- Revenue 2024
- $23,221,545
- Expenses 2024
- $21,163,314
Program services were 64.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B114
- Classification
- 1200
- Street
- 66 GEORGE STREET
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Johnnie Baxley
Vice Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Keith Sauls
Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Patricia Ory
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sherrie Snipes-Williams
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bartina Edwards
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Beth Meredith
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Brady Quirk-Garvan
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Carl Blackstone
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Chapman McKay
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Charles Mosteller
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Christopher O'Neal
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Craig Eney
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Edward Tuccio
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Eric Cox
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Erica Brown
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jean Johnson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
John Carter
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jonathan Hayes
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Justin McLain
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Katherine Williams
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Laura Ricciardelli
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Laurie Minges
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Leslie Gambee
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Mark Buono
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michelle Mangum
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $23,221,545
- Expenses
- $21,163,314
- Contributions
- $21,920,647
- Grants paid
- $6,704,240
-
2023
- Revenue
- $21,228,162
- Expenses
- $15,040,272
- Contributions
- $20,026,181
- Grants paid
- $6,083,673
-
2022
- Revenue
- $13,203,026
- Expenses
- $14,605,720
- Contributions
- $12,017,658
- Grants paid
- $6,121,902
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
$6,462,722
2024 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON: GRANTS PROVIDED TO THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ARE USED TO PROMOTE PROGRAMS OF EDUCATION, RESEARCH, STUDENT DEVELOPMENT, AND FACULTY DEVELOPMENT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MISSION STATEMENT OF THE FOUNDATION.
-
$4,371,535
2023 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON: GRANTS PROVIDED TO THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ARE USED TO PROMOTE PROGRAMS OF EDUCATION, RESEARCH, STUDENT DEVELOPMENT, AND FACULTY DEVELOPMENT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MISSION STATEMENT OF THE FOUNDATION.
-
$4,264,102
2022 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON: GRANTS PROVIDED TO THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ARE USED TO PROMOTE PROGRAMS OF EDUCATION, RESEARCH, STUDENT DEVELOPMENT, AND FACULTY DEVELOPMENT IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MISSION STATEMENT OF THE FOUNDATION.
-
$405,008
2022 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON COUGAR CLUB: OPERATIONAL SUPPORT
-
$178,861
2023 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON COUGAR CLUB: OPERATIONAL SUPPORT
-
2022 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION: PER A MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) WITH THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON, THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON FOUNDATION SHALL PROVIDE AN AGREED UPON AMOUNT OF ANNUAL SUPPORT TO ENHANCE ALUMNI ENGAGEMENT AND PROGRAMS, WITH PAYMENTS DUE AT THE BEGINNING OF EACH QUARTER. THE MOU WAS EXECUTED ON DECEMBER 7, 2012 AND EFFECTIVE RETROACTIVELY TO JULY 1, 2012 FOR A THREE-YEAR PERIOD WITH THE APPROVAL OF THE FOUNDATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE MOU WAS RENIGOTIATED IN 2015 FOR AN ADDITIONAL THREE YEARS. FOR THE FISCAL YEAR JULY 1, 2019 - JUNE 30, 2022 THE FOUNDATION PAID THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION $150,000 IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MOU.
-
2023 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION: PER A MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) WITH THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON, THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON FOUNDATION SHALL PROVIDE AN AGREED UPON AMOUNT OF ANNUAL SUPPORT TO ENHANCE ALUMNI ENGAGEMENT AND PROGRAMS, WITH PAYMENTS DUE AT THE BEGINNING OF EACH QUARTER. THE MOU WAS EXECUTED ON DECEMBER 7, 2012 AND EFFECTIVE RETROACTIVELY TO JULY 1, 2012 FOR A THREE-YEAR PERIOD WITH THE APPROVAL OF THE FOUNDATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE MOU WAS RENIGOTIATED IN 2015 FOR AN ADDITIONAL THREE YEARS. FOR THE FISCAL YEAR JULY 1, 2019 - JUNE 30, 2022 THE FOUNDATION PAID THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION $150,000 IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MOU.
-
2024 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION: PER A MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING (MOU) WITH THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION OF THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON, THE COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON FOUNDATION SHALL PROVIDE AN AGREED UPON AMOUNT OF ANNUAL SUPPORT TO ENHANCE ALUMNI ENGAGEMENT AND PROGRAMS, WITH PAYMENTS DUE AT THE BEGINNING OF EACH QUARTER. THE MOU WAS EXECUTED ON DECEMBER 7, 2012 AND EFFECTIVE RETROACTIVELY TO JULY 1, 2012 FOR A THREE-YEAR PERIOD WITH THE APPROVAL OF THE FOUNDATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS. THE MOU WAS RENIGOTIATED IN 2015 FOR AN ADDITIONAL THREE YEARS. FOR THE FISCAL YEAR JULY 1, 2024 - JUNE 30, 2027 THE FOUNDATION PAID THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION $150,000 IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE MOU.
-
$59,949
2024 COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON COUGAR CLUB: OPERATIONAL SUPPORT
Grants received
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2022 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$251,001
2024 EDUCATION
-
LETTIE PATE WHITEHEAD FOUNDATION INC
$230,000
2024 For general scholarship support.
-
LETTIE PATE WHITEHEAD FOUNDATION INC
$230,000
2023 For general scholarship support.
-
LETTIE PATE WHITEHEAD FOUNDATION INC
$209,000
2022 For general scholarship support.
-
$202,600
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$200,000
2022 QUALITY EDUCATION
-
$200,000
2023 QUALITY EDUCATION
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
501(c)(3) · HIGHER EDUCATION · SC
Declared as related by
-
COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ALUMNI ASSOCIATION INC
On its 2024 return
-
COLLEGE OF CHARLESTON ATHLETIC CLUB
On its 2024 return
-
LETTIE PATE WHITEHEAD FOUNDATION INC
On its 2024 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.