Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

ST FRANCIS HOSPITAL OF THE HOSPITAL SISTERS OF THE THIRD ORDER OF ST F

EIN 37-0661236 SPRINGFIELD, IL

Revenue 2024
$61,696,146
Expenses 2024
$51,307,850

Program services were 77.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1700
Street
4936 LAVERNA RD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Group exemption

A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us

The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Chad Markham

    Interim President & CEO (began 3/8/25)

    Total calculated
    $505,232
    From this org
    $20,918
    From related orgs
    $397,447
    Other
    $86,867
    Hours/week
    3 + 57 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $20,918 + $376,060 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $7,733 related
    Other
    $0 + $13,654 related
    Deferred
    $2,870 + $54,523 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $1,474 + $28,000 related
    Filer's total
    $25,262 + $479,970 related
  • Jane Martin

    Vice Chair, Chair (began 11/1/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2.5
  • John Winans

    Board Member, Vice Chair (began 11/1/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.5
  • Matthew FRY

    PRESIDENT/CEO (until 3/7/25)

    Total calculated
    $582,079
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $535,356
    Other
    $46,723
    Hours/week
    1 + 59 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $534,854 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $502 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $17,250 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $29,473 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $582,079 related
  • Steve Bryant

    Chair (until 10/31/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2.5
  • Elisa Feldmann

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • JENNIFER REID BAUGHER

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jerome Epplin MD

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Joanne VanLeer

    Board Member (began 11/1/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kevin Niemann

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Timothy Ishmael

    Board Member (began 11/1/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WILLIAM MONTGOMERY

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Scialdone

    Treasurer / HSHS SVP & CFO

    Total calculated
    $912,947
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $780,312
    Other
    $132,635
    Hours/week
    0.3 + 59.8 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $727,132 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $5,000 related
    Other
    $0 + $48,180 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $112,411 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $20,224 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $912,947 related
  • Paige Toth

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $368,704
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $293,537
    Other
    $75,167
    Hours/week
    0.3 + 59.7 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $290,612 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $2,380 related
    Other
    $0 + $545 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $42,494 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $32,673 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $368,704 related
  • PATRICIA ALLEN

    CFO - CARE DELIVERY (until 4/30/25)

    Total calculated
    $649,158
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $559,236
    Other
    $89,922
    Hours/week
    3 + 57 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $531,646 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $4,240 related
    Other
    $0 + $23,350 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $63,815 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $26,107 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $649,158 related
  • Aryn Hunter

    Chief Administrative Officer

    Total calculated
    $165,947
    From this org
    $155,548
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,399
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $154,488
    Bonus
    $1,060
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $9,371
    Nontaxable benefits
    $1,028
    Filer's total
    $165,947
  • Danielle Aliss Rahman

    Pharmacist

    Total calculated
    $158,628
    From this org
    $128,443
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $30,185
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $126,668
    Bonus
    $1,500
    Other
    $275
    Deferred
    $6,690
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,495
    Filer's total
    $158,628
  • JILL MOUTRIA

    Pharmacist

    Total calculated
    $162,137
    From this org
    $138,858
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $23,279
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $136,671
    Bonus
    $2,187
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $12,696
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,583
    Filer's total
    $162,137
  • Shelly Marie Flagg

    APRN

    Total calculated
    $158,874
    From this org
    $133,942
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $24,932
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $132,983
    Bonus
    $959
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $11,708
    Nontaxable benefits
    $13,224
    Filer's total
    $158,874
  • Susan Elizabeth Stewart

    APRN

    Total calculated
    $165,387
    From this org
    $150,730
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,657
    Hours/week
    60

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,187
    Bonus
    $902
    Other
    $2,641
    Deferred
    $10,857
    Nontaxable benefits
    $3,800
    Filer's total
    $165,387
  • Aaron Puchbauer

    FORMER INTERIM CEO

    Total calculated
    $340,117
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $310,093
    Other
    $30,024
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $110,293 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $3,685 related
    Other
    $0 + $196,115 related
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $30,024 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $340,117 related
  • James Timpe

    Former PRESIDENT/CEO

    Total calculated
    $217,202
    From this org
    $203,987
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $13,215
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $119,676
    Bonus
    $7,710
    Other
    $76,601
    Deferred
    $2,626
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,589
    Filer's total
    $217,202
  • TODD Smart

    Former Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $132,566
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $116,976
    Other
    $15,590
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $106,706 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $9,754 related
    Other
    $0 + $516 related
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $15,590 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $132,566 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $61,696,146
    Expenses
    $51,307,850
    Contributions
    $121,640
    Grants paid
    $119
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $65,077,004
    Expenses
    $52,460,774
    Contributions
    $164,291
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $63,623,138
    Expenses
    $50,326,095
    Contributions
    $276,531
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.