- Revenue 2024
- $850,947,341
- Expenses 2024
- $786,189,761
Program services were 94.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- Classification
- 1700
- Street
- ONE ST FRANCIS DRIVE
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Group exemption
A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us
The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
John Pazdan
Board Chair (Beg 01/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
MATTHEW CALDWELL
Market President BSSFHS
- Total calculated
- $1,398,944
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $1,140,880
- Other
- $258,064
- Hours/week
- 15 + 35 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $554,401 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $243,567 related
- Other
- $0 + $342,912 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $215,736 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $42,328 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $1,398,944 related
-
Wendy Walden
Vice Chair (Beg 01/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Brian Yanofchick
Board Member, Chief Sponsorship Officer
- Total calculated
- $739,855
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $716,610
- Other
- $23,245
- Hours/week
- 2 + 53 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $409,600 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $118,999 related
- Other
- $0 + $188,011 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $8,400 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $14,845 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $739,855 related
-
DAVID A CANNADY
Board Member; Chief Strategy Officer
- Total calculated
- $2,027,618
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $1,576,766
- Other
- $450,852
- Hours/week
- 2 + 48 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $709,323 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $331,755 related
- Other
- $0 + $535,688 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $410,561 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $40,291 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $2,027,618 related
-
Doris Haley
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Frederick Gilmer Jr
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Gary Daniels Jr
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Kenneth Baca
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Lee Palms
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Matthew Cooney
Board Member
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Robert D Siegel MD
Board Member (Beg 01/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Sr Kathryn Clauss
Board Member (End 10/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
Thomas Mann MD
Board Member; General Surgeon
- Total calculated
- $382,798
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $341,860
- Other
- $40,938
- Hours/week
- 2 + 48 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $271,555 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $34,364 related
- Other
- $0 + $35,941 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $8,054 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $32,884 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $382,798 related
-
Robert Stiekes
CFO - BSSFHS
- Total calculated
- $560,956
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $484,522
- Other
- $76,434
- Hours/week
- 48 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $328,481 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $107,172 related
- Other
- $0 + $48,869 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $35,471 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $40,963 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $560,956 related
-
Bruce Swords
Chief Clinical Officer - BSSFHS
- Total calculated
- $631,529
- From this org
- $553,702
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $77,827
- Hours/week
- 20 + 30 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $377,865
- Bonus
- $113,501
- Other
- $62,336
- Deferred
- $41,703
- Nontaxable benefits
- $36,124
- Filer's total
- $631,529
-
Jenny Wehrs
COO - BSSFHS
- Total calculated
- $591,731
- From this org
- $510,762
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $80,969
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $376,434
- Bonus
- $122,968
- Other
- $11,360
- Deferred
- $43,372
- Nontaxable benefits
- $37,597
- Filer's total
- $591,731
-
Kathy Black
Chief Nursing Officer
- Total calculated
- $408,162
- From this org
- $386,616
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,546
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $243,600
- Bonus
- $86,291
- Other
- $56,725
- Deferred
- $8,400
- Nontaxable benefits
- $13,146
- Filer's total
- $408,162
-
Surabhi Gaur MD
Chief Medical Officer - BSSFHS (End 06/24)
- Total calculated
- $496,033
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $453,654
- Other
- $42,379
- Hours/week
- 25 + 25 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $329,027 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $56,904 related
- Other
- $0 + $67,723 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $8,400 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $33,979 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $496,033 related
-
Denise Campbell
VP of Nursing
- Total calculated
- $270,957
- From this org
- $246,312
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,645
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $179,646
- Bonus
- $32,385
- Other
- $34,281
- Deferred
- $6,331
- Nontaxable benefits
- $18,314
- Filer's total
- $270,957
-
Jennifer Vogel
Radiation Oncologist
- Total calculated
- $968,864
- From this org
- $891,242
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $77,622
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $721,428
- Bonus
- $105,115
- Other
- $64,699
- Deferred
- $33,400
- Nontaxable benefits
- $44,222
- Filer's total
- $968,864
-
Joshua Farris
Radiation Oncologist
- Total calculated
- $887,835
- From this org
- $854,337
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $33,498
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $520,232
- Bonus
- $259,289
- Other
- $74,816
- Deferred
- $32,650
- Nontaxable benefits
- $848
- Filer's total
- $887,835
-
Karen Schwartz
VP Operations
- Total calculated
- $274,416
- From this org
- $253,253
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,163
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $197,498
- Bonus
- $32,832
- Other
- $22,923
- Deferred
- $6,529
- Nontaxable benefits
- $14,634
- Filer's total
- $274,416
-
Kevin Shay
Senior Physicist
- Total calculated
- $275,153
- From this org
- $236,756
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $38,397
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $208,490
- Bonus
- $250
- Other
- $28,016
- Deferred
- $6,405
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,992
- Filer's total
- $275,153
-
LISA LANDRETH
Former Interim CFO - BSSFHS
- Total calculated
- $212,054
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $192,890
- Other
- $19,164
- Hours/week
- 0 + 50 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $0 + $149,190 related
- Bonus
- $0 + $25,718 related
- Other
- $0 + $17,982 related
- Deferred
- $0 + $5,401 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0 + $13,763 related
- Filer's total
- $0 + $212,054 related
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $850,947,341
- Expenses
- $786,189,761
- Contributions
- $2,151,913
- Grants paid
- $682,423
-
2023
- Revenue
- $846,527,935
- Expenses
- $810,204,765
- Contributions
- $945,430
- Grants paid
- $698,360
-
2022
- Revenue
- $725,756,393
- Expenses
- $700,016,459
- Contributions
- $12,663,818
- Grants paid
- $746,596
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
Greenville Tech Foundation Inc
$100,000
2022 Mission Support
-
$85,000
2022 Mission Support
-
2023 Mission Support
-
2023 Mission Support
-
2024 Mission Support
-
2022 Mission Support
-
South Carolina Childrens Theatre
$50,000
2023 Mission Support
-
$50,000
2023 Mission Support
-
$50,000
2022 Mission Support
-
Greenville Free Medical Clinic
$45,833
2024 Mission Support
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Grants received
-
BON SECOURS MERCY HEALTH FOUNDATION
$3,319,865
2022 Program Support
-
BON SECOURS MERCY HEALTH FOUNDATION
$2,119,118
2024 Program support
-
BON SECOURS MERCY HEALTH FOUNDATION
$664,581
2023 Program Support
-
2023 GENERAL OPERATIONS
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$10,000
2024 RELIGION RELATED
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
501(c)(3) · HEALTHCARE SYSTEM PARENT · MD
-
Bon Secours Baltimore Community Works Inc
501(c)(3) · Grant Making Foundation · MD
-
Bon Secours Ireland DAC
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · EI
-
BON SECOURS MERCY HEALTH FOUNDATION
501(c)(3) · FUNDRAISING · OH
-
Bon Secours New Jersey Health System Inc
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · NJ
-
Bon Secours New York Health System Inc
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · NY
-
Bon Secours Richmond Health System
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · VA
-
Bon Secours St Francis Health System Inc
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · SC
-
501(c)(3) · MARKET PARENT · OH
-
501(c)(3) · MARKET PARENT · OH
-
501(c)(3) · RETIREMENT TRUST · OH
-
501(c)(3) · Local System Parent Org. · PA
-
St Francis Physician Services Inc
501(c)(3) · Physician Services · SC
-
Bon Secours Medical Group Greenville Specialty Care LLC
501(c)(3) · Physician Services · SC
-
Bon Secours - Stuart Circle Hospital Inc
501(c)(3) · Health Care · VA
-
501(c)(2) · Title Holding Company · VA
-
Rappahannock General Hospital Foundation
501(c)(3) · Supporting Organization · VA
-
501(c)(3) · Home Care Services · VA
-
501(c)(2) · Title Holding Company · VA
-
LOURDES HOSPITAL AUXILIARY GIFT SHOP
501(c)(3) · FUNDRAISING · KY
-
501(c)(3) · HOSPITAL · OH
-
COMMUNITY MERCY HEALTH PARTNERS
501(c)(3) · HOSPITAL · OH
-
THE WALLACE S MURRAY AND FRANCES RABBITTS MURRAY MEMORIAL TRUST
501(c)(3) · INDIGENT MEDICAL CARE · OH
-
501(c)(3) · MEDICAL OFFICE RENTAL · OH
-
501(c)(2) · TITLE HOLDING COMPANY · OH
The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.
Declared as related by
-
On its 2025 return
-
WALLACE S MURRAY AND FRANCES RABBITTS MURRAY MEMORIAL
On its 2025 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
ROPER ST FRANCIS HOSPITAL-BERKELEY INC
On its 2024 return
-
ROPER SAINT FRANCIS PHYSICIANS NETWORK
On its 2024 return
-
ST FRANCIS PHYSICIAN SERVICES INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
BON SECOURS-ST FRANCIS XAVIER HOSPITAL INC
On its 2024 return
-
ROPER ST FRANCIS MOUNT PLEASANT HOSPITAL
On its 2024 return
-
CLINICAL BIOTECHNOLOGY RESEARCH INSTITUTE AT RSFH
On its 2024 return
-
BON SECOURS ST FRANCIS HEALTH SYSTEM INC
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
-
ROPER ST FRANCIS ANCILLARY SERVICES
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
BON SECOURS MEDICAL GROUP GREENVILLE SPECIALTY CARE LLC
On its 2024 return
-
ALLEN MEDICAL CENTER MEDICAL OFFICE BUILDING
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
BON SECOURS COMMUNITY WORKS INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
BON SECOURS NEW YORK HEALTH SYSTEM INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
NEW VISION MEDICAL LABORATORIES INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
COMMUNITY MERCY HEALTH PARTNERS
On its 2024 return
The most recent declarers. The API serves every row.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Not present in the most recent drop.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.