- Revenue 2023
- $27,301,896
- Expenses 2023
- $24,634,728
Program services were 83.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 44 MAIN ST STE 200
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
TO PROMOTE, PRESERVE AND RESTORE THE HEALTH OF PERSONS RESIDING IN NORTHWESTERN VERMONT.
-
NOTCH'S LARGEST PROGRAM SERVICES, AS MEASURED BY TOTAL EXPENSES INCURRED, ARE COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH SERVICES DELIVERED TO MORE THAN 21,000 PATIENTS OF ALL AGES. OUR FEDERALLY QUALIFIED HEALTH CENTER (FQHC) SERVES THE GENERAL POPULATION OF 15 TOWNS IN VERMONT'S FRANKLIN AND GRAND ISLE COUNTIES AT FACILITIES SITUATED IN ALBURGH, ENOSBURG, FAIRFAX, GEORGIA, RICHFORD, SWANTON, AND ST. ALBANS. NOTCH OFFERS PRIMARY MEDICAL, BEHAVIORAL, AND SUPPORT SERVICES AT ALL LOCATIONS AND DENTAL SERVICES IN RICHFORD AND SWANTON. MEDICATION ASSISTED TREATMENT (MAT) SERVICES ARE DELIVERED IN ALL NOTCH COMMUNITIES. EITHER THROUGH DIRECT PROVISION OR ARRANGEMENT, NOTCH ENSURES ITS USERS ACCESS TO ALL SERVICES REQUIRED UNDER THE FEDERAL 330(E) PROGRAM, REGARDLESS OF ABILITY TO PAY. OUR HEALTH CARE TEAM WORKS FROM AN INTEGRATED HEALTH MODEL FOR MEDICAL AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES. NOTCH MEDICAL PROVIDERS WORK COLLABORATIVELY WITH BEHAVIORAL PROVIDERS TO DELIVER OPTIMUM CARE. INTEGRATED HEALTH SERVICES ARE DESIGNED TO MEET THE NEEDS OF THE ENTIRE FAMILY AND ADDRESS THE WHOLE PERSON. THESE SERVICES INCLUDE: PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS, IMMUNIZATIONS, CHRONIC DISEASE MANAGEMENT, ACUTE CARE, LABORATORY SERVICES, CARE COORDINATION, REFERRALS, BIRTH CONTROL, DOT PHYSICALS, COUNSELING, GOAL SETTING TO IMPROVE PERSONAL HEALTH, SYMPTOMS MANAGEMENT OF ANXIETY AND DEPRESSION, IDENTIFICATION OF MENTAL HEALTH BARRIERS TO MEET HEALTH CARE GOALS, AND MAT SERVICES.
Expenses $10,845,759 · Revenue $11,419,520
-
DENTAL - NOTCH PROVIDES GENERAL DENTAL SERVICES TO PEOPLE OF ALL AGES. PREVENTIVE TREATMENT AND PRIMARY DENTAL CARE SERVICES INCLUDE: CLEANINGS, EXAMS, X-RAYS, FLUORIDE APPLICATIONS, SEALANTS, FILLINGS (AMALGAM AND COMPOSITE), ROOT CANALS, EXTRACTIONS, DENTURES, AND CROWNS.
Expenses $3,519,865 · Revenue $3,132,067
-
PHARMACY - THE ORGANIZATION OWNS AND OPERATES FOUR PHARMACIES THAT ARE OPEN TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC IN RICHFORD, SWANTON, FAIRFAX, AND ST. ALBANS AND IS PART-OWNER OF A MAIL ORDER PHARMACY BASED IN CHITTENDEN COUNTY THAT SERVES FQHC PATIENTS EXCLUSIVELY. NOTCH ALSO CONTRACTS WITH MULTIPLE INDEPENDENT PHARMACIES ACROSS FRANKLIN COUNTY TO DISPENSE MEDICATIONS TO OUR FQHC PATIENTS PURCHASED THROUGH THE US FEDERAL GOVERNMENT 340B DRUG PRICING PROGRAM. MEDICATION PACKAGING IS OFFERED AT OUR PHARMACY IN RICHFORD AND AT THE MAIL ORDER PHARMACY. A SLIDING FEE DISCOUNT PROGRAM IS AVAILABLE TO ELIGIBLE NOTCH PATIENTS AT ALL OWNED PHARMACIES.
Expenses $5,252,487 · Revenue $7,286,849
-
OTHER INCOME INCLUDING MANAGEMENT SERVICE FEES AND COMMUNITY BENEFIT PROGRAMS INCLUDING OPERATION OF GROCERY STORE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY AS NOTCH IS LOCATED IN A FOOD DESERT.
Expenses $1,038,179 · Revenue $820,728
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2023
As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
DAN CARSWELL
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MICHEL CONSEJO
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
WENDY HOWARD
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
MARIE LANGEVIN
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LISE GATES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SARAH HADD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DEBRA MASON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
VIRGINIA MESSIER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BRYANT REYNOLDS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
WALLACE STEINHOUR
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
NAOMI WOLCOTT-MACCAUSLAND
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PENNY WRIGHT
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROBERT ZELAZO MD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
KATHY BENOIT
CEO
- Total calculated
- $205,473
- From this org
- $196,901
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $8,572
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $196,901
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $7,872
- Nontaxable benefits
- $700
- Filer's total
- $205,473
-
AMANDA COMBS
CFO
- Total calculated
- $125,992
- From this org
- $113,521
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,471
- Hours/week
- 40
-
DR AUDREY VON LEPEL
MEDICAL DIRE
- Total calculated
- $232,196
- From this org
- $214,851
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,345
- Hours/week
- 30
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $214,851
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $7,311
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,034
- Filer's total
- $232,196
-
DR ERICK LAVALLEE
PHYSICIAN
- Total calculated
- $240,080
- From this org
- $227,763
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,317
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $227,763
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,317
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,000
- Filer's total
- $240,080
-
DR THERESE RAY
PHYSICIAN
- Total calculated
- $245,077
- From this org
- $219,788
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $25,289
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $219,788
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,111
- Nontaxable benefits
- $16,178
- Filer's total
- $245,077
-
DR MEGHRAISINH ATODARIA
DENTIST
- Total calculated
- $241,706
- From this org
- $210,536
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $31,170
- Hours/week
- 32
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $210,536
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $8,679
- Nontaxable benefits
- $22,491
- Filer's total
- $241,706
-
DR LISHA TANG
DENTIST
- Total calculated
- $238,784
- From this org
- $226,554
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,230
- Hours/week
- 32
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $226,554
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,230
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,000
- Filer's total
- $238,784
-
DR ETHAN HUNDLEY
PHYSICIAN
- Total calculated
- $263,305
- From this org
- $219,734
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $43,571
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $219,734
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,337
- Nontaxable benefits
- $34,234
- Filer's total
- $263,305
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2023
- Revenue
- $27,301,896
- Expenses
- $24,634,728
- Contributions
- $4,325,389
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $25,310,235
- Expenses
- $21,549,789
- Contributions
- $4,748,503
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $21,205,017
- Expenses
- $17,508,046
- Assets (EOY)
- $25,264,953
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $19,324,460
- Expenses
- $15,482,911
- Assets (EOY)
- $21,557,926
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $16,422,682
- Expenses
- $14,719,956
- Assets (EOY)
- $18,310,943
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $15,156,991
- Expenses
- $13,369,204
- Assets (EOY)
- $16,655,050
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $13,817,779
- Expenses
- $11,761,895
- Assets (EOY)
- $15,100,568
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $11,647,109
- Expenses
- $10,542,985
- Assets (EOY)
- $13,448,367
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $10,369,383
- Expenses
- $8,459,572
- Assets (EOY)
- $12,558,291
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
BI-STATE PRIMARY CARE ASSOC INC
$102,721
2022 Pass Through - US DHHS Healthcare Consortium (HO-22) - VT Dental Therapy (VW-22) - Pew Dental Therapy (PD-21)
-
BI-STATE PRIMARY CARE ASSOC INC
$57,167
2023 Pass Through - US DHHS Healthcare Consortium (HO-23) - Pew Dental Therapy (PD-21)
-
BI-STATE PRIMARY CARE ASSOC INC
$40,000
2024 Pass Through - US DHHS Healthcare Consortium (HO-24)
-
2023 IMMUNIZATION PROGRAM
-
$10,750
2024 Community Challenge Grant to support AARP's Livable Communities initiative
-
$9,000
2024 Food security & social connection
-
2024 SUPPORT TO US CLINICS & HEALTH CENTERS FOR LOW-INCOME, UNINSURED PATIENTS
-
2022 SUPPORT TO US CLINICS & HEALTH CENTERS FOR LOW-INCOME, UNINSURED PATIENTS
-
2023 SUPPORT TO US CLINICS & HEALTH CENTERS FOR LOW-INCOME, UNINSURED PATIENTS
Taxable family
From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.
Related partnerships on its 2023 return
-
RELATED · MERCHANT · VT · share of income -$178,695 · share of assets $457,247
-
EXCLUDED · RENTAL · VT · share of assets $61,887
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.