- Revenue 2025
- $2,206,729
- Expenses 2025
- $2,470,095
Program services were 71.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E50
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 8420 WAKE FOREST HWY
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2025
Mission
HOPE REINS' VISION IS TO INSPIRE TRUE HOPE AND REAL HEALING FOR EVERY CHILD. AT OUR RANCH, WE PAIR CHILDREN AND TEENS EXPERIENCING TRAUMA WITH A RESCUED HORSE AND MENTOR TO FIND HOPE AND HEALING. THE FREE-OF-CHARGE INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP SESSIONS INCLUDE A FOCUS ON TRUST, COMMUNICATION, BOUNDARIES, AND LEADERSHIP WHICH ARE IMPORTANT FOR BOTH HEALING FROM TRAUMA AND BUILDING LIFE-LONG RESILIENCY. MANY OF THE HORSES AT HOPE REINS HAVE SUFFERED SIMILAR ABUSE, TRAUMA OR REJECTION AS THE CHILDREN WE SERVE. THE COMMONALITY THAT IS PRESENT OFTEN TRIGGERS AN INSTANT AND POWERFUL BOND BETWEEN HORSE AND CHILD. THE CONVERSATIONS FACILITATED BY A TRAINED MENTOR BETWEEN A HORSE AND A CLIENT PROVIDE MEANINGFUL OPPORTUNITIES FOR HEALING AND GROWTH IN THE KEY RESILIENCY SKILLS. OUR GOAL THROUGH SESSIONS IS TO GIVE THESE CHILDREN AN OPPORTUNITY FOR A SAFE RELATIONSHIP, ONE THAT FOSTERS AN ENVIRONMENT OF COMPASSION, COMFORT AND MOST IMPORTANTLY TRUST.
Activities or mission (Part I)
WE PAIR KIDS IN CRISIS WITH RESCUED HORSES AND MENTORS TO FIND HOPE AND HEALING.
-
IN 2025, THE PATHWAY TO RESILIENCE PROGRAM HELPED 297 HURTING KIDS HEAL THROUGH 3,506 SESSIONS, INCLUDING 207"PATHWAY" KIDS, OF WHICH A RECORD-BREAKING 80 WERE FIRST-YEAR ENROLLEES. PLUS, ANOTHER 90 KIDS FROM STRATEGIC PARTNERS LIKE DURHAM RESCUE MISSION AND BOYS & GIRLS CLUBS. THE KIDS IN THE PROGRAM ARE AGED 5 TO 18, HAVE INCREDIBLY DIVERSE BACKGROUNDS, AND MAY BE BLACK, WHITE, HISPANIC, ASIAN, OR ADOPTED FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY AND HAVE EXPERIENCED EITHER A SERIOUS TRAUMATIC EVENT OR HAVE FACED MULTIPLE ADVERSE CHILDHOOD EXPERIENCES. SOME TRAVEL TO OUR RANCH FROM AS FAR AWAY AS VIRGINIA AND SOUTH CAROLINA. THEY MAY RESIDE AT HOME WITH ONE OR BOTH PARENTS OR GRANDPARENTS OR THEY MAY LIVE WITH A FOSTER FAMILY OR IN A GROUP HOME. REGARDLESS OF FINANCIAL STATUS, WE SERVE ALL THESE FAMILIES AT NO COST TO THEM.
Expenses $1,595,304
-
ACADEMYIN 2025 WE TRAINED:150 SIMILAR RANCHES91 NEW LEADERS.HOPE REINS ACADEMY IS OUR TRAINING AND EQUIPPING PROGRAM. THROUGH THE ACADEMY, WE SHARE THE TOOLS, KNOWLEDGE, AND EXPERTISE WE'VE DEVELOPED SINCE 2010 SERVING CHILDREN IN CRISIS. DRAWING FROM OVER A DECADE OF EXPERIENCE, WE TRAIN INDIVIDUALS AND ORGANIZATIONS TO BRING HOPE AND HEALING TO THEIR OWN COMMUNITIES. OUR CURRICULUM COVERS A WIDE RANGE OF TOPICS FROM HORSEMANSHIP GROUNDED IN OUR UNIQUE PHILOSOPHY TO ORGANIZATIONAL BEST PRACTICES FOR SUSTAINABLE, TRAUMA-INFORMED MINISTRY. PARTICIPANTS PAY FEES TO ACCESS AND MAINTAIN ONGOING USE OF OUR TRAINING RESOURCES. HOPE REINS ACADEMY EXTENDS THE REACH OF OUR MISSION AND HELPS ADVANCE OUR VISION TO INSPIRE TRUE HOPE AND REAL HEALING FOR EVERY CHILD.
Expenses $157,845 · Revenue $31,040
As filed on the 2025 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2025
As listed in Part VII of the 2025 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Jason McGinnisJASON MCGINNIS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Kami ReclaKAMI RECLA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Keith MagnusonKEITH MAGNUSON
VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Kim TschirretKIM TSCHIRRET
FOUNDER & CEO
- Total calculated
- $113,747
- From this org
- $107,667
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,080
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Linda DyerLINDA DYER
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Lisa MandelLISA MANDEL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Lori AccordiniLORI ACCORDINI
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Ruby Brown-HerringRUBY BROWN-HERRING
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Stavien HarrisonSTAVIEN HARRISON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ted LithgowTED LITHGOW
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Allin Foulkrod 05302025ALLIN FOULKROD 05302025
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2025
- Revenue
- $2,206,729
- Expenses
- $2,470,095
- Contributions
- $2,139,917
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $2,166,480
- Expenses
- $2,232,781
- Contributions
- $2,141,848
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $2,144,304
- Expenses
- $1,864,090
- Contributions
- $2,147,751
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,986,531
- Expenses
- $1,461,831
- Assets (EOY)
- $3,573,535
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,849,556
- Expenses
- $1,179,525
- Assets (EOY)
- $3,069,121
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,389,388
- Expenses
- $1,288,039
- Assets (EOY)
- $2,167,778
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,175,996
- Expenses
- $1,019,594
- Assets (EOY)
- $2,076,673
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $596,938
- Expenses
- $741,211
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,640,183
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,068,536
- Expenses
- $536,635
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,753,036
-
2014 · 990
- Revenue
- $332,868
- Expenses
- $329,804
- Assets (EOY)
- $182,847
-
2013 · 990
- Revenue
- $286,468
- Expenses
- $218,933
- Assets (EOY)
- $144,750
-
2012 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $270,550
- Assets (EOY)
- $83,472
-
2011 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $131,770
- Assets (EOY)
- $106,810
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Form 990-N e-Postcard, tax year 2009
- Tax period
- 1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009
- Principal officer
-
Kim TschirretKIM TSCHIRRET
- Mailing address
- 2201 FULLWOOD PLACERALEIGH NC 27614
- Website
- http://www.hopereinsraleigh.org/
As filed, from the IRS e-Postcard file of 26 October 2026. The IRS publishes only each organization's most recent postcard, so earlier years are not shown. A 990-N carries no financial detail. The postcard also gives the principal officer's address, which is not shown here.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
2024 CHILDREN'S AND YOUTH MINISTRY
-
2022 GROWTH
-
2023 GROWTH
-
$112,000
2024 PUBLIC, SOCIETAL BENEFIT
-
2023 FOR RECIPIENT'S EXEMPT PURPOSE
-
$32,512
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$30,500
2023 HUMAN SERVICE
-
2023 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2023 OTHER YOUTH PROGRAMS
-
$25,000
2022 MINISTRY SUPPORT
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2025, the newest we have parsed for this organization.