Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

SESAME WORKSHOP INTERNATIONAL INC

EIN 83-1810098 NEW YORK, NY

Revenue 2023
$1,566,844
Expenses 2023
$2,555,046

Program services were 88.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B99
Classification
2000
Street
1900 BROADWAY

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • MAUREEN TRANTHAM

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $439,652
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $373,458
    Other
    $66,194
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $292,986 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $79,200 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,272 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $25,063 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $41,131 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $439,652 related
  • BRETT ROBINSON

    CFO & EVP OF FIN., TECH & FACILITIES

    Total calculated
    $517,505
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $449,850
    Other
    $67,655
    Hours/week
    1 + 62.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $379,306 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $69,238 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,306 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $3,750 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $63,905 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $517,505 related
  • H WHITFIELD HIGGINS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $496,657
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $433,859
    Other
    $62,798
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $340,178 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $92,106 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,575 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $22,710 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $40,088 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $496,657 related
  • SHARI ROSENFELD

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $539,856
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $437,049
    Other
    $102,807
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $344,409 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $89,486 related
    Other
    $0 + $3,154 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $33,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $69,807 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $539,856 related
  • DIANA LEE

    VICE PRESIDENT (THRU 4/2024)

    Total calculated
    $484,871
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $438,371
    Other
    $46,500
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $343,404 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $89,107 related
    Other
    $0 + $5,860 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $24,640 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $21,860 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $484,871 related
  • VALERIE MITCHELL-JOHNSTON

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $496,499
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $393,581
    Other
    $102,918
    Hours/week
    1 + 62 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $317,783 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $74,340 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,458 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $33,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $69,918 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $496,499 related
  • DAVID CHAN

    ASSISTANT SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $423,846
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $353,641
    Other
    $70,205
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $275,973 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $74,712 related
    Other
    $0 + $2,956 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $28,725 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $41,480 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $423,846 related
  • STEPHEN YOUNGWOOD

    CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER (THRU 2/2024)

    Total calculated
    $1,066,294
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,025,307
    Other
    $40,987
    Hours/week
    0 + 62.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $778,378 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $244,635 related
    Other
    $0 + $2,294 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $33,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $7,987 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $1,066,294 related
  • SHERRIE ROLLINS WESTIN

    INTERIM CEO (AS OF 2/2024)

    Total calculated
    $894,684
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $858,697
    Other
    $35,987
    Hours/week
    0 + 60.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $647,804 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $202,457 related
    Other
    $0 + $8,436 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $33,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $2,987 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $894,684 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,566,844
    Expenses
    $2,555,046
    Contributions
    $1,553,934
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $2,019,575
    Expenses
    $2,983,295
    Contributions
    $2,007,852
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility SO.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.