- Revenue 2024
- $11,438,458
- Expenses 2024
- $8,089,155
Program services were 81.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- P40Z
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 601 E 5TH ST STE 400
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Laura Lawrence
President & CEO
- Total calculated
- $202,270
- From this org
- $180,731
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,539
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $180,731
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,539
- Filer's total
- $202,270
-
Tori Marshall
Chief Advancement
- Total calculated
- $119,852
- From this org
- $103,781
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $16,071
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Leslie Wickham
Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jean Davis
Vice-Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Faith Fickling-Alvarez
Past Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Marcie Shealy
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Derek Beres
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Julia Hejazi
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Terry Brown Jr
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jamilah Espinosa
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Leta Emmanuel
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Fred Hudson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Libby Kelligrew
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jeffrey Klein
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Allen ORourke
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Nakia Savage
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Mark T Wilson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Noellee Clarke MD
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Suzanna Fox
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Amanda Franklin
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Suzy Jackson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Spencer Merriweather
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sarah Firquin
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Scott Harris
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dena King
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $11,438,458
- Expenses
- $8,089,155
- Contributions
- $11,224,389
- Grants paid
- $282,400
-
2023
- Revenue
- $6,962,580
- Expenses
- $7,987,840
- Contributions
- $6,825,681
- Grants paid
- $262,800
-
2022
- Revenue
- $7,140,143
- Expenses
- $7,369,549
- Contributions
- $7,159,238
- Grants paid
- $354,946
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
MECKLENBURG PARTNERSHIP FOR CHILDREN
$204,958
2023 CHILD ADULT RELATIONSHIP
-
UNITED WAY OF GREATER CHARLOTTE
$199,757
2022 PROGRAM OPERATING COSTDONOR DESIGNATED (AND 3RD PARTY) FOR GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$126,500
2024 CULTURE & ARTS
-
$114,485
2022 CHARITABLE GIFT
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2022 CHILD ADULT RELATIONSHIP
-
2023 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$52,500
2022 COMMUNITY OUTREACH
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.