Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

ROOFTOP FILMS INC

EIN 35-2323897 BROOKLYN, NY

Largest nonprofits in New York

Revenue 2024
$1,768,542
Expenses 2024
$2,010,656

Program services were 83.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
A31
Classification
2000
Street
232 3RD ST STE E106

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

ROOFTOP FILMS IS A NONPROFIT ORGANIZATION WHOSE MISSION IS TO ENGAGE AND INSPIRE DIVERSE COMMUNITIES BY SHOWCASING THE WORK OF EMERGING FILMMAKERS IN OUTDOOR LOCATIONS, HELPING FILMMAKERS TO PRODUCE NEW FILMS, AND RENTING EQUIPMENT AND SUPPORTING FILM SCREENINGS CITYWIDE AT LOWCOST TO ARTISTS, NONPROFITS AND COMMUNITY GROUPS.

  • AT ROOFTOP FILMS, WE DON'T SCREEN IN THEATERS, WE SCREEN IN COMMUNITIES. ACCORDINGLY, WE FIND THE BEST FILMS IN THE WORLD, COVERING A MYRIAD OF ISSUES, AND CREATE STIMULATING AND MEMORABLE SCREENINGS FOR AUDIENCES AND FILMMAKERS ALIKE BY SHOWING THESE FILMS IN RELEVANT OUTDOOR LOCATIONS THROUGHOUT NYC. WE FOCUS ON DEEPLY PERSONAL FILMS THAT EXPLORE SINGLE MOMENTS IN TIME AND PLACE, AND STORIES WHICH OFFER INTIMATE LOOKS INTO INDIVIDUAL LIVES AND OVERLOOKED OR MISUNDERSTOOD CULTURES. ADDITIONALLY, ROOFTOP FILMS PROVIDES SERVICES AND EQUIPMENT TO HELP OTHER ORGANIZATIONS TO CREATE THEIR OWN CINEMA EVENTS AND BRING PEOPLE TOGETHER VIA THE MEDIUM OF FILM. (CONTINUE ON SCHEDULE O)THE ROOFTOP FILMMAKER'S FUND LEVERAGES COMMUNITY SUPPORT TO HELP FILMMAKERS TO PRODUCE THEIR NEW FILMS. $1 OF EVERY TICKET AND FILM SUBMISSION FEE GOES TO THE FILMMAKERS FUND TO SUPPORT FILMMAKERS WHOSE WORK WE HAVE SCREENED IN THE PAST. IN ADDITION, FUNDING PARTNERS AND PARTNERS CONTRIBUTE CASH, EQUIPMENT AND SERVICE GRANTS TO THE PROGRAM THAT ARE THEN AWARDED VIA THE FILMMAKERS FUND.

    Expenses $1,684,616 · Revenue $1,152,480

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Camille Bernier - Green

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Jessica Jacobs

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    16
  • Eric Kohn

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Rachel Meirovich

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Evan List

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Mark Elijah Rosenberg

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Ryan Smith

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Kay-B Giddens

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Adam Kersh

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Sara Christoph

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $1,768,542
    Expenses
    $2,010,656
    Contributions
    $578,580
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,795,806
    Expenses
    $2,155,674
    Contributions
    $618,072
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,852,528
    Expenses
    $2,133,596
    Contributions
    $741,979
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $267,410
    Expenses
    $312,083
    Contributions
    $80,784
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $369,039
    Expenses
    $316,405
    Contributions
    $182,411
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,268,538
    Expenses
    $1,838,145
    Assets (EOY)
    $751,666
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,563,788
    Expenses
    $2,440,293
    Assets (EOY)
    $775,387
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,228,297
    Expenses
    $1,439,057
    Assets (EOY)
    $573,909
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,727,893
    Expenses
    $1,766,087
    Assets (EOY)
    $179,330
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,739,785
    Expenses
    $1,724,248
    Assets (EOY)
    $193,347
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,250,161
    Expenses
    $1,278,091
    Assets (EOY)
    $204,599
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,137,590
    Expenses
    $1,121,452
    Assets (EOY)
    $201,225
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,291,885
    Expenses
    $1,206,091
    Assets (EOY)
    $178,578
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $939,381
    Assets (EOY)
    $119,341
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $848,613
    Assets (EOY)
    $97,713

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.