Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

CENTRA HEALTH INC

EIN 54-0715569 LYNCHBURG, VA

Revenue 2024
$1,166,348,794
Expenses 2024
$1,174,988,522

Program services were 80.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E220
Classification
1200
Street
1920 ATHERHOLT RD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • AMY CARRIER

    PRESIDENT/CEO (thru 4/18/2024)

    Total calculated
    $2,878,656
    From this org
    $2,851,509
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $27,147
    Hours/week
    50 + 6 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $448,984
    Bonus
    $1,061,495
    Other
    $1,341,030
    Deferred
    $15,022
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,125
    Filer's total
    $2,878,656
  • RICHARD TUGMAN

    PRESIDENT/CEO (as of 4/18/2024)

    Total calculated
    $837,122
    From this org
    $782,536
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $54,586
    Hours/week
    50 + 6 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $724,359
    Bonus
    $41,139
    Other
    $17,038
    Deferred
    $17,250
    Nontaxable benefits
    $37,336
    Filer's total
    $837,122
  • ROB TONKINSON

    SVP CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER (as of 8/14/2024)

    Total calculated
    $294,231
    From this org
    $294,231
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    50 + 4 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $294,231
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $294,231
  • ALISON MORRISON-SHETLAR

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • AMY GALLAGHER

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • BERNADETTE SVRCEK

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CAROLYN W JACQUES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • CLINTON BEVERLY MD

    EXEC MEDICAL DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $666,978
    From this org
    $610,837
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $56,141
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $539,810
    Bonus
    $68,767
    Other
    $2,260
    Deferred
    $17,250
    Nontaxable benefits
    $38,891
    Filer's total
    $666,978
  • CYNTHIA GUNNOE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • D TODD IRBY

    BOARD VICE-CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ELIZABETH COOK MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • GARY MIGNOGNA

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • GEETA RAKHERAM MD

    DOCTOR MEDICAL

    Total calculated
    $206,758
    From this org
    $168,545
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $38,213
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $110,645
    Bonus
    $12,750
    Other
    $45,150
    Deferred
    $5,773
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,440
    Filer's total
    $206,758
  • GLORIA T WITT

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JOHN A FEES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • KEMPER M BEASLEY III

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • MICHAEL V BRADFORD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • PETER CAPRISE MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SHARON L HARRUP

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • THOMAS NYGAARD MD

    BOARD CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kristin KING

    svp chief hr officer

    Total calculated
    $375,375
    From this org
    $297,368
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $78,007
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $219,824
    Bonus
    $77,025
    Other
    $519
    Deferred
    $59,653
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,354
    Filer's total
    $375,375
  • Tabitha Culbertson

    hospital president

    Total calculated
    $593,535
    From this org
    $511,414
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $82,121
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $442,416
    Bonus
    $67,200
    Other
    $1,798
    Deferred
    $59,250
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,871
    Filer's total
    $593,535
  • Thomas Morales

    svp chief strategy officer

    Total calculated
    $268,481
    From this org
    $268,481
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $268,481
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $268,481
  • CHRIS THOMSON

    SVP CHIEF PHYSICIAN EXECUTIVE

    Total calculated
    $460,197
    From this org
    $430,770
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $29,427
    Hours/week
    50 + 2 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $352,316
    Bonus
    $75,000
    Other
    $3,454
    Deferred
    $8,585
    Nontaxable benefits
    $20,842
    Filer's total
    $460,197
  • CHRISTOPHER LEWIS

    SVP CHIEF CLINICAL OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $768,767
    From this org
    $649,901
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $118,866
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $526,735
    Bonus
    $120,106
    Other
    $3,060
    Deferred
    $76,986
    Nontaxable benefits
    $41,880
    Filer's total
    $768,767

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $1,166,348,794
    Expenses
    $1,174,988,522
    Contributions
    $6,067,482
    Grants paid
    $6,638,429
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,131,031,053
    Expenses
    $1,113,449,976
    Contributions
    $6,592,685
    Grants paid
    $4,011,101
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $1,096,916,083
    Expenses
    $1,097,407,500
    Contributions
    $14,106,180
    Grants paid
    $2,190,050

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

  • 2022 Healthcare

  • STEPS Inc

    $229,170

    2023 Farmville Area: Housing and Homelessness Bedford Area: Issues Impacting Children and their Access to Healthcare Services Housing Aging and Eldercare Food Insecurity and Nutrition Equity, Inclusion and Diversity Aging and Eldercare Poverty Bedford Area: Transportation Farmville Area: Access to Healthcare Services Farmville Area: Access to Healthcare Services Housing Housing Issues Impacting Children and their Families: Chil Farmville Area: Chronic Disease Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders & Access Poverty Issues Impacting Children and their Families: Chil Farmville Area: Housing and Homelessness Food Insecurity and Nutrition Housing Bedford Area: Issues Impacting Children and their Issues Impacting Children and their Families: Chil Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders & Access Mental Health and Substance use Disorders & Access Equity, Inclusion and Diversity Access to Healthcare Services Access to Healthcare Services Equity, Inclusion and Diversity Equity, Inclusion and Div

  • STEPS INC

    $192,319

    2024 Employment/Job Assistance; HOUSING AND HOMELESSNESS

  • 2022 Community Svcs

  • 2022 Meals

  • 2024 Issues Impacting Children and their Families: Childcare or Child Abuse/Neglect

  • 2023

  • 2023

  • 2022 Healthcare

  • 2022 Community Svcs

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.