Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

CASTLEWOOD INC

EIN 61-1384219 LEXINGTON, KY

Largest nonprofits in Kentucky

Revenue 2024
$1,574
Expenses 2024
$34,230

Program services were 86.1% of total expenses calculated — Part III's total program service expenses over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E116
Classification
1000
Street
1351 NEWTOWN PIKE

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

15 other organizations in the IRS Business Master File list the same street address. matched by us

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2024

Primary exempt purpose

CASTLEWOOD, INC. IS A NONPROFIT CORPORATION ORGANIZED TO PROVIDE HOUSING TO LOW INCOME INDIVIDUALS WITH MENTAL HEALTH/INTELLECTUAL AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES.

  • OPERATION OF AN 8-UNIT APARTMENT PROJECT IN LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY, TO HOUSE LOW INCOME INDIVIDUALS WITH MENTAL HEALTH/INTELLECTUAL AND DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES.

    Expenses $29,473

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Philip Berger

    BOARD DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Karen Ward

    BOARD VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Jock Conley

    BOARD DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Harold McKinney

    BOARD DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Dee Werline

    SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Mary June Brunker

    BOARD DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Susan Starling

    BOARD CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $1,574
    Expenses
    $34,230
    Contributions
    not reported
    Grants paid
    not reported
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,559
    Expenses
    $30,872
    Contributions
    not reported
    Grants paid
    not reported
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $32,508
    Expenses
    $37,282
    Contributions
    not reported
    Grants paid
    not reported

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $7
    Expenses
    $35,259
    Assets (EOY)
    $131,657
  • 2020 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $9,105
    Expenses
    $41,625
    Assets (EOY)
    $133,238
  • 2019 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $25,604
    Expenses
    $42,571
    Assets (EOY)
    $133,062
  • 2018 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $23,060
    Expenses
    $43,085
    Assets (EOY)
    $132,425
  • 2017 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $37,922
    Expenses
    $48,019
    Assets (EOY)
    $133,555
  • 2016 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $59,263
    Expenses
    $64,941
    Assets (EOY)
    $149,153
  • 2015 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $64,729
    Expenses
    $54,804
    Assets (EOY)
    $148,914
  • 2014 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $64,430
    Expenses
    $60,612
    Assets (EOY)
    $146,179
  • 2013 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $59,275
    Expenses
    $56,791
    Assets (EOY)
    $165,386
  • 2012 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $55,100
    Expenses
    $60,236
    Assets (EOY)
    $185,908

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.