- Revenue 2024
- $1,261,880,759
- Expenses 2024
- $443,536,160
Program services were 86.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E210
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 1330 SENTARA PARK 3RD FL HR
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
DENNIS A MATHEIS
PRESIDENT/CEO/EX-OFFICIO DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $6,375,042
- From this org
- $6,056,025
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $319,017
- Hours/week
- 40 + 7 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $2,384,378
- Bonus
- $3,159,735
- Other
- $511,912
- Deferred
- $285,659
- Nontaxable benefits
- $33,358
- Filer's total
- $6,375,042
-
L ALLAN PARROTT JR
DIRECTOR/CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $50,000
- From this org
- $50,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
DIAN T CALDERONE
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $45,000
- From this org
- $45,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.1
-
E RAY MURPHY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $45,000
- From this org
- $45,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.9 + 1 related
-
GILBERT BLAND
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $45,000
- From this org
- $45,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.7
-
WHITNEY RG SAUNDERS
DIRECTOR/VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $45,000
- From this org
- $45,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4.8
-
CAROL C THOMAS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1.9 + 2 related
-
EDWARD GEORGE MD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.1
-
JEFFERY O SMITH ED D
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.8 + 2 related
-
JOSEPH K FUNKHOUSER II
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.1 + 1.4 related
-
LATISHA OWENS TARRANT
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.7
-
LT GEN FRANCES C WILSON EDD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
PETER BROOKS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $40,000
- From this org
- $40,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.3
-
SHALIMA PANNIKODE
DIRECTOR (EFFECTIVE 9/24)
- Total calculated
- $10,000
- From this org
- $10,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
J LES HALL
DIRECTOR (THROUGH 11/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.2 + 2 related
-
JOHN AGOLA
DIRECTOR (THROUGH 11/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2.7
-
WILLIAM R ERMATINGER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3.3
-
ROBERT A BROERMANN
CFO/EVP
- Total calculated
- $3,456,699
- From this org
- $3,111,555
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $345,144
- Hours/week
- 40 + 11 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $1,353,258
- Bonus
- $1,462,129
- Other
- $296,168
- Deferred
- $313,933
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,211
- Filer's total
- $3,456,699
-
EARL J BARNES II
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $1,641,759
- From this org
- $1,489,106
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $152,653
- Hours/week
- 40 + 12 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $735,550
- Bonus
- $624,708
- Other
- $128,848
- Deferred
- $120,410
- Nontaxable benefits
- $32,243
- Filer's total
- $1,641,759
-
JORDAN R ASHER MD
KE (EVP & CCO)
- Total calculated
- $3,333,216
- From this org
- $3,266,902
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $66,314
- Hours/week
- 40 + 1 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $1,128,042
- Bonus
- $1,199,317
- Other
- $939,543
- Deferred
- $25,637
- Nontaxable benefits
- $40,677
- Filer's total
- $3,333,216
-
BECKY C SAWYER
KE (EVP & CPO)
- Total calculated
- $2,624,417
- From this org
- $2,567,004
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $57,413
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $908,785
- Bonus
- $978,703
- Other
- $679,516
- Deferred
- $20,440
- Nontaxable benefits
- $36,973
- Filer's total
- $2,624,417
-
AUBREY L LAYNE
KE (EVP/CAO)
- Total calculated
- $1,902,965
- From this org
- $1,878,423
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,542
- Hours/week
- 40 + 1 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $829,987
- Bonus
- $839,476
- Other
- $208,960
- Deferred
- $10,350
- Nontaxable benefits
- $14,192
- Filer's total
- $1,902,965
-
MELINDA S HANCOCK
KE (EVP & CTO)
- Total calculated
- $2,005,794
- From this org
- $1,838,351
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $167,443
- Hours/week
- 40 + 1 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $877,864
- Bonus
- $923,895
- Other
- $36,592
- Deferred
- $140,642
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,801
- Filer's total
- $2,005,794
-
ERIC CONLEY
KE(EVP& PRES ACUTE & POST ACUTE CARE)
- Total calculated
- $1,554,199
- From this org
- $1,142,423
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $411,776
- Hours/week
- 40 + 6 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $818,982
- Bonus
- $154,204
- Other
- $169,237
- Deferred
- $396,184
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,592
- Filer's total
- $1,554,199
-
PRASANNA MOHANTY
KE (EVP & PRES, AMBULATORY CARE)
- Total calculated
- $840,579
- From this org
- $753,375
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $87,204
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $563,185
- Bonus
- $154,799
- Other
- $35,391
- Deferred
- $80,350
- Nontaxable benefits
- $6,854
- Filer's total
- $840,579
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $1,261,880,759
- Expenses
- $443,536,160
- Contributions
- $73,401,482
- Grants paid
- $65,076,247
-
2023
- Revenue
- $485,099,155
- Expenses
- $390,471,283
- Contributions
- $85,038,263
- Grants paid
- $43,900,301
-
2022
- Revenue
- $401,206,637
- Expenses
- $280,286,551
- Contributions
- $32,255,741
- Grants paid
- $20,030,251
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL
$45,450,000
2024 TRANSITION, MISSION AND RELATIONAL SUPPORT; LEADERSHIP RECRUITMENT
-
EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL
$20,400,000
2023 TRANSITION, MISSION AND RELATIONAL SUPPORT; LEADERSHIP RECRUITMENT
-
LOCAL INITIATIVES SUPPORT CORPORATION
$3,500,000
2023 LISC-SENTARA PARTNERSHIP
-
$1,614,478
2024 SPONSORSHIP
-
2023 ODU COMMUNITY CARE CLINIC, PROJECT CHOICE INITIATIVE, UNIVERSITY GRANTS
-
$1,000,000
2024 LISC-SENTARA PARTNERSHIP
-
$800,000
2023 SPONSORSHIP
-
EASTERN VIRGINIA MEDICAL SCHOOL
$750,000
2022 VIRGINIA-COMMUNITY HEALTH IMPROVEMENT ADVOCACY
-
2022 SPONSORSHIP
-
$700,000
2022 SPONSORSHIP
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Grants received
-
$17,712,544
2022 CORPORATE OVERHEAD ALLOCATIONS
-
$8,420,699
2023 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
$7,136,061
2024 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
$7,101,454
2023 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
$6,321,426
2024 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
2023 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
2024 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
$2,600,652
2022 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
$2,068,024
2023 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
-
2022 CORPORATE ALLOCATION TO PARENT
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
501(C)(3) · SENIOR CARE · VA · controlled entity
-
HALIFAX REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION INC
501(C)(3) · HLTH/WELFARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
HALIFAX REGIONAL LONG TERM CARE INC
501(C)(3) · SENIOR CARE · VA · controlled entity
-
SENTARA HALIFAX REGIONAL PROPERTIES INC
501(C)(3) · HLTH/WELFARE · VA · controlled entity
-
SENTARA PRINCESS ANNE HOSPITAL
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(2) · TITLE HOLDING COMPANY · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HMO · VA · controlled entity
-
POTOMAC HOSPITAL CORPORATION OF PRINCE WILLIAM
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · PREVENTATIVE HEALTH/REHAB · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · INVEST/MGT SVCS FOR SUPPORTED ORG · VA · controlled entity
-
MARTHA JEFFERSON HOSPITAL FOUNDATION
501(C)(3) · FUNDRAISING FOR SUPPORTED ORG · VA · controlled entity
-
501(C)(3) · HEALTHCARE · VA · controlled entity
-
OPTIMA FAMILY CARE OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
501(C)(3) · MEDICAID HMO · NC · controlled entity
-
OPTIMA HEALTH OF NORTH CAROLINA LLC
501(C)(3) · SUPPORTS MCAID HMO · NC · controlled entity
-
SENTARA MEDICARE ADVANTAGE OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
501(C)(4) · MEDICARE HMO · NC · controlled entity
-
SENTARA COMMERCIAL HEALTH PLANS OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
501(C)(4) · SOCIAL WELFARE · NC · controlled entity
-
501(C)(4) · MEDICARE HMO · FL · controlled entity
-
SENTARA HEALTH INSURANCE PLANS CORP
501(C)(3) · MEDICAID HMO · GA · controlled entity
Declared as related by
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
SENTARA HALIFAX REGIONAL PROPERTIES INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
HALIFAX REGIONAL LONG-TERM CARE INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
HALIFAX REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT FOUNDATION INC
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
On its 2024 return
-
SENTARA PRINCESS ANNE HOSPITAL
On its 2024 return
-
POTOMAC HOSPITAL CORPORATION OF PRINCE WILLIAM
On its 2024 return
-
VIRGINIA PREMIER HEALTH PLAN INC
On its 2023 return
-
SENTARA COMMUNITY HEALTH AND WELLNESS INITIATIVE
On its 2022 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.