- Revenue 2024
- $86,213,612
- Expenses 2024
- $82,641,985
Program services were 73.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E320
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 201 S 5TH ST
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
WE ENHANCE AND IMPROVE THE HEALTH AND WELLBEING OF EVERYONE.
-
AS A FEDERALLY QUALIFIED COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER AND THE PEE DEE AREA AGENCY ON AGING OR AGED, DISABLED RESOURCE CENTER, WE BUILD HEALTHY COMMUNITIES, PROVIDE PATIENT CENTERED HEALTH CARE HOMES AND DELIVER AND COORDINATE COMMUNITY SERIVCES FOR EVERYONE, ACCORDING TO THEIR ABILITY TO PAY. WE PROVIDE PRIMARY AND PREVENTATIVE MEDICAL (INCLUDING MEDICAL SERVICES PROVIDED AT VARIOUS SCHOOLS BY THE MOBILE ROADS UNIT), PHARMACY, DENTAL (INCLUDING DENTAL SERVICES PROVIDED IN VARIOUS SCHOOLS BY OUR DENTAL TEAMS USING THE DENTAL TRUCK TO TRANSPORT OUR DENTAL EQUIPMENT TO THE SCHOOLS ALSO DENTAL SERVICES PROVIDED BY OUR DENTAL TEAM ON OUR DENTAL MOBILE UNIT AT VARIOUS CLINIC SITES), CHIROPRACTIC, OUTREACH, AND INTEGRATED BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES. IN ADDITION TO COMPREHENSIVE SERVICES TARGETED TO PATIENTS WITH HIV/AIDS. THESE SERVICES ARE PROVIDED AT VARIOUS LOCATIONS IN CHESTERFIELD, DARLINGTON, LEE, DILLON, FLORENCE, MARION AND MARLBORO COUNTIES IN SC.
Expenses $54,689,085 · Revenue $37,669,997
-
THE AREA AGENCY ON AGING PROGRAM PLANS, OVERSEES, COORDINATES, AND OR PROVIDES SERVICES UNDER THE OLDER AMERICAN ACT OF 1965 TO RESIDENTS OF THE SIX COUNTY AREA OF CHESTERFIELD, MARLBORO, DILLON, DARLINGTON, MARION, AND FLORENCE COUNTIES. SERVICES INCLUDE TITLE IIIB (SOCIAL SERVICES). TITLE IV (ELDER ABUSE), TITLE IIIC (NUTRITION PROGRAM), TITLE IIID (SERVICE TO FRAIL ELDERLY). TITLE IIIE (FAMILY CAREGIVER SERVICES), AND NSIP (MEAL SERVICES), AS WELL AS ACE (ALTERNATIVE CARE FOR THE ELDERLY) AND COMMUNITY SERVICES (HOME SERVICES).
Expenses $5,145,506
-
THE RYAN WHITE PROGRAM, FUNDED BY A GRANT FROM THE US DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, PROVIDES PRIMARY, PREVENTATIVE CARE IN ADDITION TO INTERNAL MEDICINE, BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND DENTAL SERVICES TO RESIDENTS OF CHESTERFIELD, DARLINGTON, LEE, AND MARLBORO COUNTIES IN SC TO INDIVIDUALS WITH HIV OR AIDS.
Expenses $495,920
-
ALL OTHER SERVICES TO THE COMMUNITY NOT OTHERWISE IDENTIFIED AS 1ST, 2ND, OR 3RD EXEMPT PURPOSE ACCOMPLISHMENT.
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
CECILIA ADUAKO MD
MEDICAL DOCT
- Total calculated
- $579,527
- From this org
- $579,527
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $579,527
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $579,527
-
MS ANN LEWIS
CHIEF EXECUT
- Total calculated
- $318,488
- From this org
- $318,488
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $318,488
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $318,488
-
DR STEVE SMITH
CHIEF MEDICA
- Total calculated
- $298,387
- From this org
- $298,387
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $298,387
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $298,387
-
JENIQUA DUNCAN MD
MEDICAL DOCT
- Total calculated
- $263,634
- From this org
- $263,634
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $263,634
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $263,634
-
CATHERINE COMPTON MD
MEDICAL DOCT
- Total calculated
- $251,509
- From this org
- $251,509
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $251,509
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $251,509
-
CLARA CABRERA FERMIN MD
MEDICAL DOCT
- Total calculated
- $246,700
- From this org
- $246,700
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $246,700
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $246,700
-
CHRISTINA BIESTER MD
MEDICAL DOCT
- Total calculated
- $238,830
- From this org
- $238,830
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $238,830
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $238,830
-
MR TIM WALTERS
CHIEF FINANC
- Total calculated
- $137,426
- From this org
- $137,426
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
MS SHANNON FREEMAN
CHIEF FINANC
- Total calculated
- $89,679
- From this org
- $89,679
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
MR ENNIS BRYANT
VICE CHAIRPE
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MR TRUDY DRAWHORN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MRS TERESA GAINEY
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MRS MARY GARVIN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MR TIM HARPER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
REPRESENTATIVE PATRICIA HENEGAN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MR JAY HODGE
CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
-
DR FLOSSIE BARTELL JACKSON
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MRS DOROTHY JOYNER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MS DELORIS LEGRANT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MRS ERNESTINE POWE
ASST. SECRET
- Total calculated
- $0
-
MRS BONNIE SEALS
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $86,213,612
- Expenses
- $82,641,985
- Contributions
- $15,434,798
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $73,167,468
- Expenses
- $70,303,040
- Contributions
- $15,212,230
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $67,544,421
- Expenses
- $64,416,735
- Contributions
- $18,746,423
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $62,130,801
- Expenses
- $60,111,137
- Assets (EOY)
- $34,185,450
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $54,766,668
- Expenses
- $54,598,002
- Assets (EOY)
- $32,564,491
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $48,707,772
- Expenses
- $49,215,863
- Assets (EOY)
- $29,677,883
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $47,242,069
- Expenses
- $42,376,055
- Assets (EOY)
- $25,288,703
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $45,436,229
- Expenses
- $40,014,734
- Assets (EOY)
- $21,233,268
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $37,244,674
- Expenses
- $35,756,416
- Assets (EOY)
- $15,337,953
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $33,416,982
- Expenses
- $32,137,280
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,208,029
-
2014 · 990
- Revenue
- $26,974,129
- Expenses
- $24,963,878
- Assets (EOY)
- $14,160,296
-
2013 · 990
- Revenue
- $24,552,459
- Expenses
- $22,389,328
- Assets (EOY)
- $12,522,135
-
2012 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $21,666,799
- Assets (EOY)
- $10,256,318
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
CAREFIRST CAROLINA FOUNDATION INC
$144,974
2022 MOBILE MEDICAL UNIT
-
CAREFIRST CAROLINA FOUNDATION INC
$123,290
2023 MEDICAL CARE
-
$59,100
2023 TEEN PREVENTION PRG
-
$55,250
2024 TEEN PREVENTION PRG
-
2024 DENTAL CARE & PHARM
-
2024 MEDICAL CARE
-
2023 DENTAL CARE & PHARM
-
$19,990
2022 SERVICES FOR THE AGING GRANT
-
2024 SUPPORT TO US CLINICS & HEALTH CENTERS FOR LOW-INCOME, UNINSURED PATIENTS
-
2022 SUPPORT TO US CLINICS & HEALTH CENTERS FOR LOW-INCOME, UNINSURED PATIENTS
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
CAREFIRST CAROLINA FOUNDATION CAREFIRST CAROLINA FOUNDATION
501C3 · FACILITIES · SC · controlled entity
Declared as related by
-
CAREFIRST CAROLINA FOUNDATION INC
On its 2024 return as a controlled entity
Taxable family
From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.
Related partnerships on its 2024 return
-
COMMUNITY INTEGRATED MANAGEMENT SER COMMUNITY INTEGRATED MANAGEMENT SER
CLINICAL · SC · 7.14% owned
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.