Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

MARIN COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

EIN 94-3007979 NOVATO, CA

Revenue 2024
$374,829,985
Expenses 2024
$265,588,434

Program services were 96.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
T310
Classification
1000
Street
5 HAMILTON LANDING STE 200

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • RHEA SUH

    PRESIDENT & CEO

    Total calculated
    $732,783
    From this org
    $672,522
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $60,261
    Hours/week
    37.5 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $633,593
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $38,929
    Deferred
    $41,400
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,861
    Filer's total
    $732,783
  • LAUREN MCCLELLAND

    CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $412,083
    From this org
    $361,051
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $51,032
    Hours/week
    37.5 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $322,863
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $38,188
    Deferred
    $39,585
    Nontaxable benefits
    $11,447
    Filer's total
    $412,083
  • VIKKI GARROD

    CHIEF OF STAFF

    Total calculated
    $419,074
    From this org
    $345,810
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $73,264
    Hours/week
    37.5 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $340,601
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $5,209
    Deferred
    $41,168
    Nontaxable benefits
    $32,096
    Filer's total
    $419,074
  • JANELLE CAVANAGH

    CHIEF PHILANTHROPY OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $367,211
    From this org
    $307,132
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $60,079
    Hours/week
    37.5 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $302,924
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $4,208
    Deferred
    $36,735
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,344
    Filer's total
    $367,211
  • LAURA GOFF

    FORMER VP OF IT (THRU 05/24)

    Total calculated
    $403,966
    From this org
    $364,340
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $39,626
    Hours/week
    37.5

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $103,957
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $260,383
    Deferred
    $12,635
    Nontaxable benefits
    $26,991
    Filer's total
    $403,966
  • ASHLEY SMITH

    SECRETARY (THRU 03/25)

    Total calculated
    $215,910
    From this org
    $158,020
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $57,890
    Hours/week
    37.5 + 0.5 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $138,721
    Bonus
    $10,000
    Other
    $9,299
    Deferred
    $17,759
    Nontaxable benefits
    $40,131
    Filer's total
    $215,910
  • SA HARTMAN

    FORMER CFO (THRU 12/23)

    Total calculated
    $495,835
    From this org
    $495,835
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    0

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $495,835
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $495,835
  • MAUREEN SEDONAEN

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • MITCHELL COHEN

    VICE-CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • ROXANNE RICHARDS

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • MARK BUELL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • RALPH GONZALES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • PETER HAMILTON

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • AILEEN LEE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • BRIGITTE MORAN

    DIRECTOR (THRU 06/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • SAUL PENA

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • ROBERT J REYNOLDS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • DANIEL SKAFF

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • QUOC TRAN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • DEBRA WETHERBY

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $374,829,985
    Expenses
    $265,588,434
    Contributions
    $289,507,942
    Grants paid
    $238,833,857
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $252,447,207
    Expenses
    $257,500,944
    Contributions
    $178,585,827
    Grants paid
    $227,280,957
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $232,749,407
    Expenses
    $163,851,748
    Contributions
    $203,814,686
    Grants paid
    $140,159,388

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.