Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

CENTER FOR PLANNING EXCELLENCE INC

EIN 20-3827040 BATON ROUGE, LA

Revenue 2024
$4,725,440
Expenses 2024
$3,806,285

Program services were 70.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
M20
Classification
1200
Street
757 MAIN ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

TO COORDINATE URBAN, RURAL AND REGIONAL PLANNING EFFORTS IN LOUISIANA. WE PROVIDE BEST-PRACTICE PLANNING MODELS, INNOVATIVE POLICY IDEAS AND TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE TO INDIVIDUAL COMMUNITIES.

Activities or mission (Part I)

CPEX BRINGS PEOPLE, CULTURE AND PLANNING TOGETHER TO MAKE GREAT COMMUNITIES HAPPEN.

  • RESILIENT COASTAL COMMUNITIES

    Expenses $1,635,697 · Grants $605,000 · Revenue $2,343,263

  • COMMUNITY PLANNING

    Expenses $906,983 · Grants $12,600 · Revenue $2,001,579

  • COMMUNICATIONS

    Expenses $139,221

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Robert Schneck

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kelsey Kornick

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gordon Leblanc

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cordell Haymon

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Preston Castil

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jim Brandt

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Steve Cochran

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brenna Benson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mary Landrieu

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Erin Monroe

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Paul Rainwater

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ashley Shelton

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Twilley

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ebony Starks

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Verchic

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Susan C Mannin

    PRESIDENT, CEO

    Total calculated
    $211,030
    From this org
    $211,030
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jessica Kemp

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $151,513
    From this org
    $151,513
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $151,513
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $151,513
  • jeannette dubi

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $136,448
    From this org
    $136,448
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • kim marousek

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $140,410
    From this org
    $140,410
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jerry Lemoine

    gvrmnt affairs

    Total calculated
    $104,018
    From this org
    $104,018
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Lauren Marscha

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $112,023
    From this org
    $112,023
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $4,725,440
    Expenses
    $3,806,285
    Contributions
    $136,733
    Grants paid
    $617,600
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $3,572,073
    Expenses
    $2,656,951
    Contributions
    $156,317
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $2,391,688
    Expenses
    $2,358,776
    Contributions
    $284,976
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,315,226
    Expenses
    $1,817,315
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,415,217
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,701,191
    Expenses
    $2,356,353
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,121,162
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,637,952
    Expenses
    $1,617,297
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,412,661
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,174,394
    Expenses
    $2,096,347
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,405,930
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,705,066
    Expenses
    $1,719,044
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,171,422
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,633,036
    Expenses
    $1,686,930
    Assets (EOY)
    $931,124
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,396,551
    Expenses
    $1,609,132
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,010,279
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,809,825
    Expenses
    $1,670,324
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,282,768
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,545,453
    Expenses
    $1,446,017
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,204,049
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,437,997
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,293,355

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.