Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

STEPS TO END DOMESTIC VIOLENCE INC

EIN 03-0283657 BURLINGTON, VT

Revenue 2023
$3,706,788
Expenses 2023
$3,453,837

Program services were 92.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
P43Z
Classification
1000
Street
PO BOX 1535

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • NICOLE KUBON

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $109,375
    From this org
    $103,097
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,278
    Hours/week
    40
  • MARIAH OGDEN

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ANA BURKE

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • GAIL BECK

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • KEIGA MATSUMOTO

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JONATHAN CHAPPLE-SOKOL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SUSAN GORDON

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • EMILY FREDETTE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SCOTT COHEN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CHELSEA JACOBS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • WES SNYDER

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CATHERINE STEVENS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ERICA DEAN LEFT OCTOBER 2023

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SARAH HOWE LEFT OCTOBER 2023

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $3,706,788
    Expenses
    $3,453,837
    Contributions
    $3,687,492
    Grants paid
    $1,339,709
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $2,360,721
    Expenses
    $2,316,133
    Contributions
    $2,342,526
    Grants paid
    $558,048

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,755,711
    Expenses
    $1,334,012
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,730,585
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,567,257
    Expenses
    $1,394,575
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,143,936
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,270,725
    Expenses
    $1,154,048
    Assets (EOY)
    $998,828
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,152,279
    Expenses
    $1,162,606
    Assets (EOY)
    $823,863
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,332,251
    Expenses
    $1,260,654
    Assets (EOY)
    $838,771
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,375,699
    Expenses
    $1,224,097
    Assets (EOY)
    $769,210
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,160,778
    Expenses
    $1,148,580
    Assets (EOY)
    $677,127
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,074,081
    Expenses
    $1,098,934
    Assets (EOY)
    $636,165
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,097,725
    Assets (EOY)
    $657,085
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,504,619
    Assets (EOY)
    $626,501

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 23 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.