Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

SOUTH MIAMI HOSPITAL INC

EIN 59-0872594 SOUTH MIAMI, FL

Revenue 2024
$1,035,593,095
Expenses 2024
$882,502,610

Program services were 91.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
E220
Classification
1000
Street
6200 SW 73RD ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • ALYSA R HERMAN MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CARLOS LOWELL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • EDWARD RUGGIERO

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ERNIE DIAZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • GEORGE FOYO

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • IAN REISS MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $4,573
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $4,573
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JAMES W HARRIS

    DIRECTOR - END 2/2025

    Total calculated
    $2,796
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $2,796
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JOSE ABRANTE COSIO

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • MICHAEL F GRAHAM MD

    DIRECTOR - END 6/2025

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • REV DR MARCOS A RAMOS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • REV DR RYAN REED

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ROBERT J SHAFER JR

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ROMEO MAJANO MD

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SATS TRIPATHY

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 4 related
  • VALERIE SCHIMEL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • YERBY T BARKER

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 2 related
  • YVETTE ALEMAN

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $2,200
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $2,200
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • EDWARD G SHASHATY

    VP FINANCE HOSPITAL OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $823,623
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $680,064
    Other
    $143,559
    Hours/week
    8 + 42 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $413,707 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $258,241 related
    Other
    $0 + $8,116 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $98,248 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $45,311 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $823,623 related
  • WILLIAM M DUQUETTE

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $1,426,456
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $1,377,554
    Other
    $48,902
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $721,476 related
    Bonus
    $0 + $632,305 related
    Other
    $0 + $23,773 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $6,900 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $42,002 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $1,426,456 related
  • JEANETTE STONE

    VP OF OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $662,323
    From this org
    $636,161
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $26,162
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $342,205
    Bonus
    $285,286
    Other
    $8,670
    Deferred
    $6,900
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,262
    Filer's total
    $662,323
  • PAUL MUNGO

    VP - NURSING

    Total calculated
    $718,548
    From this org
    $612,288
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $106,260
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $329,634
    Bonus
    $225,996
    Other
    $56,658
    Deferred
    $83,578
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,682
    Filer's total
    $718,548
  • YVONNE T JOHNSON MD

    CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $891,791
    From this org
    $755,121
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $136,670
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $417,193
    Bonus
    $322,365
    Other
    $15,563
    Deferred
    $107,692
    Nontaxable benefits
    $28,978
    Filer's total
    $891,791
  • COLLEEN E COWIE

    AVP NURSING

    Total calculated
    $265,048
    From this org
    $234,012
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $31,036
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $178,957
    Bonus
    $48,768
    Other
    $6,287
    Deferred
    $4,810
    Nontaxable benefits
    $26,226
    Filer's total
    $265,048
  • LIRIOLA HARRISON

    EXPERT RN

    Total calculated
    $249,353
    From this org
    $231,842
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,511
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $225,909
    Bonus
    $5,223
    Other
    $710
    Deferred
    $4,673
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,838
    Filer's total
    $249,353
  • MERCEDES R BANASZAK

    AVP QUALITY

    Total calculated
    $232,864
    From this org
    $222,855
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,009
    Hours/week
    45

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $170,352
    Bonus
    $46,249
    Other
    $6,254
    Deferred
    $4,449
    Nontaxable benefits
    $5,560
    Filer's total
    $232,864

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $1,035,593,095
    Expenses
    $882,502,610
    Contributions
    $1,903,114
    Grants paid
    $40,150
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $941,594,577
    Expenses
    $802,008,107
    Contributions
    $34,779
    Grants paid
    $83,430
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $864,983,592
    Expenses
    $747,629,626
    Contributions
    $759,133
    Grants paid
    $96,875

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.