Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

Groundswell Action Fund

EIN 82-1172119 San Francisco, CA

Revenue 2024
$2,273,965
Expenses 2024
$4,286,462

Program services were 81.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
04
Street
548 Market Street 49734

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Yamani Hernandez

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $427,099
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $350,264
    Other
    $76,835
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $350,264 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $23,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $53,835 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $427,099 related
  • Naa Hammond

    Chief Strategy Ofr

    Total calculated
    $286,677
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $214,785
    Other
    $71,892
    Hours/week
    0 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $214,785 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $8,562 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $63,330 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $286,677 related
  • Chanda Jones

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $284,024
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $225,313
    Other
    $58,711
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $225,313 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $6,377 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $52,334 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $284,024 related
  • Quanita Toffie

    Exec Director-Action Fund

    Total calculated
    $273,537
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $210,725
    Other
    $62,812
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $210,725 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $23,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $39,812 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $273,537 related
  • Angelique Green

    Chief Advanc Offcr

    Total calculated
    $270,512
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $219,140
    Other
    $51,372
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $219,140 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $6,552 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $44,820 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $270,512 related
  • Lorena Gamboa-Martin

    Chief of Staff

    Total calculated
    $256,350
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $221,023
    Other
    $35,327
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $221,023 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $8,899 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $26,428 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $256,350 related
  • Jazmin Edwards

    Sr HR & Ops Mgr

    Total calculated
    $199,163
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $184,443
    Other
    $14,720
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $184,443 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $955 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $13,765 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $199,163 related
  • Sherie Salter-Reid

    Dir Finance

    Total calculated
    $178,844
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $164,137
    Other
    $14,707
    Hours/week
    2 + 38 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $164,137 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $8,171 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $6,536 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $178,844 related
  • Kierra Johnson

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Nse Ufot

    Interim Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dawn Boudwin

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Daroneshia Duncan-Boyd

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $2,273,965
    Expenses
    $4,286,462
    Contributions
    $2,244,539
    Grants paid
    $3,200,000
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $2,407,141
    Expenses
    $3,682,808
    Contributions
    $2,368,701
    Grants paid
    $2,625,000
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $5,875,009
    Expenses
    $4,478,156
    Contributions
    $5,871,860
    Grants paid
    $3,780,000

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.