Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

UNIVERSITY OF PROVIDENCE

EIN 81-0231777 GREAT FALLS, MT

Revenue 2023
$37,829,312
Expenses 2023
$34,049,189

Program services were 93.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B43Z
Classification
1270
Street
1301 20TH ST S

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Group exemption

A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED STATES CATHOLIC CONFERENCE (EIN 53-0196617). matched by us

The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

AS EXPRESSIONS OF GOD'S HEALING LOVE, WITNESSED THROUGH THE MINISTRY OF JESUS, WE ARE STEADFAST IN SERVING ALL, ESPECIALLY THOSE WHO ARE POOR AND VULNERABLE.

Activities or mission (Part I)

SEE SCHEDULE O

  • SEE SCHEDULE OUNIVERSITY OF PROVIDENCE ("UP")DURING THE 2023 - 2024 ACADEMIC YEAR, THE UNIVERSITY CONFERRED 2 ASSOCIATE DEGREES, 143 BACCALAUREATE DEGREES, 59 MASTER'S DEGREES, AND 34 PROFESSIONAL CERTIFICATES. IN THIS SAME PERIOD, THE UNIVERSITY RECORDED AN UNDUPLICATED ENROLLMENT OF 761 UNDERGRADUATE AND 254 GRADUATE/PROFESSIONAL STUDENTS. FALL 2023 ENROLLMENT TOTALED 677, INCLUDING 562 UNDERGRADUATE AND 115 GRADUATE STUDENTS. IN SPRING 2024, ENROLLMENT REACHED 736, WITH 544 UNDERGRADUATES AND 192 GRADUATE STUDENTS. OF THE INCOMING STUDENTS IN FALL 2023, 48% WERE MONTANA RESIDENTS. ADDITIONALLY, 27% OF UNDERGRADUATES WERE FIRST-GENERATION COLLEGE STUDENTS, AND 33% QUALIFIED FOR PELL GRANTS. THE UNIVERSITY'S RETENTION RATE FROM FALL 2022 TO FALL 2023 WAS 71%. AT THE FALL 2023 CENSUS, 3% OF UP UNDERGRADUATES IDENTIFIED AS NATIVE STUDENTS, AND 6% AS VETERANS. FOR THE 2023 - 2024 ACADEMIC YEAR, THE UNIVERSITY APPROVED ONE NEW MAJOR AND TWO NEW MINORS: AN APPLIED MATHEMATICS MAJOR, AND THE AGRICULTURAL STUDIES AND SERVICE-LEARNING MINORS. THE CORE CURRICULUM WAS ALSO REVISED AND STREAMLINED TO FACILITATE DEGREE COMPLETION FOR TRANSFER STUDENTS WHILE MAINTAINING THE SAME OVERALL LEARNING OUTCOMES.THE UNIVERSITY'S BSN TO RN PROGRAM WAS RANKED THE #1 PROGRAM IN MONTANA, UNDERSCORING ITS LEADERSHIP IN NURSING EDUCATION AND ITS DEDICATION TO PREPARING SKILLED PROFESSIONALS FOR THE GROWING DEMANDS OF THE HEALTHCARE INDUSTRY.IN PARTNERSHIP WITH PROVIDENCE AND THE CATHOLIC HEALTH ASSOCIATION, UP LAUNCHED A COMMUNITY HEALTH INVESTMENT CERTIFICATE, A 16-CREDIT PROGRAM THAT EQUIPS PROFESSIONALS WITH THE TOOLS TO REDUCE HEALTH INEQUITIES THROUGH EVIDENCE-BASED DECISION-MAKING, POLICY ENGAGEMENT, AND COMMUNITY-FOCUSED STRATEGIES.UP'S MASTER'S IN HEALTHCARE ADMINISTRATION NOW INCLUDES TWO NEW CONCENTRATIONS: HEALTH JUSTICE AND COMMUNITY HEALTH. THESE ADDITIONS ALLOW GRADUATE STUDENTS TO EXAMINE HEALTHCARE INEQUITIES AND THE SOCIAL DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH, FURTHER REINFORCING THE UNIVERSITY'S MISSION OF SERVING VULNERABLE POPULATIONS.THE UNIVERSITY ALSO OFFERS AN APPLIED MATHEMATICS PROGRAM WITH A PRE-DATA ANALYTICS FOR HEALTH CARE CONCENTRATION, DEVELOPED IN COLLABORATION WITH TOURO UNIVERSITY'S MASTER OF SCIENCE IN DATA ANALYTICS FOR HEALTH CARE. THIS ACCELERATED PATH ENABLES STUDENTS TO EARN TWO DEGREES IN JUST FIVE YEARS.DEMONSTRATING STRONG CAREER OUTCOMES, UP MAINTAINS AN 89% EMPLOYMENT RATE WITHIN TWO YEARS OF GRADUATION, WITH 84% OF GRADUATES EMPLOYED SIX YEARS OUTCLEAR EVIDENCE OF THE UNIVERSITY'S COMMITMENT TO REAL-WORLD READINESS AND LONG-TERM SUCCESS.FURTHER PRIORITIZING STUDENT EXPERIENCE, UP HAS EXPANDED ITS MENTAL HEALTH AND WELLNESS INITIATIVES. THE UNIVERSITY ADDED A CAMPUS ADVOCATE AND EXPANDED STUDENT WELLNESS RESOURCES, ENSURING ALL STUDENTS HAVE ACCESS TO CARE AND SUPPORT.TO ADVANCE ITS FUTURE, THE PROVIDENCE 100 STRATEGIC PLAN WAS APPROVED IN 2023 AND IS ACTIVE THROUGH 2029. IT BOLDLY POSITIONS THE UNIVERSITY OF PROVIDENCE FOR ITS NEXT CENTURY OF IMPACT. ROOTED IN ITS CATHOLIC MISSION AND VALUES, THE PLAN PRIORITIZES ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE, STUDENT SUCCESS, AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT WHILE ENSURING LONG-TERM FINANCIAL SUSTAINABILITY. MORE THAN A ROADMAP FOR INSTITUTIONAL GROWTH, THIS PLAN IS A COMMITMENT TO SHAPING LIVESEQUIPPING GRADUATES TO LEAD WITH COMPASSION, CONTRIBUTE MEANINGFULLY TO SOCIETY, AND UPHOLD THE UNIVERSITY'S LEGACY OF SERVICE AND JUSTICE FOR THE NEXT 100 YEARS. PROVIDENCE 100 IS GUIDED BY THREE STRATEGIC PILLARS:1. ACADEMIC EXCELLENCETHE UNIVERSITY EDUCATES DIVERSE INDIVIDUALS AND COMMUNITIES THROUGH PROGRAMS RANGING FROM CERTIFICATES TO ADVANCED GRADUATE DEGREES. STUDENTS ARE FORMED TO SERVE THEIR PROFESSIONS AND COMMUNITIES WITH KNOWLEDGE, COMPASSION, AND UNDERSTANDING IN PURSUIT OF THE COMMON GOOD. THESE EFFORTS CREATE A THRIVING LEARNING COMMUNITY GROUNDED IN VALUES-BASED EDUCATION, EMPOWERING STUDENTS TO ACHIEVE PROFESSIONAL EXCELLENCE, ENGAGE WITH SOCIETY, AND LEAD PURPOSEFUL LIVES.2. STUDENT ENROLLMENT & ENGAGEMENTWITH STRATEGIES AND PRACTICES ALIGNED TO ITS MISSION, VISION, AND CORE VALUES, THE UNIVERSITY ENHANCES THE STUDENT EXPERIENCE THROUGH INTENTIONAL RECRUITMENT, RETENTION, AND DEVELOPMENT INITIATIVES. THESE EFFORTS CULTIVATE A SUPPORTIVE AND ENGAGING LEARNING ENVIRONMENT THAT PROMOTES ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, PERSONAL GROWTH, AND OVERALL WELL-BEING.3. SUSTAINABILITY, STABILITY & VIABILITYTHE UNIVERSITY MAINTAINS A FORWARD-LOOKING FOCUS ON LONG-TERM VIABILITY THROUGH COLLABORATION AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF STRUCTURES THAT SUPPORT A MISSION-INSPIRED, ADAPTABLE, AND FISCALLY RESPONSIBLE CULTURE. THESE PRACTICES ENSURE THAT INSTITUTIONAL RESOURCES ARE STEWARDED WISELY, ALIGNING THE UNIVERSITY'S OPERATIONS WITH THE EVOLVING NEEDS OF ITS COMMUNITY AND THE BROADER WORLD.THE UNIVERSITY OF PROVIDENCE IS COMMITTED TO CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT THROUGH COMPREHENSIVE INSTITUTIONAL ASSESSMENT-INCLUDING STUDENT LEARNING OUTCOMES, ACHIEVEMENT, AND SUPPORT SERVICE QUALITY. THE PROVIDENCE 100 STRATEGIC PLAN PROVIDES A BLUEPRINT FOR CHANGE AND ACTION, ESTABLISHING CLEAR GOALS, OBJECTIVES, AND PERFORMANCE INDICATORS TO GUIDE PROGRESS AND MEASURE SUCCESS.

    Expenses $31,777,833 · Grants $8,829,105 · Revenue $18,791,974

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Bishop Jeffrey Fleming

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bryan Fox

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cari Yturri

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Carol Bronson

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Chris Christiaens

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Curtis Yarlott

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dexter Busby

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ed Coghlan

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Elizabeth McGregor

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Eric Hinebauch

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Father Dan Shea

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Hoda Asmar

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kayla-Marie Gumeson

    STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Maria Christiaens

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michelle Hill

    FACULTY REPRESENTATIVE

    Total calculated
    $72,064
    From this org
    $61,413
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,651
    Hours/week
    40
  • Roger Witt

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rose Whitney

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sr Rosalie Locati Sp

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Stuart Vanhorn

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Terry Cosgrove

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tom Hier

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tom Moore

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Father Oliver Doyle

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $333,124
    From this org
    $313,251
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,873
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $313,251
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $11,424
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,449
    Filer's total
    $333,124
  • Jillian Ehnot

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $108,605
    From this org
    $91,545
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,060
    Hours/week
    40
  • Joel Bluml

    VP OF STUDENT ENGAGEMENT & ATHLETICS

    Total calculated
    $171,905
    From this org
    $147,824
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $24,081
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,824
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $2,538
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,543
    Filer's total
    $171,905

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $37,829,312
    Expenses
    $34,049,189
    Contributions
    $17,445,059
    Grants paid
    $8,829,105
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $29,504,717
    Expenses
    $30,721,168
    Contributions
    $5,264,659
    Grants paid
    $7,140,540

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $28,720,547
    Expenses
    $30,136,543
    Assets (EOY)
    $51,378,386
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $29,103,723
    Expenses
    $29,348,845
    Assets (EOY)
    $54,847,456
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $27,977,986
    Expenses
    $31,677,969
    Assets (EOY)
    $52,946,643
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $27,977,986
    Expenses
    $31,677,969
    Assets (EOY)
    $52,946,643
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $27,398,414
    Expenses
    $32,311,495
    Assets (EOY)
    $34,089,348
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $25,640,229
    Expenses
    $27,819,946
    Assets (EOY)
    $30,493,580
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $35,517,438
    Expenses
    $25,753,783
    Assets (EOY)
    $27,420,059
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $24,642,103
    Expenses
    $24,639,535
    Assets (EOY)
    $23,439,787

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

The first 25 as filed. The return lists every one.

Declared as related by

The most recent declarers. The API serves every row.

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related partnerships on its 2023 return

  • 20TH STREET SURGERY LLC

    AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER · CA

  • BRIDGEPORT MEDICAL IMAGING LLC (BMI)

    IMAGING - DIAGNOSTICS · OR · general or managing partner

  • BROADWAY IMAGING LLC

    MEDICAL IMAGING · MT · general or managing partner

  • CANBY MEDICAL CENTER I LLC

    REAL ESTATE - MOB · OR · general or managing partner

  • CENTER FOR MEDICAL IMAGING LLC (CMI)

    IMAGING - DIAGNOSTICS · OR · general or managing partner

  • CLACKAMAS RADIATION ONCOLOGY CENTER LLC

    RADIATION ONCOLOGY · OR · general or managing partner

  • COMPREHENSIVE IMAGING PARTNERS OF ORANGE COUNTY

    HEALTHCARE · CA · general or managing partner

  • COVENANT HIGH PLAINS SURGERY CENTER LLC

    HEALTHCARE · PA · general or managing partner

  • COVENANT PARK PHASE I VENTURE LLC

    REAL ESTATE · TX

  • CSS JV LLC

    AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER · OR

  • FIRST HILL SURGERY CENTER LLC

    AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER · WA · general or managing partner

  • FULLERTON SURGICAL CENTER LP

    AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER · CA · general or managing partner

  • GREATER VALLEY MEDICAL BUILDING LP

    REAL ESTATE - MOB · CA · general or managing partner

  • HERITAGE INVESTMENT GROUP I LLC

    INVESTMENTS · CA

  • IMAGING ASSOCIATES LLC

    MEDICAL IMAGING · AK · general or managing partner

  • LSC REAL PROPERTY LLC

    REAL ESTATE · TX · general or managing partner

  • METHODIST DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING

    HEALTHCARE · TX · general or managing partner

  • MISSION VIEJO PARTNERS II LLC

    REAL ESTATE - MOB · CA · general or managing partner

  • NORTH OC IMAGING JV HOLDINGS LLC

    HEALTHCARE · CA

  • OREGON ADVANCED IMAGING LLC

    MEDICAL IMAGING · OR · general or managing partner

  • PAVILION SURGERY CENTER LLC

    AMBULATORY SURGERY CENTER · CA

  • PERFORMANCE MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & RESPIRATORY SERVICES LLC

    MEDICAL EQUIPMENT · WA · general or managing partner

  • PETCT IMAGING AT SWEDISH CANCER INSTITUTE LLC

    MEDICAL IMAGING · WA · general or managing partner

  • PHS INVESTMENT TRUST SHORT TERM INVESTMENT PORTFOLIO

    INVESTMENTS · WA

  • PROVIDENCE & SCA OFF-CAMPUS HOLDINGS LLC

    MEDICAL · AL

The first 25 as filed. The return lists the rest.

Related corporations and trusts on its 2023 return

  • 1221 MADISON STREET OWNERS ASSOC

    C · OWNERS' ASSOCIATION · WA

  • ADVATA INC (FKA KENSCI INC)

    C · HEALTHCARE · WA

  • AMERICAN UNITY GROUP LTD

    C · CAPTIVE INSURANCE · BD

  • AYIN HEALTH HOLDINGS INC

    C · HEALTHCARE · DE

  • AYIN HEALTH SOLUTIONS INC

    C · HEALTHCARE · OR

  • BOURGET HEALTH SERVICES INC

    C · CLINICAL/MEDICAL LAB · WA

  • CARON CORPORATION

    C · MEDICAL PHYSICIAN SERVICE · MT

  • CLOUD 21 LIMITED

    C · HEALTHCARE · UK

  • ENDOSCOPY CENTER OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

    S · HEALTHCARE · CA

  • HCSA PROPERTIES LLC

    C · REAL ESTATE RENTAL · WA

  • KENSCI ASIA PACIFIC PTE LTD

    C · HEALTHCARE · SN

  • KENSCI TECH INDIA PRIVATE LIMITED

    C · HEALTHCARE · IN

  • LUBBOCK METHODIST HOSP PRACTICE MGMT

    C · INACTIVE · TX

  • LUBBOCK METHODIST HOSPITAL SVCS

    C · HEALTHCARE · TX

  • MEDICAL SPECIALTIES MANAGERS INC

    C · HEALTHCARE · WA

  • MISSION VIEJO MEDICAL VENTURES INC

    C · HEALTHCARE · CA

  • PHN HOLDINGS

    C · STRATEGIC PLANNING SERVICES · CA

  • PRAIA HEALTH INC

    C · HEALTHCARE · DE

  • PROVIDENCE GLOBAL CENTER LLP

    C · IT SVCS · IN

  • PROVIDENCE HEALTH CARE VENTURES INC

    C · CLINICAL/MEDICAL LAB · WA

  • PROVIDENCE HEALTH NETWORK

    C · PREPAID HEALTHCARE · CA

  • PROVIDENCE PARTNERS HOLDINGS INC

    C · INVESTMENT · DE

  • PROVIDENCE PHYSICIAN SERVICES CO

    C · HEALTHCARE · WA

  • PROVIDENCE ST JOSEPH HEALTH NETWORK

    C · HEALTHCARE · CA

  • PROVSOURCE

    C · HEALTHCARE · DE

The first 25 as filed. The return lists the rest.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.