- Revenue 2024
- $23,079,487
- Expenses 2024
- $22,498,542
Program services were 72.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B420
- Classification
- 2000
- Street
- 1055 N BICKETT RD
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
WILBERFORCE UNIVERSITY IS A HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY AND THE PRIMARY MISSION IS TO ENGAGE, SUPPORT, AND ASSIST STUDENTS IN IDENTIFYING AND PREPARING FOR THEIR RESPECTIVE PURPOSES IN LIFE AS SOCIAL CHANGE AGENTS, SOCIAL JUSTICE ACTIVISTS, ENTREPRENEURS, THOUGHT-LEADERS AND GLOBAL CITIZENS BY IMPARTING KNOWLEDGE THROUGH RIGOROUS INTELLECTUAL INQUIRY AND CRITICAL THINKING. THE MISSION IS MOST EFFECTIVELY ACCOMPLISHED BY INSTILLING PRIDE, DISCIPLINE AND INSPIRING LIFE-LONG LEARNING, PERSONAL AND SPIRITUAL DEVELOPMENT AND THE PRACTICAL APPLICATION OF THE KNOWLEDGE OBTAINED, AND THE SKILLS DEVELOPED.
Activities or mission (Part I)
WILBERFORCE UNIVERSITY'S MISSION IS TO HELP STUDENTS PREPARE FOR LIFE'S CHALLEGES AND TO PROVIDE THEM WITH A SOUND EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION. IMPARTING KNOWLDEGE, INSTILLING DISCIPLINE, AND INSPIRING LIFELONG LEARNING THROUGH CRITICAL INQUIRY, PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT.
-
PROVIDE A POST-SECONDARY EDUCATION TO THE STUDENTS OF WILBERFORCE UNIVERSITY.
Expenses $16,118,563
-
THE UNIVESITY PROVIDES POST SECONDARY EDUCATION TO MINORITY STUDENTS FROM VARIOUS PARTS OF THE UNINTED STATES.
Expenses $238,639
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
DR VANN R NEWKIRK
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $262,000
- From this org
- $262,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $250,000
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- $12,000
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $262,000
-
AMANI LEWIS
CFO
- Total calculated
- $62,039
- From this org
- $62,039
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
PAXTON BAKER
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JERMAINE COVINGTON
TRUSTEE EMER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JERMAINE COVINGTON
TRUSTEE-AME
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
MARCUS HENDERSON
TRUSTEE EMER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
DR NELSON RIVERS III
TRUSTEE EMER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
NATE JENKINS
BOARD CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
WILLIAM LEE
TRUSTEE EMER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
DR RICHARD ALLEN LEWIS
TRUSTEE-EMER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
LYDEL MADDEN
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
PAUL P MARTIN
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
WALTER REYNOLDS
TRUSTEE - EX
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ANGELA RYE
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ANGELA T RYE
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JOHN TOLBERT
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ADRIENNE TRIMBLE
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
BISHOP STAFFORD WICKER
TRUSTEE/DIRE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
DELORES WRIGHT
TRUSTEE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $23,079,487
- Expenses
- $22,498,542
- Contributions
- $9,170,898
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $21,272,123
- Expenses
- $20,215,137
- Contributions
- $8,807,757
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $12,211,135
- Expenses
- $16,119,083
- Contributions
- $7,922,390
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $18,509,447
- Expenses
- $17,420,954
- Assets (EOY)
- $28,478,430
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $40,652,171
- Expenses
- $14,780,195
- Assets (EOY)
- $28,180,485
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $16,993,076
- Expenses
- $15,573,084
- Assets (EOY)
- $28,513,096
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $16,748,612
- Expenses
- $15,978,511
- Assets (EOY)
- $28,267,513
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $16,891,243
- Expenses
- $17,383,042
- Assets (EOY)
- $30,886,790
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $12,404,748
- Expenses
- $14,857,887
- Assets (EOY)
- $30,066,434
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $14,253,937
- Expenses
- $18,565,309
- Assets (EOY)
- $31,557,130
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $15,480,455
- Expenses
- $21,285,296
- Assets (EOY)
- $33,896,519
-
2014 · 990
- Revenue
- $19,275,530
- Expenses
- $17,165,480
- Assets (EOY)
- $35,814,557
-
2012 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $13,946,461
- Assets (EOY)
- $30,399,767
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
$957,735
2024 GRANTS & SCHOLARSHIPS, AREA OFFICE JOINT CAMPAIGN
-
$715,893
2022 GRANTS & SCHOLARSHIPS, AREA OFFICE JOINT CAMPAIGN
-
$680,537
2023 GRANTS & SCHOLARSHIPS, AREA OFFICE JOINT CAMPAIGN
-
STRADA EDUCATION FOUNDATION INC
$146,902
2024 OPERATING GRANT
-
STRADA EDUCATION FOUNDATION INC
$127,133
2022 OPERATING GRANT
-
STRADA EDUCATION FOUNDATION INC
$92,317
2023 OPERATING GRANT
-
$69,239
2024 SCHOLARSHIPS
-
$37,151
2023 VARIOUS PROJECTS
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
$32,525
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT AND SCHOLARSHIPS
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.