Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

AMERICAN LEBANESE SYRIAN ASSOC CHAR INC

EIN 35-1044585 MEMPHIS, TN

Revenue 2023
$2,895,589,947
Expenses 2023
$2,557,167,057

Program services were 74.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
X12
Classification
1000
Street
501 SAINT JUDE PL

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

AMERICAN LEBANESE SYRIAN ASSOCIATED CHARITIES, INC. (ALSAC) WAS FOUNDED IN 1957 AND EXISTS SOLELY TO RAISE FUNDS AND BUILD AWARENESS TO SUSTAIN AND GROW THE MISSION OF ST. JUDE CHILDREN'S RESEARCH HOSPITAL, INC. TO ADVANCE CURES, AND MEANS OF PREVENTION, FOR PEDIATRIC CATASTROPHIC DISEASES THROUGH RESEARCH AND TREATMENT WHILE HONORING THE MEMORY AND HERITAGE OF OUR FOUNDER, DANNY THOMAS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO RAISE FUNDS AND BUILD AWARENESS TO SUSTAIN AND GROW THE MISSION OF ST. JUDE CHILDREN'S RESEARCH HOSPITAL, INC.

  • ALSAC IS THE FUNDRAISING AND AWARENESS ORGANIZATION FOR ST. JUDE CHILDREN'S RESEARCH HOSPITAL, INC. (ST. JUDE). ALSAC EXISTS SOLELY TO RAISE THE FUNDS AND AWARENESS NEEDED TO SUSTAIN AND GROW ST. JUDE NOW AND IN THE FUTURE. ALSAC IS CHARGED WITH SUPPORTING THE MISSION OF ST. JUDE CHILDREN'S RESEARCH HOSPITAL TO ADVANCE CURES, AND MEANS OF PREVENTION, FOR PEDIATRIC CATASTROPHIC DISEASES THROUGH RESEARCH AND TREATMENT WHILE HONORING THE MEMORY AND HERITAGE OF OUR FOUNDER, DANNY THOMAS. THANKS TO GENEROUS DONORS, FAMILIES NEVER RECEIVE A BILL FROM ST. JUDE FOR TREATMENT, TRAVEL, HOUSING OR FOOD - SO THEY CAN FOCUS ON HELPING THEIR CHILD LIVE. (CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O)

    Expenses $1,906,582,216 · Grants $1,677,081,481 · Revenue $36,019,574

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JAMES R DOWNING

    EX-OFFICIO DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $2,434,190
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $2,368,582
    Other
    $65,608
    Hours/week
    1 + 55 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $1,489,108 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $45,250 related
    Other
    $0 + $834,224 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $36,300 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $29,308 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $2,434,190 related
  • RICHARD C SHADYAC JR

    CEO & EX-OFFICIO DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $1,461,787
    From this org
    $1,295,514
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $166,273
    Hours/week
    55 + 1 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $1,246,368
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $49,146
    Deferred
    $140,480
    Nontaxable benefits
    $25,793
    Filer's total
    $1,461,787
  • JOYCE A ABOUSSIE

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • STEVEN J ALLEN MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • JOSEPH S AYOUB JR ESQ

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • PAUL J AYOUB ESQ

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 8 related
  • FREDERICK M AZAR MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8 + 4 related
  • MARTHA PERINE BEARD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8 + 4 related
  • ROBERT A BREIT MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • TERRY L BURMAN

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • JOSEPH M DEVIVO

    VOTING DIRECTOR (THRU 11/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • LISA R DILLER MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • JOSEPH E EID MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • FRED P GATTAS III PHARMD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • JUDY A HABIB

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 8 related
  • GABRIEL G HADDAD MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • CHARLES C HAJJAR

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • FOUAD A HAJJAR MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • FREDERICK R HARRIS JR MD

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 8 related
  • J DAVID KARAM II

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    8 + 4 related
  • SCOTT A KUPOR

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • SHARON L MCCOLLAM

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • SAMIA MELHEM

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • ROBERT T MOLINET ESQ

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related
  • NEELA M MONTGOMERY

    VOTING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4 + 4 related

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $2,895,589,947
    Expenses
    $2,557,167,057
    Contributions
    $2,508,811,875
    Grants paid
    $1,677,081,481
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $2,686,629,420
    Expenses
    $2,203,763,402
    Contributions
    $2,405,127,358
    Grants paid
    $1,367,277,418

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,890,393,094
    Expenses
    $1,819,323,783
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,359,227,655
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,403,702,104
    Expenses
    $1,623,044,713
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,164,081,055
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,898,289,322
    Expenses
    $1,564,353,395
    Assets (EOY)
    $5,848,337,695
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,919,766,290
    Expenses
    $1,399,728,747
    Assets (EOY)
    $5,461,105,812
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,651,985,235
    Expenses
    $1,239,750,265
    Assets (EOY)
    $4,780,599,912

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Form 990-N e-Postcard, tax year 2020

Tax period
1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021
Principal officer
Matthew Faulkner
Mailing address
3995 Nathaniel Rochester HallRochester NY 14623

As filed, from the IRS e-Postcard file of 19 October 2026. The IRS publishes only each organization's most recent postcard, so earlier years are not shown. A 990-N carries no financial detail. The postcard also gives the principal officer's address, which is not shown here.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related partnerships on its 2023 return

Related corporations and trusts on its 2023 return

  • TESTAMENTARY TRUSTS WITH VESTED RESIDUAL OR PERPETUAL INTERESTS (54)

    T · FIDUCIARY · TN · controlled entity

California fundraising campaigns

Campaigns run by paid fundraisers, commercial coventurers and thrift stores naming this organization, as California published them. Both figures are as filed, and what the first one counts depends on the campaign type — a coventurer or a thrift store files its own sales rather than money collected for the charity. The 990 reports this only as a yearly total, never per campaign.

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $4,649,980 raised

    2024 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$1,878,466 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $5,228,420 raised

    2023 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$529,192 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $4,398,180 raised

    2022 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$1,115,312 to charity

  • COMMSENSE LLC

    $432,503 raised

    2022 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$1,364 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $4,751,425 raised

    2021 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$946,302 to charity

  • COMMSENSE LLC

    $598,009 raised

    2021 Commercial Fundraiser

    $169,973 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $4,246,985 raised

    2020 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$845,466 to charity

  • COMMSENSE LLC

    $531,059 raised

    2020 Commercial Fundraiser

    $91,616 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $4,913,700 raised

    2019 Commercial Fundraiser

    $222,926 to charity

  • INFOCISION INC.

    $350,018 raised

    2019 Commercial Fundraiser

    -$69,516 to charity

  • COMMSENSE LLC

    $158,942 raised

    2019 Commercial Fundraiser

    $25,637 to charity

  • NEW BALANCE ATHLETICS INC.

    $5,351 in sales

    2019 Commercial Coventurer

    $1,225 to charity

Amounts are as filed and do not add up: a commercial coventurer reports one promotion's whole gross once for each charity that shared in it. A campaign may also name more than one registered charity, in which case it appears on each.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.