
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $147,170
    Other
    $20,013
    Hours/week
    0 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $109,171 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $36,832 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,167 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $10,545 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $9,468 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $167,183 related
  • CARLA MORRISON

    MANAGER PHARMACY

    Total calculated
    $145,473
    From this org
    $20,388
    From related orgs
    $120,505
    Other
    $4,580
    Hours/week
    40
  • KAYLA BEILKE

    BOARD SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $61,242
    From this org
    $48,624
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $12,618
    Hours/week
    40
  • ALAN LAFAVE

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CASEY STOUDT

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • TIM OST

    BOARD MEMBER (PARTIAL YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • FREDRICK MITZEL MD

    VICE CHAIR (PARTIAL YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • TYLER MARTHALER

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $15,365,225
    Expenses
    $13,978,322
    Contributions
    $68,239
    Grants paid
    $71,245
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $14,048,871
    Expenses
    $13,285,786
    Contributions
    $83,946
    Grants paid
    $28,725

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $14,959,731
    Expenses
    $13,751,559
    Assets (EOY)
    $46,786,903
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $15,231,866
    Expenses
    $11,545,758
    Assets (EOY)
    $49,620,792
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,973,448
    Expenses
    $12,224,444
    Assets (EOY)
    $41,344,654
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,803,017
    Expenses
    $12,322,099
    Assets (EOY)
    $33,197,052
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $15,372,769
    Expenses
    $12,942,740
    Assets (EOY)
    $30,399,579
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $14,814,431
    Expenses
    $12,656,850
    Assets (EOY)
    $27,815,828
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,900,927
    Expenses
    $12,097,846
    Assets (EOY)
    $24,700,834
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $15,787,295
    Expenses
    $13,910,102
    Assets (EOY)
    $24,737,177
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $11,920,095
    Assets (EOY)
    $21,350,697

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related partnerships on its 2023 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists the rest.

Related corporations and trusts on its 2023 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists the rest.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.