Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

CAPPER FOUNDATION

EIN 48-0543745 TOPEKA, KS

Revenue 2024
$17,016,770
Expenses 2024
$16,376,988

Program services were 90.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1200
Street
3500 SW 10TH AVE

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE MISSION OF CAPPER FOUNDATION IS TO BUILD ABILITIES AND EMPOWER PEOPLE OF ALL AGES LIVING WITH DISABILITIES.

  • In collaboration with families and medical, educational and community professionals, services were designed to build the abilities and independent life skills of persons with disabilities. Capper Foundation provides services to infants, children, teens and adults with developmental and intellectual disabilities. Some of these disabilities include: autism, cerebral palsy, sensory processing disorder, and other orthopedic and neurological conditions. Positive outcomes to enhance their independence were accomplished by creatively adapting and applying ideas, services, education, therapies and equipment, and by providing training for those who live and work with this special population. During this year, pediatric physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech/language therapy and behavior support services were conducted with 486 persons through outpatient and school contract services. Information and referral services were provided to 392 individuals. 150 people participated in therapeutic recreation activities. Residential services assisted 112 adults to live in a community setting. Adult day services provided 134 persons supports to engage in community based activities. 67 individuals participated in employment services.Pediatric parent support served 30 individuals. Emergency financial assistance was provided for 21 veterans with disabilities. Community services engaged 1,816 participants. Professional training activities included 1,316 participants.

    Expenses $14,888,173 · Revenue $1,780,362

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Zachary Ahrens

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $284,837
    From this org
    $259,407
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $25,430
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $200,359
    Bonus
    $54,200
    Other
    $4,848
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $25,430
    Filer's total
    $284,837
  • Sandy Warren

    VP, SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $195,440
    From this org
    $180,351
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,089
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $155,900
    Bonus
    $23,604
    Other
    $848
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,089
    Filer's total
    $195,441
  • Stephanie Broxterman

    CHIEF ADMINSTRATIVE OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $167,890
    From this org
    $161,223
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,667
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $138,491
    Bonus
    $22,620
    Other
    $112
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $6,667
    Filer's total
    $167,890
  • Bruce Akin

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Michelle Butler

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Lucky Defries

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Doug Kinsinger

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Jason McMillen

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Herman Jones

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Jay Ives

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Neil Dobler

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Barbara Barnard

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Shelley King

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Marie Pyko

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Jaena Greenwood

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Steve Knoll

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Ann Palmer

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Kellie Dougan

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Pam Walstrom

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $17,016,770
    Expenses
    $16,376,988
    Contributions
    $14,745,104
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $16,370,787
    Expenses
    $16,068,368
    Contributions
    $13,860,270
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $13,606,696
    Expenses
    $14,815,434
    Contributions
    $11,680,630
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $11,403,670
    Expenses
    $12,846,272
    Assets (EOY)
    $36,358,262
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,624,169
    Expenses
    $12,269,381
    Assets (EOY)
    $38,551,469
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,424,600
    Expenses
    $12,568,474
    Assets (EOY)
    $36,831,156
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,256,175
    Expenses
    $12,516,855
    Assets (EOY)
    $35,669,068
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,952,754
    Expenses
    $13,693,269
    Assets (EOY)
    $34,527,866

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.