- Revenue 2025
- $7,288,405
- Expenses 2025
- $6,479,744
Program services were 83.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 1023 CHESTERFIELD PKWY E
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2025
Mission
STAGES ST. LOUIS IS COMMITTED TO CREATING UNFORGETTABLE THEATRE THROUGH ONE-OF-A-KIND PRODUCTIONS, INCLUSIVE STORIES, AND EDUCATION.
-
PROGRAM 1 - MUSICAL THEATRE PRODUCTIONSSINCE 1987, STAGES ST. LOUIS HAS PRODUCED PROFESSIONAL, BROADWAY-QUALITY MUSICAL THEATRE. THE MAINSTAGE SEASON, WHICH RUNS FROM MAY THROUGH OCTOBER, FEATURES THREE PRODUCTIONS ANNUALLY, EACH WITH 37 PERFORMANCES. AUDITIONS ARE HELD IN BOTH ST. LOUIS AND NEW YORK TO ATTRACT A DIVERSE AND HIGHLY SKILLED POOL OF PERFORMERS.STAGES IS A LEADING EMPLOYER OF LOCAL UNION ACTORS IN THE ST. LOUIS REGION, PROVIDING APPROXIMATELY 450 UNION WORK WEEKS EACH YEAR. MAINSTAGE PRODUCTIONS SERVE NEARLY 45,000 PATRONS ANNUALLY, DRAWING AUDIENCES FROM MORE THAN 235 CITIES ACROSS 33 STATES AND CONTRIBUTING SIGNIFICANTLY TO THE CULTURAL VITALITY OF THE REGION.
Expenses $4,637,513 · Revenue $2,356,167
-
PROGRAM 2 PERFORMING ARTS ACADEMYESTABLISHED IN 2004, THE STAGES PERFORMING ARTS ACADEMY (SPAA) PROVIDES COMPREHENSIVE PERFORMING ARTS EDUCATION AND OUTREACH OPPORTUNITIES FOR STUDENTS THROUGHOUT THE ST. LOUIS AREA. AS THE ONLY LOCAL PERFORMING ARTS ACADEMY AFFILIATED WITH A PROFESSIONAL THEATRE COMPANY, SPAA OFFERS A UNIQUE, HIGH-QUALITY LEARNING EXPERIENCE.SPAA PROGRAMS SERVE MORE THAN 6,000 STUDENTS AND COMMUNITY MEMBERS ANNUALLY, INCLUDING OVER 2,500 STUDENTS WHO RECEIVE DIRECT CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION. THE ACADEMY IS COMMITTED TO ACCESSIBILITY AND EQUITY, ENSURING THAT NO STUDENT IS DENIED PARTICIPATION DUE TO FINANCIAL CONSTRAINTS. TO SUPPORT THIS MISSION, SPAA PROVIDES MORE THAN $15,000 EACH YEAR IN SCHOLARSHIPS AND PROGRAM SUBSIDIES.
Expenses $758,109 · Grants $9,064 · Revenue $452,972
As filed on the 2025 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2025
As listed in Part VII of the 2025 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
DEAN P ERHARDT
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
KELLY AINSWORTH
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JASON KEEN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
LARRY CARSON
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JEANETTE HUEY
DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
PAULA BERNER
EDUCATION & OUTREACH COMMITTEE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ROY BROWN
GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
SAM CARIOTI
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
KATHY DAY
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
BARRY DRAPER
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
GERALYN FRANDSEN
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
MICHAEL R GIBBONS
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
RON GIBBS
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JUDY KENT
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
MERRY L MOSBACHER
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
THOMAS T SAKIYAMA
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
BRAD SIMMONS
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
LYNNE TURLEY
2ND VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ASHLEY YOUNG
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
JULIE NELSON
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ANGELA ADLER
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
HEATHER AKRED
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
KAREN HILL
MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
ANDREW KUHLMAN
EXECUTIVE PRODUCER
- Total calculated
- $121,440
- From this org
- $111,847
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,593
- Hours/week
- 40
-
GAYLE SEAY
ARTISTIC DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $121,440
- From this org
- $111,847
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,593
- Hours/week
- 40
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2025
- Revenue
- $7,288,405
- Expenses
- $6,479,744
- Contributions
- $3,252,369
- Grants paid
- $9,064
-
2024
- Revenue
- $5,303,183
- Expenses
- $6,749,728
- Contributions
- $2,505,534
- Grants paid
- $4,993
-
2023
- Revenue
- $5,102,243
- Expenses
- $6,143,489
- Contributions
- $2,002,088
- Grants paid
- $232,351
-
2022
- Revenue
- $5,932,455
- Expenses
- $7,397,082
- Contributions
- $1,921,478
- Grants paid
- $76,752
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $6,807,370
- Expenses
- $4,302,467
- Assets (EOY)
- $7,559,436
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $2,784,399
- Expenses
- $2,343,775
- Assets (EOY)
- $5,581,683
-
2020 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $6,743,071
- Expenses
- $4,891,160
- Assets (EOY)
- $5,896,391
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,351,955
- Expenses
- $4,627,970
- Assets (EOY)
- $3,833,469
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,567,318
- Expenses
- $6,974,963
- Assets (EOY)
- $4,598,405
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,242,099
- Expenses
- $4,778,251
- Assets (EOY)
- $4,650,690
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $4,257,268
- Expenses
- $4,661,014
- Assets (EOY)
- $4,331,931
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
-
CITY OF KIRKWOOD MISSOURI
$0
2023 DEVELOPMENT OF PERFORMING ARTS CENTER
-
CITY OF KIRKWOOD MISSOURI
$0
2022 DEVELOPMENT OF PERFORMING ARTS CENTER
Grants received
-
$161,550
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2023 ARTS AND CULTURE PROGRAMS
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$91,250
2024 ARTS, CULTURE & HUMANITIES
-
2024 GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$77,700
2022 ARTS, CULTURE & HUMANITIES
-
$57,840
2025 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$54,900
2023 ARTS, CULTURE & HUMANITIES
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT AS A RESULT OF FUND-A-NEED, GENERAL SUPPORT, GENERAL SUPPORT AT THE DISCRETION OF JOHN HERGET, DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2025, the newest we have parsed for this organization.