Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

BETH ISRAEL DEACONESS MEDICAL CENTER INC

EIN 04-2103881 CHARLESTOWN, MA

Revenue 2024
$3,438,681,237
Expenses 2024
$3,247,494,141

Program services were 86.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E220
Classification
1000
Street
CO BILH TAX 529 MAIN ST 4TH FL

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • SHORETT PETER

    TTEE(CEO DESIG) (SR EVP & COO, BILH)

    Total calculated
    $1,471,471
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,416,456
    Other
    $55,015
    Hours/week
    1 + 60 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $1,291,282 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $125,174 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $14,880 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $40,135 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $1,471,471 related
  • HEALY PETER

    PRES/TTEE EX-O; BILH DIV PRES BOSTON

    Total calculated
    $1,458,130
    From this org
    $1,397,820
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $60,310
    Hours/week
    55 + 10 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $1,190,413
    Bonus
    $63,138
    Other
    $144,269
    Deferred
    $19,830
    Nontaxable benefits
    $40,480
    Filer's total
    $1,458,130
  • KIMBALL MD MPH ALEXA B

    TTEE (EX-OFF) (PRES & CEO, HMFP)

    Total calculated
    $1,224,783
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,111,054
    Other
    $113,729
    Hours/week
    1 + 64 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $850,921 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $222,640 related
    Other
    $0 + $37,493 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $64,688 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $49,041 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $1,224,783 related
  • CHAIKOF MD PHD ELLIOT L

    TTEE (EXOFF)/SURG CHF; HMFP SURG CHR

    Total calculated
    $1,361,482
    From this org
    $610,697
    From related orgs
    $610,697
    Other
    $140,088
    Hours/week
    30 + 32 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $581,828 + $581,828 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $28,869 + $28,869 related
    Deferred
    $42,360 + $42,360 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $27,684 + $27,684 related
    Filer's total
    $680,741 + $680,741 related
  • SZABO MD PHD HON SCD GYONGYI

    TTEE (EXOFF), CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $878,238
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $785,878
    Other
    $92,360
    Hours/week
    1 + 57 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $736,853 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $49,025 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $64,688 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $27,672 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $878,238 related
  • ZEIDEL MD MARK L

    TTEE (EXOFF)/MED CHIEF; HMFP MED CHR

    Total calculated
    $999,638
    From this org
    $455,005
    From related orgs
    $455,005
    Other
    $89,628
    Hours/week
    30 + 33 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $418,412 + $418,412 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $36,593 + $36,593 related
    Deferred
    $26,772 + $26,772 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,042 + $18,042 related
    Filer's total
    $499,819 + $499,819 related
  • LI MD FACP CHIANG J

    TRUSTEE; PHYSICIAN-SCIENTIST

    Total calculated
    $56,083
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $56,083
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 55 related
  • BERMAN ANN E

    TRUSTEE & VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • DESIMONE THOMAS

    TRUSTEE AND CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • REMIS HACKEL DANIELLE F

    TRUSTEE & VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • AIN ARON

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • BUTTS PHD CHERIE

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CRONIN MICHAEL F

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CUTLER JOEL E

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • EVERHART PAMELA D

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • FISH MD GUY L

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • GARCIA CARLOS

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • JONES KIMBERLY Y

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KLARMAN BETH

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KNEZ DEBRA S

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LESSER PAMELA

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MORTON KAREN V

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • REHNERT GEOFFREY S

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • SAGAN PAUL L

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • VORLICEK MARTHA

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $3,438,681,237
    Expenses
    $3,247,494,141
    Contributions
    $57,203,727
    Grants paid
    $59,895,210
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $3,139,152,779
    Expenses
    $3,096,567,744
    Contributions
    $69,934,100
    Grants paid
    $54,828,542
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $2,688,941,672
    Expenses
    $2,574,202,267
    Contributions
    $34,280,115
    Grants paid
    $41,048,761

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.

Declared as related by

The most recent declarers. The API serves every row.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.