Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

ASCENSION HEALTH-IS INC

EIN 65-1257719 SAINT LOUIS, MO

Revenue 2023
$1,274,740,314
Expenses 2023
$1,340,328,008

Program services were 93.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1700
Street
PO BOX 45998

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Group exemption

A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us

The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • CHRISTINE K MCCOY JD

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $4,298,869
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $3,364,088
    Other
    $934,781
    Hours/week
    0 + 50 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $879,030 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $2,250,900 related
    Other
    $0 + $234,158 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $885,450 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $49,331 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $4,298,869 related
  • JENNA COURTNEY MIHM

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $790,107
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $753,028
    Other
    $37,079
    Hours/week
    0 + 50 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $370,090 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $338,450 related
    Other
    $0 + $44,488 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $19,780 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $17,299 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $790,107 related
  • MATTHEW A JAGGER

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $877,959
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $815,999
    Other
    $61,960
    Hours/week
    0 + 50 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $378,411 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $386,800 related
    Other
    $0 + $50,788 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $20,899 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $41,061 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $877,959 related
  • EDUARDO F CONRADO

    PRESIDENT & CEO

    Total calculated
    $6,571,852
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $6,487,337
    Other
    $84,515
    Hours/week
    0 + 50 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $1,335,576 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $3,301,200 related
    Other
    $0 + $1,850,561 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $45,250 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $39,265 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $6,571,852 related
  • ANTHONY JOSEPH HUDOCK

    ASSOCIATE VP, TECHNOLOGY

    Total calculated
    $415,975
    From this org
    $371,236
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $44,739
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $277,016
    Bonus
    $86,184
    Other
    $8,036
    Deferred
    $16,500
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,239
    Filer's total
    $415,975
  • CHRISTINE ANN BULLDERDICK

    ASSOCIATE VP, REGIONAL TECHNOLOGY OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $404,221
    From this org
    $371,942
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $32,279
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $279,835
    Bonus
    $86,350
    Other
    $5,757
    Deferred
    $15,697
    Nontaxable benefits
    $16,582
    Filer's total
    $404,221
  • DAVID T MARTIN MD

    SR DIRECTOR, PRODUCT MANAGEMENT

    Total calculated
    $458,794
    From this org
    $410,639
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $48,155
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $337,580
    Bonus
    $69,700
    Other
    $3,359
    Deferred
    $18,402
    Nontaxable benefits
    $29,753
    Filer's total
    $458,794
  • JOYCE ANNE LEMAISTRE

    ASSOCIATE VP, TECHNOLOGY

    Total calculated
    $423,820
    From this org
    $400,023
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $23,797
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $286,720
    Bonus
    $99,330
    Other
    $13,973
    Deferred
    $20,341
    Nontaxable benefits
    $3,456
    Filer's total
    $423,820
  • RANCE WADE CLOUSER

    ASSOCIATE VP, REGIONAL TECHNOLOGY OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $434,246
    From this org
    $389,323
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $44,923
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $283,751
    Bonus
    $91,167
    Other
    $14,405
    Deferred
    $14,794
    Nontaxable benefits
    $30,129
    Filer's total
    $434,246
  • JOSEPH R IMPICCICHE JD MHA

    FORMER OFFICER (END 2/2020)

    Total calculated
    $12,281,151
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $9,963,725
    Other
    $2,317,426
    Hours/week
    0 + 50 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $1,730,785 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $2,250,000 related
    Other
    $0 + $5,982,940 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $2,271,450 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $45,976 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $12,281,151 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $1,274,740,314
    Expenses
    $1,340,328,008
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $1,252,245,827
    Expenses
    $1,312,616,884
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.

Declared as related by

The most recent declarers. The API serves every row.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.