- Revenue 2025
- $6,303,337
- Expenses 2025
- $7,162,681
Program services were 73.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- H05
- Classification
- 8000
- Street
- 2219 BATH ST
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2025
Mission
Dedicated to improving the lives of people impacted by diabetes through research, education and care.
-
ResearchClinical Research Type 1 DiabetesSansum Diabetes Research Institute (SDRI) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of people impacted by diabetes through clinical research, education, and specialized patient care. During 2025, SDRI initiated 13 clinical research trials involving 197 individual participants. These studies evaluated new technologies, medications, and treatment approaches intended to improve diabetes management and health outcomes.Research activities included automated insulin delivery systems, continuous glucose monitoring, inhaled insulin therapies, GLP-1 medications, ketone and lactate monitoring, digital health tools, and other emerging diabetes technologies. SDRI collaborated with leading diabetes technology and pharmaceutical companies to conduct research that supports the development of safer and more effective treatments for people living with diabetes.During 2025, SDRI also launched Screen & Support, a community-based type 1 diabetes early detection program. Through autoantibody screening, education, monitoring, and follow-up care, the program identifies children and adults at increased risk for developing type 1 diabetes before symptoms occur. Earlier identification helps reduce the likelihood of diagnosis during diabetic ketoacidosis (DKA), provides families with education and support, and expands access to therapies that may delay progression to insulin-dependent disease. SDRI also continued leading the California Type 1 Diabetes Screening Collaborative to expand early detection efforts throughout California.Clinical Research Type 2 DiabetesSDRI continued research designed to improve treatment options and clinical outcomes for individuals living with type 2 diabetes. During 2025, the SDRI participated in studies evaluating automated insulin delivery systems, continuous glucose monitoring technologies, and emerging therapeutic approaches intended to improve glycemic control while reducing the burden of diabetes management.Research findings contributed to the growing body of evidence supporting advanced diabetes technologies for adults with type 2 diabetes and included participation from diverse populations to improve the applicability of study findings across communities.
Expenses $4,634,525 · Revenue $1,969,111
-
Education and Community OutreachCommunity education is an essential component of SDRI's charitable mission. SDRI provides evidence-based education, peer support, and culturally responsive programs that improve diabetes prevention and self-management.During 2025, SDRI continued Ocho Pasos a la Buena Salud, a Spanish-language diabetes prevention and self-management program led by trained Community Health Workers (Promotoras). The program provides culturally appropriate education on nutrition, physical activity, and diabetes self-management while addressing barriers to healthcare access.SDRI also expanded education and support through One Talk, LADA Talk, diabetes technology training, bilingual support groups, community outreach events, and Back-to-School educational programming. These programs improve diabetes knowledge, increase self-management skills, reduce diabetes-related distress, and strengthen community support for individuals and families affected by diabetes.
Expenses $367,818 · Revenue $68,073
-
Clinical CareSDRI provides specialized outpatient clinical care in diabetes in pregnancy, pediatric diabetes, and adult endocrinology.During 2025, SDRI expanded its Diabetes in Pregnancy Program to preserve access to specialized care following changes in local maternal health services. SDRI assumed responsibility for caring for approximately 100 additional patients, with particular emphasis on serving under-resourced and underrepresented Latina women throughout Santa Barbara County.Clinical services include individualized diabetes management, nutrition counseling, continuous glucose monitoring support, medication management, diabetes education, and coordinated care with obstetric and maternal-fetal medicine providers. SDRI also provides culturally responsive and bilingual services to improve maternal and infant health outcomes.SDRI's pediatric diabetes program provides comprehensive education, technology training, behavioral support, and ongoing clinical care that helps children, adolescents, and families safely manage diabetes and successfully transition to lifelong self-management.
Expenses $279,669 · Revenue $50,045
-
Research InfrastructureDuring 2025, SDRI completed renovation of its 18,000-square-foot research, clinical care, and education center. The renovated facility increased organizational capacity by providing dedicated research suites, expanded clinical space, industry collaboration areas, a teaching kitchen, a DEXA research suite, and community education facilities. These improvements enhance SDRI's ability to conduct clinical research, provide specialized patient care, and deliver diabetes education programs that benefit the community.Summary of Public BenefitThrough its integrated programs in clinical research, specialized clinical care, early detection, education, and community outreach, SDRI advances the early detection, treatment, and management of diabetes while improving access to evidence-based care for children, adults, pregnant individuals, and underserved populations. These activities further SDRIs charitable mission by improving health outcomes, expanding access to specialized services, and advancing diabetes science for the benefit of the public.
As filed on the 2025 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2025
As listed in Part VII of the 2025 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Elizabeth Thompson
CEO
- Total calculated
- $349,314
- From this org
- $329,755
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,559
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $329,755
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $16,488
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,071
- Filer's total
- $349,314
-
Kristin Castorino DO
Research Physician
- Total calculated
- $290,760
- From this org
- $264,433
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $26,327
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $264,433
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $13,520
- Nontaxable benefits
- $12,807
- Filer's total
- $290,760
-
Kristen Nelson
Dir Clinical Rese
- Total calculated
- $270,167
- From this org
- $256,529
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $13,638
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $256,529
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $13,638
- Filer's total
- $270,167
-
Dr Andrew Rhinehart
CEO/CMO
- Total calculated
- $237,257
- From this org
- $230,465
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,792
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $230,465
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,792
- Filer's total
- $237,257
-
Kara Hornbuckle
VP Development and Public Affairs
- Total calculated
- $180,584
- From this org
- $168,763
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $11,821
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $168,763
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $9,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,321
- Filer's total
- $180,584
-
Sarintha Logan
Clinical Research
- Total calculated
- $178,932
- From this org
- $161,001
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $17,931
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $161,001
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $8,172
- Nontaxable benefits
- $9,759
- Filer's total
- $178,932
-
Trisha Purkey
Clinical Research
- Total calculated
- $176,056
- From this org
- $156,913
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $19,143
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $156,913
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $7,899
- Nontaxable benefits
- $11,244
- Filer's total
- $176,056
-
Melody Lung
Clinical Research
- Total calculated
- $148,976
- From this org
- $136,826
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $12,150
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Olivia Watt
Mgr Lab/Research
- Total calculated
- $139,105
- From this org
- $130,214
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $8,891
- Hours/week
- 40
-
James Sloan
President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Matthew Rowe CIMA
Vice President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Flint Ogle
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Elena Engel
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Joan Doell Arnold
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Miguel Avila
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Daniel Berger MD
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Anthony Castillo
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Daren Dickerson
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lindsey Duca PhD
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lynn Fitzgibbons MD
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Yvette Giller
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Steven Jung Esq
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Norman Kurland
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Robert Nagy MD
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michael Paskin
Trustee
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2025
- Revenue
- $6,303,337
- Expenses
- $7,162,681
- Contributions
- $2,934,028
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $10,639,114
- Expenses
- $6,651,715
- Contributions
- $6,445,750
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $10,639,114
- Expenses
- $6,651,715
- Contributions
- $6,445,750
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $8,154,412
- Expenses
- $5,669,158
- Contributions
- $5,265,574
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $11,475,472
- Expenses
- $5,271,529
- Assets (EOY)
- $20,925,060
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $6,046,700
- Expenses
- $4,699,534
- Assets (EOY)
- $17,971,488
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,170,902
- Expenses
- $5,138,512
- Assets (EOY)
- $15,270,515
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,170,902
- Expenses
- $5,138,512
- Assets (EOY)
- $15,270,515
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,284,862
- Expenses
- $4,858,981
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,944,833
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,284,862
- Expenses
- $4,858,981
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,944,833
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,284,862
- Expenses
- $4,858,981
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,944,833
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,284,862
- Expenses
- $4,858,981
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,944,833
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $3,146,634
- Expenses
- $3,554,163
- Assets (EOY)
- $13,379,944
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $3,646,302
- Expenses
- $3,798,215
- Assets (EOY)
- $13,633,395
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$302,121
2022 HEALTH
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$280,000
2024 HEALTH
-
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
$210,000
2024 Health
-
$196,041
2022 MEDICAL RESEARCH
-
2022 RESEARCH GRANT
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
$152,231
2024 HEALTH CARE
-
$146,000
2023 HEALTH CARE
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$139,300
2023 HEALTH
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2025, the newest we have parsed for this organization.