Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

GOVERNMENT RELATIONS ASSOCIATION INC

EIN 81-2610735 WASHINGTON, DC

Revenue 2025
$34,622
Expenses 2025
$40,005

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part III's total program service expenses over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
06
NTEE code
S41
Classification
2000
Street
1717 K ST NW STE 900

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

45 other organizations in the IRS Business Master File list the same street address. matched by us

This address is a suite or unit (STE 900). Organizations that share one are often clients of the same office-services firm, accountant or registered agent rather than related to each other.

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2025

Primary exempt purpose

To promote the professions of local, national and international government relations, lobbying, public policy, public affairs, advocacy, and fundraising, and to educate members and the public in the advancement, improvement and function of those in these professions. To develop and encourage the practice of high ethical standards of personal and professional conduct among these professionals. To obtain, create and disseminate data and information relative to the functions and accomplishments of those in these professions. To promote the purpose and effectiveness of the profession consistent with the public interest. GRA may take a position and express an opinion on issues directly and generally affecting the profession.

  • GRA conducted meetings to develop and encourage the practice of high ethical standards of personal and professional conduct among government relations professionals, obtained, created and disseminated data and information relative to the functions and accomplishments of the profession, and to promote continuity of the profession, distributed four scholarships to future leaders to support their academic and professional pursuits in government relations.

As filed on the 2025 return.

Officers and directors · 2025

As listed in Part VII of the 2025 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Alan Knapp

    President & Acting Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    10
  • Omar Franco

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Matt Reiter

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    1
  • Paul T Kelly

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Lydia Borland

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Carrie Bachner-Mullins

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Monte Ward

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Jay Sweeney

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Jay Brannam

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0
  • Ron White

    Officer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Compensation
    $0
    Benefit plans
    not reported
    Expense account
    not reported
    Hours/week
    0

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2025
    Revenue
    $34,622
    Expenses
    $40,005
    Contributions
    $10,900
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2024
    Revenue
    $32,083
    Expenses
    $35,020
    Contributions
    $7,470
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $44,108
    Expenses
    $28,689
    Contributions
    $16,600
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $21,453
    Expenses
    $18,543
    Contributions
    $5,000
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $33,068
    Expenses
    $13,842
    Assets (EOY)
    $15,339
  • 2020 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $11,207
    Expenses
    $12,903
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,862
  • 2019 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $18,104
    Expenses
    $14,865
    Assets (EOY)
    $856
  • 2018 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $19,618
    Expenses
    $12,244
    Assets (EOY)
    $861
  • 2017 · 990-EZ

    Revenue
    $18,838
    Expenses
    $41,629
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,107

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2025, the newest we have parsed for this organization.