- Revenue 2024
- $1,212,398
- Expenses 2024
- $1,223,942
Program services were 78.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- B90
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 66 COLUMBUS ST STE 153
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
To provide and facilitate comprehensive programs and services that support children, strengthen families, and mobilize residents to action.
-
Expanded Learning Time ProgramsOur afterschool programs operate Monday through Friday and use innovative techniques to close the achievement gap for approximately 200 students in grades pre-k through fifth. During the academic block, certified teachers work with small groups of students to support them in the completion of their homework and practice skills learned in school day lessons. During the extracurricular enrichment block, students participate in activities that increase fine motor skills, broaden stem skills, and expose them to all forms of art. The summer programs serve about 300 students and include small group learning, extracurricular enrichment and field trips. (Continued on Schedule O)Students in these programs demonstrate fewer behavioral incidences and improved attendance and academic performance compared to their peers.
Expenses $556,143
-
Community and Parent Engagement and Workforce Development Family Engagement Nights are a major part of our efforts to connect families, promote educational engagement, and foster a sense of community. These nights are designed to bring families together in a fun, educational environment that supports both learning and relationship building. Other family engagement events include literacy programs that support reading and comprehension, as well as special evenings like CPN Night at the Aquarium, where families explore marine life and conservation in an interactive, engaging way. Each event includes a warm meal provided by CPN, ensuring that families can relax, connect, and learn together. (Continued on Schedule O)We are committed to ensuring that neighborhood residents play an active role in community decision-making. Through its Community Engagement Council, we regularly bring together residents to plan engagement strategies, discuss community priorities, and gather feedback on important issues. The council's efforts are complemented by our work with Neighborhood Association presidents, who help increase meeting attendance and keep residents informed of local challenges and developments. This structured approach to engagement helps foster a connected, proactive community and ensures that residents' voices are at the heart of our initiatives. Our Workforce Development initiatives empower both students and adults to achieve long-term success. Middle schoolers gain mentorship, leadership training, life skills, and career exposure to prepare them for future opportunities, while adult residents receive career readiness support, job connections, and resource navigation to overcome barriers such as childcare, transportation, and financial stability. Together, these programs build confidence, open pathways, and strengthen the community.
Expenses $124,766
-
School Day Initiatives We provide targeted support to principals at some of the toughest schools in the state. By aligning with school leaders' visions, CPN provides targeted funding and resources that strengthen teacher retention, expand professional development opportunities, and enhance curriculum to meet students' needs. This support allows schools to attract and retain high- quality educators, foster innovative teaching practices, and build a culture of continuous improvement. Beyond the classroom, CPN partners with principals and staff to implement schoolwide turnaround strategies that address both academic and social-emotional learning, ensuring students are supported holistically. (Continued on Schedule O)Together, these efforts create sustainable change that improves student achievement, strengthens family engagement, and builds thriving school communities.
Expenses $146,729
-
Kidswell Community HealthStarted in 2011, KidsWell, Charleston Promise Neighborhood's school-based health and wellness program, brings comprehensive physical and behavioral health services directly to students at school through partnerships with MUSC and Fetter Health Care Network. By offering on-site screenings, treatment, and follow-up care, KidsWell eliminates barriers for families such as transportation and cost, ensuring that all students in CPN partner schools have equitable access to quality healthcare. Confidential telehealth therapy further supports students' mental and emotional well-being, helping them navigate challenges like anxiety, grief, trauma, and ADHD. With a focus on both prevention and ongoing care, KidsWell keeps students healthy, reduces time away from the classroom, ensures students are ready to learn, and strengthens the foundation for long-term academic and personal success.
Expenses $129,114
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Debra Romano
Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Clara Fuqua
Vice Chair
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
R Keith Sauls
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Mindy Sturm
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Monique Brown Term Ended
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dr Kathryn King Term Ended
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Kellye McKenzie
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David White Jr
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dr LaQuandra Brown Term Ended
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Kevin Simmons
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Robert Wehrman Term Ended
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michelle Simmons
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Marvin Pendarvis
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Elizabeth Colbert-Busch
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Dr Kathi Love
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jonathan Johnson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Henry Darby
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Michael Jackson
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Claire Anne MacGeorge MD
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jenni McCarty
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sherrie C Snipes-Williams
CEO
- Total calculated
- $149,890
- From this org
- $143,892
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $5,998
- Hours/week
- 40
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $1,212,398
- Expenses
- $1,223,942
- Contributions
- $1,169,153
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $1,364,169
- Expenses
- $1,452,641
- Contributions
- $1,335,254
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $1,440,824
- Expenses
- $1,458,719
- Contributions
- $1,436,400
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,672,358
- Expenses
- $1,323,901
- Assets (EOY)
- $2,003,148
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,090,910
- Expenses
- $909,460
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,656,897
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,201,517
- Expenses
- $1,267,960
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,464,452
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,513,248
- Expenses
- $1,408,106
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,551,528
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,486,787
- Expenses
- $1,402,733
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,501,087
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,199,129
- Expenses
- $1,278,795
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,442,668
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,372,998
- Expenses
- $1,262,123
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,362,408
-
2013 · 990
- Revenue
- $1,282,452
- Expenses
- $1,018,260
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,169,658
-
2012 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $876,522
- Assets (EOY)
- $886,823
-
2011 · 990
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- $323,158
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,220,366
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
2024 NEIGHBORHOOD & COMMUNITY DEV.
-
2023 NEIGHBORHOOD & COMMUNITY DEV.
-
2022 Education
-
2022 NEIGHBORHOOD & COMMUNITY DEV. GRANT
-
2024 Education
-
$25,000
2024 PUBLIC, SOCIETAL BENEFIT
-
$25,000
2024 TO SUPPORT STUDENTS AND FAMILIES THAT ATTEND THE MARY FORD EARLY LEARNING CENTER IN NORTH CHARLESTON.
-
2023 Education
-
$12,790
2022 UNRESTRICTED
-
2024 Human Services & Children's Welfare
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared as related by
-
On its 2025 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.